Day 8 of the “JUST MY TWO-CENTS” Blog Tour!


Hello, and welcome to day eight of my two week-long, “JUST MY TWO CENTS” Blog Tour  and  today I’ve decided to stop by the most awesome book club in cyber-land!   I’m sure by now you all have heard of RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB…it’s all the “rave” with almost everyone in the Indie publishing arena and if you haven’t joined yet, you can do so by clicking the JOIN tab above!

Next month will mark the anniversary of my burst onto the social media scene and during that time, I have published three REALLY GOOD books and have learned so very much about the industry.  Although I’ve been a writer for most of my life (actually, I was born one), I only just became a published author in 2013.  Some might say, “In that short amount of time, what does she know?” Well, I’m here to tell you that “SHE” has learned a lot!  “SHE” has taken the time to hone her skills in the writing department as well as her knowledge.  “SHE” has taken the bull by the horn and run full speed ahead in building her author platform and establishing herself in the writing industry.  “SHE” is making her name KNOWN.

On each stop of my tour, I will give you my TWO-CENTS on a particular topic from the writing industry.  I hope that what I am imparting, you will take, mull over, and then act on in the best interest of YOU.

With that being said, here is JUST MY TWO CENTS ON…

ALWAYS BEING WILLING TO MAKE IT BETTER AND BETTER

To date, I am a published author with 3 (really good) books under my belt.  As a new author, back in the early part of 2013, it took me only 17 days to pen “THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE TO RAISING (ALMOST) PERFECT DAUGHTERS!” and I was so excited about it, I went back and forth over it with a fine tooth comb.  Then, I wanted to challenge myself to see if I could write a novel.  See (in my mind), the only way to prove that you are a REALLY good writer, is to try your hand at Fiction because that’s where the real creativity comes into play.  Well, I did write a novel, and it was pretty good, if I must say so myself (but you don’t have to take my word for it, check out “DAYDREAM’S DAUGHTER, NIGHTMARE’S FRIEND” on Amazon).  I’m sure if you’re an author, it will not surprise you to know that it took me more than 17 days to write this novel.  Oh no, it took me months and months of research, days away from my family travelling to the city which my story was set out of, and it took a lot of my blood, sweat and tears.   I wrote this book while I was fully awake and sometimes I was writing it in my sleep.  So in writing it in my sleep, why was I shocked to find that AFTER I had hit the publish button on KDP that my debut novel, my beautiful new baby, was greatly flawed?  It was flawed because since the book held 71 Chapters and almost 400 pages, I was fully aware that there had been many times, in trying to get it finished, that I was sleep-writing and I was also aware of the amount of time that it would take me to proof it again and again.  But, I was committed to having only the best of my work on display.

Incrementally, I revised and proofed “DAYDREAM’S DAUGHTER…” bit by bit.  I took that book down and put it back up so many times, I thought that Amazon was going to somehow flag me and say, “Hey, ENOUGH!” But, they didn’t, thank goodness.  They allowed me to continually improve on my work and because of that, it’s one of the reasons I’m glad to be a self-published author as we are given the ability to improve and make corrections or changes in our work, which I know some traditionally published authors who aren’t afforded this luxury.  With me, this is a must-have in our field.

I am a stickler for (almost) perfect writing and right now I hear some of you saying “but there’s NO such thing.”  Wait a second, I said (ALMOST) PERFECT WRITING.  No one is perfect, I’m aware of that, but let me tell you, I strive for it in everything I do.  And when you strive for that which some say is unattainable (I beg to differ), you set yourself apart from the others who would be just like the masses…regular.  I don’t ever want to be known as just “regular.” I always want to stand out, be known for the un-norm, because why would you want to be just like everyone else?  Where’s the fun in that?

If you are a follower of mine, you know that I speak (a lot) about this market of ours being flooded with “junk.” Well, let me tell you where junk comes from.  Junk comes from the writers who publish work that needs MAJOR WORK, yet they still put it out there anyway.  I have come across tons of these kinds of writers;  some who I have even taken the time to share that it would be in their very best interest to take their work down and to clean it up a bit, OR to even start over from scratch.  Some have taken this advice and have “cleaned” up their mess and turned that mess into something worth me spending my hard-earned money on and something worth reading.  Others, NOT SO MUCH!  These are the ones who don’t take critiques (help) very well and will defend their “junk” to the end.  And to those I say, “Why don’t we talk about the weather” as I refuse to spend my time trying to convince someone that they are truly flooding the market, if you know what I mean.  (I try not to use the “J” word too often, but sometimes it can’t be helped).

Always being willing to make your work better and better and always looking for ways to improve on your writing is what will separate you from the masses.  If you want to be just like everyone else, “average” or sometimes even worse than that, then go on and hit publish and send your junk out into the airwaves and hope that someone will “accidentally” buy it.  BUT, if you want to be taken seriously as a writer and if you want to be known for putting out the BEST WRITTEN WORK, then always be willing to listen, heed the advice of those who are qualified to advise you in this area, and never sit back on your laurels and just “wait” and “hope.” See, I don’t write for me.  I write for the world, in hopes that my books will forever grace the book shelves of the masses who collect and appreciate the classics and “good,” strong writing.

After many a “take-down” and “put back up” of my books, if someone shares with me today that they found one comma out of place (and please do tell me if you find such horror in one of my books) I would take it down again in a heartbeat just to make it better for you, my readers.

So, there you have my two-cents on ALWAYS BEING WILLING TO MAKE IT BETTER AND BETTER.   You can take my advice or you can leave it, but don’t expect me to run out and purchase your work if you don’t care enough about me as a reader to want to continually improve upon it.  Again, that’s just my two-cents!

Thank you guys for stopping by and allowing me to share with you today.  If you’d like to follow my tour, please do so at www.nonniewrites.wordpress.com and do share your thoughts with us!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:                                                                     

 NONNIE Jules grew up loving books and everything about them.  She has traveled the world, jumped out of planes and climbed many mountains, all thanks to the wonderful world of literature.  She lives with her husband and two daughters on a very quiet strip of land in Louisiana, where red dirt roads and pick-up trucks go hand in hand.  She is the Author of three great reads at present:  “THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE TO RAISING (ALMOST) PERFECT DAUGHTERS,” 100 Tips On Raising Daughters Everyone Can’t Help But Love!; “Daydream’s Daughter, Nightmare’s Friend” (a novel);  and “SUGARCOATIN’ IS FOR CANDY & PACIFYIN’ IS FOR KIDS!” Nonnie is also Founder and President of the widely-known Rave Reviews Book Club, as well as being a sought-after book reviewer with a strong “eye” for perfection. 

She continues to write from many different genres and hopes to teach and touch minds and hearts alike with her very unique style of writing.  She loves positive feedback on her writing and personally responds to each and every email.  Nonnie can be reached at nonniewrites@yahoo.com, on Twitter @nonniejules, and do follow her blogs WATCH NONNIE WRITE! {www.nonniewrites.wordpress.com} and ASK THE GOOD MOMMY {http://askthegoodmommy.wordpress.com}.

Nonnie’s feet are firmly planted in her two most important platforms:  Parenting & Support, where she continually invites the masses to join her.

BUY LINKS:

“THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE TO RAISING (ALMOST) PERFECT DAUGHTERS,” 100 Tips On Raising Daughters Everyone Can’t Help But Love!www.amazon.com/dp/B00CP62O56;   www.createspace.com/4355124

Image

“Daydream’s Daughter, Nightmare’s Friend”www.amazon.com/dp/B00GLM2VVM;   www.createspace.com/4386308

Image

“SUGARCOATIN’ IS FOR CANDY & PACIFYIN’ IS FOR KIDS!”www.amazon.com/dp/B00IRIA0I4

Image

3 responses

  1. This is a great post! I couldn’t agree with you more on how important it is to ensure your writing is (almost) perfect. This is valuable advice for any writer.

    Like

  2. Great advice as always, Nonnie. I just updated PURE TRASH, The Story. After reading it on my kindle and writing excerpt posts, I found it needed some editing. Being a self-published author makes it easy to do. Have a great week! 🙂 Bette

    Like

  3. Shirley L. Slaughter | Reply

    You put your two cents worth in on this blog. I love it!!! Keep it up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

