Kathryn C. Treat in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?”


Hello and welcome to “WHO’S ON THE SHELF?” with yours truly, Nonnie Jules!  Since we are a book club, we had to offer something that included a book shelf.  A lot of interviews merely cover an author’s work or an individual’s career stories.  Here on this “SHELF,”  we get down and dirty and ask the questions no other interviewer dare ask.  We ask the questions that you want to open up a book and find the answers to on your favorite authors and fellow book club members, but no one has dared to cover them.  WE get personal!  Because when you sit on the RRBC “SHELF”, YOU are an open book!

Today I have with me on the “SHELF” our Current “SPOTLIGHT” Author,  KATHRYN C. TREAT!!!

IMG_1858NJ:  Sorry for my tardiness, guys.  I had a little scare last night and ended up in the ER, so that caused me to be late to my interview with dear Kathryn.  As you can see, rumors of my demise have been greatly exaggerated, so those of you who are celebrating, STOP IT NOW!  Welcome, Kathryn and before we really get started, how does the “SHELF” feel to you?  Is it comfy?

Kathryn:  It is much more comfy than my wicker chair.  Sitting on them sometimes feels like I am sitting on a piece of board.

NJ:  I can see how you can feel that after having to use that method of furniture for so long.  I love wicker, but only when I’m relaxing on my porch.  I know I wouldn’t be able to live on it everyday, so Kudos to you Kathryn for having the kind of strength I don’t.  So, how about we start by confirming whether or not the name we know you as, is your birth name or a pen name?

Kathryn:  My author name is a combination of my birth name and my married name.  I was born Kathryn Chastain and my married name is Treat.

NJ:  Tell us where you were born.  Do you still live there now?  If not, what city and state are you calling home these days?

Kathryn:  I was born in Joplin, Missouri.  I haven’t lived there since I was a small child.  I live in the Central Valley of California.

NJ:  Married or single?

Kathryn:  I’m married.  I have been married to the most wonderful man for 38 years.  I am so lucky to have someone who is willing to take on so much.  When my life turned upside down, he rose to the challenge.

IMG_2798

NJ:  I mean seriously, Kathryn, how wonderful can they be after 38 years?  Rising to challenges or not, SOME OF THEM TURN INTO MONSTERS of the worst kind!  You know the ones that sit in front of the television, with their hands stuffed down their pants, watching a football game.  Remember Al Bundy?  I thought he was real!  But ok, let’s move on.  So, I know that you’re a mom.  Girls or Boys?

Kathryn:  I have two lovely daughters.  I also have three wonderful grandchildren. (Uh oh…she’s one of those…here comes the photos of the grandkids *Sigh*)

NJ:  Favorite child (and be honest…I’m sure they’re not reading this interview).  Can we assume it’s the beauty in this photo?  By the way, she’s a dead ringer for you!  GORGEOUS!

Kathryn:  I don’t have a favorite child.  They are each caring and loving women.

NJ:  Any pets?  If so, what kind?

Kathryn:  I love cats and had one for many years.  My husband had to take her when my allergies became so bad I couldn’t have her around me.  I now have a Beta fish that my granddaughter has named Rosa.  We also have an outdoor dog that my husband took in because he was afraid she would get hit by a car.

NJ:  Kathryn, my daughters come home with that story at least 3 times on a slow week. You fell for it?   {Daughters}:  “Mommy, look at this hungry dog I found in the street!  It was almost hit by a car!  Can we keep it?”  {Mean Mommy}:  “NO! Now go put it back in the street!” 🙂  Kathryn, share with us your favorite food? (Gee, my mouth waters every time I say the word FOOD).

Kathryn:  My favorite food would be hot sourdough bread right out of the oven piled high with butter, but I can’t eat it any more.  I love Chinese food and have found a place that will make me a dish without soy sauce or cornstarch.  While the flavor is not the same, it is better than not having it at all.

NJ:  I LOOOOOOOOOOOOVE sourdough bread with tons of butter AND Chinese food is my most favorite!  Heck, I just gained 15 lbs typing this…dang it, Kathryn!  So, what’s your favorite color?

Kathryn:  My favorite color is green, although I seem to have a lot of pinks and blues in my wardrobe lately.

NJ:  You look like a green-girl!  Give us your favorite sport, if you have one.

Kathryn:  I am not athletic and never played sports of any kind.  In fact, I am more of a klutz than anything.  I do enjoy watching Baseball.

NJ:  Favorite TV show…

Kathryn:  I love to watch SHARK TANK.  I think it’s fascinating to see what inventions others come up with.  I also love all cooking shows.  While I can’t eat most foods they prepare, it inspires me to want to try and make a version of the same meal using substitutions.

NJ:  Favorite Actress/Actor:

Kathryn:  My favorite actor has always been James Stewart.  I love all his movies.  My favorites are probably Rear Window and Vertigo.  I once read a biography about him and found his life very interesting.

NJ:  I like him, too, mainly at Christmas time.  So are you a couch potato or workout nut?  Be honest, Kathryn…

Kathryn:  I would probably be called a couch potato. I love to sew and do crafts which usually means sitting.  I used to walk a lot and was a lot more active before becoming ill.  I plan on doing more physical fitness.  It seems every time I get started on a routine I get sick or have an exposure which knocks me back and then I have to regroup and get myself motivated to start all over again.

NJ:  Kathryn, what’s your biggest pet peeve that makes you want to stomach-punch somebody?  (For the record, NJ does not condone violence but she does believe in being honest so she has to admit that there are times when she feels like some friendly stomach-punching is a little necessary.  She also feels she is not alone in these feelings).

Kathryn:  Rudeness and lack of manners is my biggest pet peeve.  It surprises me how manners are just not taught to our children any more.  There is nothing worse than someone running into you in a market and just pushing right on by.  There is no “excuse me” or “I’m sorry.” I was not raised that way, my daughters weren’t raised that way, and my grandchildren are not being raised this way.

NJ:  Kathryn, I suggest you start carrying paperback copies of  THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE TO RAISING (ALMOST) PERFECT DAUGHTERS!”  I hear that the tips in this book work just as effectively on boys, the same as girls, (or adult men, the same as adult women).  So, the next time this happens, just give ’em a book (after you push them back harder!).  Are you neat or messy?

Kathryn:  I think I fit right in the middle.  I am more “Nessy” (if that can be considered a word).  I like things in order and I like a clean tidy house.  I also realize that I have to allow things to slide sometimes and save the energy for myself.  There is a “Spoon Theory”).  You are given so many spoons for each day (6 for example).  It takes 1 spoon to shower and get dressed, 3 spoons to prepare and clean up after meals, 1 spoon to vacuum the house, 1 spoon to clean the  closet.  OK, so now you have used up your spoons and you want to wash laundry and do ironing.  You decide to borrow a spoon from tomorrow.  You continue to borrow spoons from tomorrow until on Day 7 you have no spoons left.  I am learning that I have to conserve my spoons to make it through the week thus I am more “Nessy” than neat.

NJ:  Facebook or Twitter?

Kathryn:  I like the speed of Twitter and the 140 characters forces me to be creative and get to the point.  I have both a personal Facebook page as well as an author Facebook page.  It is nice to link my blog posts to my author Facebook page.

NJ:  Name two of the most supportive people you’ve met on either Facebook or Twitter.  Hurry and tell us so we can become their friend.

Kathryn:  I am not trying to win points here, Nonnie, but you were one of my early Twitter followers and you have been nothing but supportive to me and my writing.  Another very supportive person on Twitter has been @VickieCaseAuthor.  Vickie is very supportive of me as well.

NJ:  Awww, that was so sweet to say, Kathryn (I know it was honest).  You were one of my first supporters as well, so it was easy reciprocating the support the way we did and still do. And yes, Vickie is sweet and she’s supportive!  Nonnie Jules or WonderWoman?  Be honest (but don’t get kicked off the shelf)  -______-

Kathryn:  WonderWoman!  I am pretty sure you are secretly WonderWoman.  How else could you have accomplished so much in such a short amount of time and still have all this amazing energy?  Maybe you could share a little of that energy with me.  Just a little?

NJ:  Sure, I’m into energy-sharing!  Sending a cup over to you right now!  That’s all you need.  My energy is powerful stuff!  Kathryn, everyone knows the names Mark Twain and Stephen King but how about you give us two names of some INDIE authors that you favor.

Kathryn:  I didn’t know much about INDIE authors until I started writing my own book and began learning about some of them through a website that I came across.  I like both Alana Terry and Don Drewniak.

NJ:  What is it about them that you’ve come to like?

Kathryn:   Alana Terry wrote an amazing historical fiction story that I just couldn’t put down.  Don Drewniak took a story (maybe more of a journal) that his father had written many years ago about his life and turned it into a wonderful and captivating story.

NJ:  Name two favorite INDIE books that you’ve read

Kathryn:  You mean besides DAYDREAM’S DAUGHTER, NIGHTMARE’S FRIEND?  Well, I could include The Beloved Daughter and The Junk Picker.

NJ:  ONE good INDIE book you read that was so good you wished the entire world would read it…

Kathryn:  The book I would choose is I, Win by Win Charles.

NJ:  What was so great about it?

Kathryn:  Win Charles is a young woman with Cerebral Palsy who has refused to let it define her.  She writes her story by dictating it through her IPhone and then has someone transcribe it for her.  This book both inspires and encourages.  She was taught no to let her disability be a hindrance in anything she wanted to do.

NJ:  Sounds like my  kind of book.  I love reads that inspire and encourage.  Kathryn, after you read books, do you post reviews?

Kathryn:  Yes, I leave reviews after reading a book.  I believe in supporting authors by sharing my experiences when reading their books.

NJ:  What do you think readers should base their reviews on?

Kathryn:  The reader should base his/her review on two things.  A review should be based on the story itself and if it stirs something in the reader that makes them want to share the book with others, and how the book is written (whether it flows smoothly and how well it is edited.)

NJ:  Are you one of those who are afraid to be honest in their reviews lest the author gets upset with you, or is honesty your best policy, especially in reviews?

Kathryn:  It is very difficult to leave a negative review.  I am learning to be a better reviewer by being honest.  I always try to find the good points of the book and focus on them.  My star rating will generally be enough to state how well I liked the book.  I don’t believe in being overly critical in my reviews to the point of bashing an author.

NJ:  Well said, Kathryn.  Have you read any poorly written books lately?

Kathryn:  Yes, I have read some poorly written books lately.  There have been some that I just could not finish and give a review.

NJ:  WOW!  Surprisingly, I’ve had the same experience…of not being able to wade thru that, which was causing me distress the more I read.  Kathryn, are you an author yourself?

Kathryn:  Yes.  It is a title I’m still getting accustomed to using.

NJ:  How long have you been writing?

Kathryn:  I have been writing for ten years.  That is the length of time it took me to write my book.  It is my first true attempt at writing but now I have the bug and ideas for other books are beginning to forumlate in my mind.  With some time management and dedication, I hope to get them from my head to paper.

NJ:  I definitely understand having the bug, Kathryn.  It’s a really good bug to be bitten by, isn’t it?  What’s the title of your book?

Kathryn:  ALLERGIC TO LIFE:  My Battle for Survival, Courage and Hope is my first book.  You can purchase my book through my website where there are links to Amazon, Barnes & Noble and a link to purchase a signed copy from me.  My website is KathrynTreat.com.

NJ:  Do you have a blog?

Kathryn:  I have two blogs.  The first one is dedicated to sharing my story and talking about chronic illness and multiple chemical sensitivity.  My second blog, BE MY GUEST, is dedicated to writing and supporting other authors.  I hope that you all will visit both and share your thoughts and comments with me.

NJ:  Name three great online resources or organizations that every author should belong to.

Kathryn:  I have signed up and follow several online resources/organizations.  The two that stand out the most for me are RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB  (RRBC) and Indies Unlimited.

NJ:  Which online resource or organization has helped you the most?

Kathryn:  I have received the most social media support and encouragement from RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB.

NJ:  How has RRBC helped you exactly, Kathryn?

Kathryn:  RRBC is one of those “do everything” clubs.  I have received so much support in terms of Twitter and name recognition!

NJ:  Since you’re sitting on the SHELF, you’re obviously a Rave Reviews Book Club member, so what do you think of the club?

Kathryn:  Yes, I am not only a member, but the Membership Director!  Where do I begin?  {NJ:  Another long-winded one…*Sigh*}.  This club is phenomenal!  There is so much activity and ways for its members to be PROFILED, PROMOTED & PROPELLED.  Members are supported daily through tweets by members of our Tweet Support Team (TST) and other club members.  Member-author books are displayed prominently in our Online Catalog (BOOK CLUB SELECTIONS FOR REVIEW page).  RRBC offers a BOOK OF THE MONTH where a book and it’s author are promoted for an entire month.  RRBC shines a bright spotlight on authors through our “SPOTLIGHT” AUTHOR program, where authors are featured as guests on many blogs for an entire week;  featured on the RRBC SpotlightChat with Danica Cornell and they also have the honor of being interviewed by our President, Nonnie Jules, in the most sought after interview segment ever, “WHO’S ON THE SHELF,” which is where I’m sitting now.  Members are randomly selected each Tuesday for #PUSHTUESDAY, where our body of active members push and promote this special member HEAVILY for a full 24-hours!  There are writing contests, a Mentor Program and so many other giveaways and Incentives for our members.

There is so much going on here and new ways to promote our members are continually popping up.  What’s not to love about this club?  Are you a member yet?  Mention that you heard about it from me WHEN you join us!

NJ:  -______-  WHEW!  Sure you’re finished, Kathryn?  OK.  Have you come across any other online entities like RRBC?

Kathryn:  I have come across book clubs, but nothing like this club.  RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB is growing rapidly.  There will be others trying to emulate it BUT RRBC has set very high standards, and so copying it would be almost impossible.

NJ:  This shelf is getting hard on my hiney, so we’re going to wrap this interview up. Any final words?

Kathryn:  I want to thank you, Nonnie, for bringing me on board when you began envisioning RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB.  I have had so many positive experiences with the club and it’s members.  I am enjoying my time in the “SPOTLIGHT” now and also look forward to my time in any of the other fabulous seats here in the RRBC house.

NJ:  Thank you so much, Kathryn!  That was an awesome interview (you were a little long-winded like your friend Mrs. Slaughter, but that’s OK…hehehehe).  You have made our time on the SHELF, a most pleasant one!  To my guests, please support Kathryn by picking up a copy of her book  ALLERGIC TO LIFE  and by visiting her blog stops on her tour which ends on Saturday.  You can find the complete tour line up here.  Have you joined Rave Reviews Book Club yet?  Well, here’s your chance!  And since Kathryn was on the “SHELF” today, well, she already told you what to tell folks, didn’t she?  Make it a great day, my friends.  We’ll see you next week, right here on the “SHELF”!!

Allergic To Life cover

34 responses

  1. […] {My Christmas present which is now hanging over my desk, designed and gifted by Kathryn C. Treat} […]

    Like

  2. Hi Kathryn, This is the second time I’m committing. It didn’t take the other day. I really enjoyed your interview with Nonnie. She’s quite a character lol, but brings out the best in all her authors. I’m interested in your book since I have similar problems which seem to come from Chronic Lyme disease but the symptoms coincide. So I know what it takes to function, get an book out and just have a life. Hopefully the future will bring us both siustained health. Best of luck.

    Micki

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Micki. Lyme is a biotoxin and causes many of the same symptoms as mycotoxins. My best to you.

      Like

  3. A great interview Kathryn and Nonnie, I think you should put these interviews in a book of some sort;-) Hope you are well Nonnie after your scare;-)

    Like

    1. I think that is a great idea John.

      Like

  4. So, I see you’re a fellow Missourian, Kathryn! I lived all around the St. Louis area as well as in a small town in the Ozarks. As a Midwesterner, I was taught the importance of good manners, and always appreciate this in others too. Who knows? Maybe this will make a comeback! Nonnie, this was (as ALWAYS) a delightful interview; thank you for sharing this with all of us. Kathryn, congratulations on your SPOTLIGHT nomination, and my very best wishes for your continued success. xoxo 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Danica,

      Awe, a fellow Missourian. Wouldn’t be wonderful if good manners made a comeback. We need to pass out “The Good Mommies Guide”.

      Thank you for all your support.

      Like

  5. That was a most interesting interview, Kathryn and Nonnie. Both of you made me laugh because you have such great senses of humor! Of all the points you made, Kathryn, the one that resonated most with me is how difficult it is to review books. Basically, I use the same criteria you do. Two other things: Congrats on being married 38 years! And Nonnie, I hope that your ER visit turned out to be nothing serious…

    Like

    1. Thank you Linda. Nonnie has a great sense of humor. Reviews are tough but it is so important for us to do them.

      Like

  6. Shirley L. Slaughter | Reply

    Kathryn you have a beautiful daughter and just a beautiful family. Family is such a blessing. Glad you’re enjoying your time On the Shelf.

    Like

    1. Hello Shirley. Thank you for stopping by. You have been such a wonderful supporter of mine from day one and I appreciate it.

      Like

  7. Hi Kathryn!! I am currently reading your book which is ssssooo hard for me to put down. I was very excited to see that you are on “The Shelf” this week with Jules. What a great interview to read while I am also enjoying your book at the same time!! Your book has definitely captured my attention! It’s so hard to know that you went through such a tough time, but proof of a true survivor.

    Like

    1. Kim, thank you for reading my book and taking the time to stop by and read my interview with Nonnie. I also thank you for your kind words.

      Like

  8. Great interview with Kathy. I love the “shelf” interviews and look forward to reading them. Congratulations, Kathy, for your time in the RRBC spotlight!

    Like

    1. Thank you Jennie. Nonnie does an excellent job with her “On The Shelf” interviews. I am having a grand time in the RRBC spotlight!

      Like

  9. harmonykentonline | Reply

    What a lovely interview! The spoon theory is a good one: I’ll have to remember it for myself 🙂 Thanks for sharing so much during your tour, Kathryn. That is special. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you Harmony. I am truly enjoying being in the “spotlight” with RRBC. I have been treated royally by all who have hosted me (Thank you for being one of those wonderful people.), followed along on my tour, and supported me on twitter.

      Like

  10. Great interview Kathryn… I mean Shirley… I mean Kathryn teehee!
    I have read a few interviews with you and I always feel like I learn something new. What a beautiful and supportive family you have… Thanks for sharing! 😀

    Like

    1. Leisl: teehee. Thank you for reading my interview with Nonnie. It was great fun. My family has been wonderful and supportive through all the ups and downs. I couldn’t have asked for a better one.

      Like

  11. Great interview. I, too, loved the spoon theory, as I tend to over-exert myself. And yes, your daughter is a beautiful young woman, who resembles you closely!

    Nonnie, great suggestion that Kathryn carries with her paperback copies of THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE TO RAISING (ALMOST) PERFECT DAUGHTERS!” When all else fails, she can always smack rude people on the head with it. 🙂

    Like

    1. Nicholas, you are too funny but Nonnie does not condone violence and especially if it means damaging one of her books! I have a hard time on very good days trying to remember that I have limitations. I think we all have this issue whether ill or not. It is the need to get everything done at once.

      My daughter will appreciate your comment.

      Like

  12. Great interview & I love the pix! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you Bette. It is a wonderful little pumpkin patch in the mountains with a creek running through it.

      Like

    1. Thank you so much. It was a lot of fun being interviewed by Nonnie.

      Like

  13. I love these ‘On the Shelf’ interviews. It was great learning more about you, Kathryn.

    Like

    1. Thank you Michelle. I love them and was so excited to be a part of it today.

      Like

  14. Congratulations Kathryn for your wonderful Shelf interview. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Good for you too Nonnie for making the interview very interesting.

    Like

    1. Thank you Joy. Nonnie does a great job making these fun. I can’t wait each week to read the newest one.

      Like

  15. Reblogged this on allergictolifemybattle and commented:
    I was featured “On The Shelf” with Nonnie Jules, president of Rave Reviews Book Club today. I also had a wonderful TWITTERVIEW chat with @danicacornell. To view the TWITTERVIEW use #RRBCSpotlightChat.

    Like

  16. Just a great post–glad to learn about you and your work, Kathryn Chastain Treat!

    Like

  17. It was great being on the shelf with Nonnie. I had a lovely visit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

