Harmony Kent in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?”


Hello and welcome to “WHO’S ON THE SHELF?” with yours truly, Nonnie Jules!  Since we are a book club, we had to offer something that included a book shelf.  A lot of interviews merely cover an author’s work or an individual’s career stories.  Here on this “SHELF,”  we get down and dirty and ask the questions no other interviewer dare ask.  We ask the questions that you want to open up a book and find the answers to on your favorite authors and fellow book club members, but no one has dared to cover them.  WE get personal!  Because when you sit on the RRBC“SHELF”, YOU are an open book!

Today I have with me on the “SHELF” RRBC’s  ADMINISTRATIVE ASSTAuthor, HARMONY KENT!!!

20140611_192259

NJ:    Welcome, Harmony!  Or, shall I say HARMZ?  Because that’s what we call her on our board.  But, before we really get started, how does the “SHELF” feel to you?  Is it comfy?

HARMZ:  It’s very comfy, thanks. And CLEAN—and the best thing is . . . No spiders! Lol.  It’s a bit high though (did I mention I don’t like heights? Ah well, it’s a good thing my philosophy in life is to feel the fear and do it anyway! Maybe I’ll get real brave in a minute, and DANCE on the shelf!).

NJ:  Uh, OK…Just no dancing up here.  I don’t have insurance on this place yet.   So, how about we start by confirming whether or not the name we know you as, is your birth name or a pen name?

HARMZ:  Pen name. Harmony is the English translation of my first name, which is Japanese in origin. My surname I took from the county I was calling home at the point I published my first book. Although I no longer live in Kent, my pen name ‘Harmony Kent’ has become my brand name, so I don’t really want to change it at this point.

NJ:  Good, because we like you as Harmony Kent.  I mean, how would you look as a Smarden Kent, or Crundale Kent or even Reading Street Kent?  Hey, wait a minute…that last one could have worked!  Oh, well…if you ever want to change your brand, that last one is a go! So, tell us where you were born.  Do you still live there now?  If not, what city and state are you calling home these days?

HARMZ:  I was born in Catterick, in the North of England. But I never lived there. There’s quite a story behind that one! Do you want to hear it?

NJ:  (Pretends to look at her watch which isn’t even set to the correct time) Oh, no, HARMZ…I wish we had the time but I’m a little rushed today.  I have another appointment after we’re done here.  So, are you Married or single?

HARMZ:  I was supposed to be one baby boy, born in September. The reality was two baby girls born in July. My dad was in the army, and my mum was registered at the family accommodation at the barracks in Catterick. At the time she went into premature labour, she was staying with her parents in Leeds. Instead of the ambulance taking her to Leeds infirmary (about a half hour journey, tops), there was some mix up, and they took her all the way to Catterick! (About three hours away.) They had to pull over twice on the way, as they thought mum was going to give birth there and then. I’m glad she managed to hang on, as my sister and I probably wouldn’t have made it otherwise.  You heard it here, on the shelf, first. An online exclusive! A never-told-before-now story.

NJ:  (Am I crazy, or did I just tell her I didn’t want to hear that story? Another one!  Does Marlena not vet this people?) What an incredible story!  You’re a twin! OOOOOOK, well, moving on (again), are you married or single?  (If she answers single, I will know why.  She’s a mighty presumptious one and she talks entirely too much.  This is going to be a looooong interview!)

HARMZ:  Single, but I’m still hoping!

NJ:  (Mutters under her breath, Yea, well you keep hope alive, Ms. TalksALot) Kids or no?  If yes, how many?  Sons or Daughters?

HARMZ:  No kids. Just lots of cute gremlins who claim to be my nieces and nephews.

NJ:  Whew!  For a minute there I thought you were gonna say Leprechauns!  Skerred me silly.  Inside joke on this one, y’all. (We all must thank Aoife Sheridan for my constant state of terror at the mere mention of critters, creatures, etc, now.).  Any pets?  If so, what kind?

HARMZ:  No pets. I would love a dog, but with my physical limitations it wouldn’t be fair on the dog. I couldn’t look after it well enough, or take it for long walks, etc.

NJ:  Physical limitations?  (Hmmmmm, I would like to know more about that but if you give this woman a foot, she goes 10 miles…so forget about it!) HARMZ, share with us your favorite food? (There goes  my mouth-water again, every time I hear the word FOOD.  Now, I want Wendy’s.  I hate Wendy’s!  That’s probably because Nicholas  has been going on and on about there not being a Wendy’s in Greece anymore.  Now he’s tapped into my sub-con).

HARMZ:  Pizza! I am definitely the Pizza Queen. I have to exert great self-discipline not to eat it every day!

NJ:  Yes, who could not love Pizza?  I think GOD should put everyone who doesn’t like pizza, on an island, with no boats, so they can’t get off.  It’s downright sacriligious to not like PIZZA!!!! So, what’s your favorite color?

HARMZ:  Umm, now, that depends on what mood I’m in! Sometimes blue, other times brown, and then at others… purple. I’m a pretty eclectic personality. (I’m just glad there’s not a bigger story behind this).

NJ:  You look like a purple girl.  Yea, I like to give people colors.  So, give us your favorite sport, if you have one.

HARMZ:  I don’t play sports, and never enjoyed P.E. at all. I used to love walking, and would drive up to Scotland during vacations, and just walk. These days the only thing I can do, whether I’m able to wear my prosthetic limb or am in the wheelchair, is swim. I like to watch tennis on T.V., as well as rugby or the Grand Prix.

NJ:  Favorite TV show…

HARMZ:  Ooh, it would have to be the Game of Thrones. Pretty hard to beat.

NJ:  Favorite Actress/Actor…

HARMZ:  Don’t really have one.

NJ:  You don’t?  I thought everyone had those.  Oh well… So are you a couch potato or workout nut?  Be honest…

HARMZ:  Couch potato. I used to be very active and always on the go. These days, I’ve had to find activities I can do sitting down. Which is how I got into writing in the first place! So, some good came out of my injury.

NJ:  HARMZ, what’s your biggest pet peeve that makes you want to stomach-punch somebody?  (For the record, NJ does not condone violence but she does believe in being honest so she has to admit that there are times when she feels like some friendly stomach-punching is a little necessary.  She also feels she is not alone in these feelings).

HARMZ:  Rudeness. In any way, shape or form. I have met rudeness online, but that never gets me as much as when I encounter it in a face to face situation. There is just no excuse. But really, the person such rude folks hurt the most, is themselves. Sadder still, they don’t see it. When I’m done being annoyed, I end up feeling sorry for them, and their miserable lives.

NJ:  Better to encounter the rudeness face-to-face.  That way, one of two things will happen:  *You might have the opportunity to practice your restraint OR *You might have the opportunity to use that stomach-punch technique, I love so much!  Are you neat or messy?

HARMZ:  I used to be a neat freak. Not anymore. I still have a place for everything, but the cleaning doesn’t get done anywhere near as much as I would like. I get there eventually. I’ve learned to find a compromise. Because sometimes, no matter how much I want to take care of a little job here and there, my mobility and/or pain levels just won’t let me. I have no choice but to accept it and let it go. I’ve had to learn how not to be busy.

NJ:  Facebook or Twitter?

HARMZ:  Twitter. I love the brevity of the tweets, and the immediacy of it. I feel a bit daunted by the whole FaceBook thing. I don’t know why, I just do.

NJ:  I love Twitter the most, too.  Probably because I’m old and it’s the easiest for me.  HARMZ, name two of the most supportive people you’ve met on either Facebook or Twitter.  Hurry and tell us so we can become their friend.

HARMZ:  Well, apart from you and the club, I would have to name Monica (@authorqspades) who founded and manages The Review Board, and Jazz (@YCorreaFB) who founded and manages the All Authors Magazine. These two ladies have been with me from the very beginning of my online life, and have been so uber supportive I don’t think I could ever repay them! Well, here’s my chance to perhaps give a little something back: Thanks, ladies!

NJ:  That was sweet of you to say, about me and the club, that is.  I don’t know those other people. So here’s your chance to continue on that sweet-streak…Nonnie Jules or WonderWoman?  Be honest (but don’t get kicked off the shelf)  -______-

HARMZ:  Is there a difference? I can’t tell!

NJ:  Why, that’s the most perfect response!  Everyone knows the names Mark Twain and Stephen King but how about you give us two names of some INDIE authors that you favor.

HARMZ:  Bette A. Stevens and Zoe Cannon.

NJ:  What is it about them that you’ve come to like?

HARMZ:  Bette A. Stevens (Member) writes lovely children’s books, and novels for older folks, too. She is such a supportive lady, and I admire her greatly. (It was actually one of her posts that led me to discover Rave Reviews Book Club).   Zoe Cannon writes brilliant YA Dystopian novels, and is a nice person too. Her books ask important questions, and really make the reader THINK.

NJ:  Name two favorite INDIE books that you’ve read.

HARMZ:  The whole ‘Torturer’s Daughter’ series by Zoe Cannon and Alan McDermot’s ‘Tom Gray’ Series.

NJ:  ONE good INDIE book you read that was so good you wished the entire world would read it…

HARMZ:  That would have to be White Chalk, by Pavarti K Tyler.

NJ:  What was so great about it?

HARMZ:  It is a hard hitting book, that deals with some difficult issues, and doesn’t pull any punches at the end. Very well written, and well worth a read. But, beware, it’s not light entertainment.

NJ:  HARMZ, after you read books, do you post reviews?

HARMZ:  Yes, always. They are the lifeblood of an author, and very important to prospective readers. I always check out reviews, as well as a book’s sample, before I make a purchase. I am saddened to find that less than 10% of people who buy a book, will leave a review.

NJ:  What do you think readers should base their reviews on?

HARMZ:  The quality of the writing. Definitely not on how the book made them feel! I recently saw a book marked down because it scared the reader! What??? It was obviously well written enough to elicit such a response. The written review was positive, but they gave 2 stars. This makes no sense to me!

I look at a number of factors:

The enjoyment and ‘flow’ of the reading.

The number of errors, typos, etc. Has the book been well proofread?

The quality of the editing, if any. Is the writing passive? Are the plot, pacing and character development well done? Is the ending well rounded?

NJ:  Are you one of those who are afraid to be honest in their reviews lest the author gets upset with you, or is honesty your best policy, especially in reviews??

HARMZ:  I always leave an honest review, and refuse to be bullied into doing anything otherwise. I once received a revenge review (1 Star) from an author who hasn’t even read my book, because I dared to leave him a 3 Star review, within my role as an Awesome Indies reviewer. I reported it to GoodReads, but they chose to do nothing, and the review still stands. Which is a shame, because—having so few reviews to start with—it really brings down the book’s rating. Still, if people bother to compare it to the other reviews, they are bound to see that it doesn’t match up to the others at all.

I decided that no response was the best response. I alerted Awesome Indies to the situation, and they changed their policy, so that all their reviewers are now anonymous under the AI umbrella. It is such a shame that this can happen. The same author also engaged in abusive emails with the president of AI, so all in all not a great guy!

Such unprofessional behavior saddens me deeply. BUT, I will NEVER be coerced into giving a less than honest review. I always try to remain objective in the reviews I give, and always look for something positive to say, no matter how poorly the book might be written. I will certainly never attack the author, or just be plain nasty. It’s not in my nature.

I also try to make comments that the author can use to learn from. I have learnt and grown so much since I first published The Battle for Brisingamen. And it is thanks to honest reviewers! I wouldn’t have known there was a problem without them.

NJ:  Some people just act like children, don’t they?  (Some are just plain crazy!) So, have you read any poorly written books lately?

HARMZ:  Way too many, unfortunately. There have been some books that would have been brilliant if only for some proofreading and editing. I review for a couple of organisations, as well as trying to read as many as I can from the Rave Reviews catalogue, so I see a LOT of books. I am always amazed when I read a book that has two or more typos a page. It’s like: did the author READ their book at all?

NJ:  Are you an author yourself?

HARMZ:  I am!

NJ:  How long have you been writing?

HARMZ:  I started writing in September 2012, after a major life change. My first book was published in May 2013, and there has been no stopping me since.

NJ:  What’s the title of your book(s) so we can all run out and get a copy?

HARMZ:  The Battle for Brisingamen, a Fantasy Fiction Novel. Published May 2013.

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00GNQVPOK?*Version*=1&*entries*=0

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00GNQVPOK

The Glade, a Thriller, Mystery, Suspense Novel, Published November 2013, and IndieBRAG Medallion honoree!

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00CNUQCXO?*Version*=1&*entries*=0

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00CNUQCXO

Elemental Earth, A Young Adult Fantasy Ficiton Novel, published 31st July 2014.

NJ:  Which one do you think is the best?

HARMZ:  While The Glade will always have a special place in my heart, I would have to say that my latest book is my best. My writing is much tighter, and my voice stronger. I have learned such a lot since I started out, and I feel all of this has come to fruition in Elemental Earth.

NJ:  Do you have a blog?

HARMZ:  I do. You can find me at http://harmonykent.co.uk. Please come along and say “hi”—I’d love to see you!

NJ:  Name three great online resources or organizations that every author should belong to.

HARMZ:

*Rave Reviews Book Club.

*Some kind of Social Media (twitter has worked really well for me).

*Deviant Art. Not so obvious at first, but invaluable if you make your own book covers. Actually, it’s also great for finding artists who can make them for you. Always be sure to check the copyright and usage terms, and always credit the artist.

NJ:  Which online resource or organization has helped you the most?

HARMZ:  Rave Reviews Book Club! Honestly.

NJ:  How has RRBC helped you exactly, HARMZ?

HARMZ:  There is so much support given to each and every member. I feel I have met some good friends as well. I haven’t found anywhere near so much support anywhere else on the web. It is also a great forum for me to continue to help fellow authors, which is something I started doing as soon as I’d published my first book and identified the need to help fellow indies.

NJ:  Since you’re sitting on the SHELF, you’re obviously a Rave Reviews Book Club member, so what do you think of the club?

HARMZ:  Awesome! I can’t think where I would be without it!

NJ:  Have you come across any other online entities like RRBC?

HARMZ:  None whatsoever.

NJ:  This shelf is getting hard on my hiney, so we’re going to wrap this interview up. Any final words?

HARMZ:  Thanks so much for allowing me to sit up here with you, it’s been fun. Even though you have been so nosey! (Just kidding).   I know it takes a lot of time and effort to keep your shelf clean and well stocked, and I really appreciate having the opportunity to climb up here and enjoy the sunshine for a while.

NJ:  Thank you so much, HARMZ!  That was an awesome interview (you were a little long-winded like your friends Mrs. Slaughter & Mrs. Treat, but that’s OK…hehehehe).  You have made our time on the SHELF, a most pleasant one! Finding out about your physical limitations makes us appreciate who you are even more, because you are truly an inspiration!  You’re always upbeat and encouraging to others, it’s a little hard to fathom that there is anything that could be slowing you down, so thank you…we are truly honored to have you in our midst at RRBC. To my guests, please support Harmony by picking up a copy of either of her 3 books.  You can find them all listed on her Author Page at 4WillsPublishing and by visiting her blog stops on her tour which ends on Saturday.  You can find the complete tour line up here.  Have you joined Rave Reviews Book Club or signed or used any of the services at 4WillsPublishing yet?  Well, here’s your chance!  Book your own blog tour here and get your chance to sit on the shelf with yours truly.  It really is an awesome place to be, but remember, to sit here, you have to be a member of RRBC!  And since Harmony was on the “SHELF” today, if you join RRBC after reading her interview here, please tell them she sent you.   Make it a great day, my friends.  We’ll see you next week, right here on the “SHELF”!!

{NOTE:  Harmony is NOT the current “SPOTLIGHT” Author.  This tour is sponsored by:  4WillsPublishing}

The Battle For Brisingamen by Harmony KentThe Glade by Harmony Kent3D-Book cover Elemental Earth

83 responses

  1. Hi Nonnie! It’s great to see Harmony on the shelf! I loved learning more about her. It reads like we have so much in common. Great post. Thank you!

    Like

  2. Nice interview, and I was happy to read it as you were one of the first to welcome me, a newbie, to RRBC. Pizza is great but only every once in a while to help keep it a special treat.

    Like

  3. Harmz…so there’s TWO of you, huh? Does your twin like to dress up as Cat Woman as well? Lol! Great interview, ladies! Of course after all this talk of pizza, guess what I’m about to raid the frig in search of… xoxo 🙂

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      LOL! Just as well you’ve finished your pizza before I got here 😉 he he he. Thanks for stopping by, Dani! 🙂

      Like

  4. I just love these interviews! I say, since Barbara Walters has retired, let Nonnie do these interviews on TV!

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      LOL … I second that notion! Thanks for stopping by, Beem! 🙂

      Like

  5. Loved the interview. You are an inspiration Harmony. Jules, you absolutely make these interviews a pleasure. Well done, both of you.

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Thanks, John! I am so pleased I decided to “come out of the closet”, as it seems my story is inspiring to a few folks 🙂 I reckon my greatest feat to date though, is surviving THE SHELF with Nons! LOL 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Loved the interview, Harmony! You are a very classy lady and I’m honoured to know you. Can’t wait to get into your latest book! Have a great Spotlight Week! Nicely done, Nonnie!

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Thanks, John! “Classy” huh? Now, if you REALLY knew me!! LOL 😀 I’m having a GREAT spotlight week! Thanks to all of you lovely folks! 🙂 ❤

      Like

  7. Another fun interview with Nonnie. I keep dreading some of those revenge reviews. I try to be positive in mine. Maybe not getting return review isn’t such a bad thing… the people returning them could be nasty instead. 😉

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Thanks, Rebecca! I’m just glad I made it off the shelf in one piece! LOL 😀 Getting reviews right is so important that I’ve included a chapter on it in my latest book: Polish Your Prose … it is such a minefield for a lot of indies! Best of luck with your own writing! 🙂

      Like

  8. Hi Harmony, I really enjoyed your ‘On the Shelf” interview with Nonnie. Of course all her interviews are a bit off the wall. ahem, I mean ‘shelf’, so I love each of them. I’m suffering som eof the disability you have so your words were a great encouragement to me as I get discouraged by my linitations. Just knowing you makes me want to read your book–that and the fact that it’s fantasy and I have trouble finding good fantasy since all the great fantasy writers have passed on. I also enjoyed your take as a reviewer, since I’m a book reviewer as well and face those same problems. I’ll be checking your book out as soon as I get caught up on my book reviews.

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Thank you, Micki, for your heartfelt (and humourous) words! I am so pleased that my decision to speak more personally has helped you even a little, and I wish you all the very best 🙂 I know all about TBR’s long enough to fill the house with!! I am sure my books won’t be a disappointment once you do get to them! (Did I mention how ‘modest’ I am, too??) LOL 😀 Hugs 🙂

      Like

  9. Fabulous interview Nonnie and Harmony!

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Glad you enjoyed the interview! And thanks for stopping by to comment 🙂

      Like

  10. ALWAYS FUN ON THE SHELF! NONNIE AND HARMZ ARE A GREAT PAIR IN THIS ONE!

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Thanks, Rea .. so pleased you enjoyed this interview. We do make a good pair .. not sure how I feel about being described as a ‘purple’ girl though!! 😀

      Like

  11. Lovely interview Nonnie and Harmony – always good to find out a bit more about an author plus good for promotion – I’ve just bought The Glade!! Many thanks 🙂

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Wow!! Thanks, Georgia! Really hope it doesn’t scare you TOO much! lol Glad you enjoyed the interview 🙂

      Like

  12. Harmony, thanks a whole lot for the shout out. If it wasn’t for being busy with TRB and All Authors Mag, this definitely would have been a spot to have been a part of. 🙂

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      You are more than welcome, honey! You so deserve it! 🙂

      Like

  13. A great interview Nonnie and Harmony, these chats are always uplifting! Well done both and congratulations Harmony.

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Thank you, John! Don’t give Nonnie too much praise though, it might go to her head! LOL 😀 he he he (I’m gonna run and duck for cover now!) 🙂

      Like

  14. Another great interview, Nonnie. You gals kept me smiling! Thanks so much for the shout-out, Harmony. It was wonderful to get to know you a bit better: loved the stories. 🙂 Bette

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Hi, Bette! You so deserve that shout out! 🙂 Really glad you found our interview entertaining … we aim to please! lol 🙂

      Like

  15. It was wonderful finding out more about Harmony and her interesting tales.

    Like

  16. What a great interview Harmony and Nonnie. I love the “On The Shelf” segments and look forward to reading and learning more about my fellow club members. You inspire me Harmony, with your physical limitations and your desire to keep on going with such a wonderful sense of humor.

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Thank you, honey! The only way forward is with a sense of humour! From what I have seen of your own journey, you have managed to find the funny side within some trying situations too! 🙂 xx It’s good that we can inspire each other! 🙂

      Like

  17. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    What an interesting interview plus you mentioned some physical limitations. And yet you were able to accomplish so much. Sometimes adversity is placed before us to get us moving in the right direction. I’m glad to get to know you and love your sense of humor.

    Like

    1. Uh, what about me? -________- BEEEEEEEMMMMMMMM!!!!!!!

      Like

    2. Shirley, is Nonnie saying we talk too much?

      Like

    3. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Looks like Nonnie is calling for Beem’s sharp sticks! I reckon we should get in there first! I can’t believe Non’s is as QUIET as she’s making out!! LOL 😀 We should set the ‘Leprechauns’ on her! (Aoife Sheridan … Are you reading this?!?)

      Like

      1. We now know which movie Nonnie’s watching next!

        Like

  18. I agree with Judith Barrow: These interviews never disappoint. With all the fun writers in our group–and Nonnie’s sense of humor!–how can you go wrong? Actually, the two of you (meaning Harmony & Nonnie) would make a great comic duo!

    Nice to learn more about you and your books, Harmony. Good luck with your blog tour!

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Thanks, Linda! Do we have a BRAND NEW Comedy Duo???!!!??? LOL 😀 Nonnie is the REAL dry wit in this duo … I’m quietly in the background (making her look good!!!) ROFL ! 😀 (Couldn’t resist!) 😀 I was a nice quiet girl until I came across RRBC! 🙂 x

      Like

      1. Do we believe she’s quiet? I’ve heard the neighbours complain about all that tapping of computer keys during the night

        Like

  19. Fantastic interview! I love the banter. I’m sad to say I have also encountered the revenge review situation. Glad to hear that you stick to your guns and don’t let anyone else’s pettiness get in the way of your integrity.

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      So glad you liked the interview, Emily! And, thank you, HUGELY, for leaving a comment! Yep, while I’m a real nice girl (REALLY) … I won’t be intimidated or manipulated! Honesty, integrity, and compassion are all that really count in life! 🙂

      Like

  20. Great job here, both of you! Will check out your books, Harmony–and that Deviant Art site. Cheers!

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      You are more than welcome! Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  21. Good to get to know you better, Harmony.

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Thank you, honey! It’s great to finally be talking to you all! I’ve been quite shy and private until now! Guess I seriously broke THAT mould!! LOL 😀 x

      Like

  22. Nonnie, your great sense of humour and the way your interviewees (“shelfers”?) respond to it are a treat. Another interesting interview. Thank you.

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Erm … Cynthia … did you REALLY mean to give Nonnie the WHOLE shelf, here ?!?!? LOL 😀 (Just kidding) Our Nons is the bestest interviewer … even if she wasn’t THAT interested in my Catterick story! LOL 🙂 So pleased you enjoyed the interview, Cynthia! And thank you deeply for taking the time to stop by and comment! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Cynthia and I go way back (since Dec’ actually…lol) so Yes, Harmz…she did mean to give all the kudos to me! Thanks, Cyn! XOXO Hugs

        Like

  23. Lol – beware of Greeks bearing Wendy’s. “Does Marlena not vet this people?” – oh, you two… The interview had me laughing and gasping in equal measure. Lovely!

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Thanks, Nicholas … by the way: did you realise you’re banned from ‘Wendy’s’ for the foreseeable future???? How will you cope?!? So glad Nonnie and I gave you a good laugh! Hugs, Harmz 🙂

      Like

  24. That was a good exchange – Harmony you made some excellent points about readers not feeling compelled to write book reviews and about looking for the quality of writing.

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Thanks, Paola! Glad I was able to make at least SOME useful points! lol 😀 he he he … I really appreciate you stopping by today! 🙂

      Like

  25. Awesome interview, Harmony & Nonnie!! Loved learning more about our incredible Board Member & friend! 🙂

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      As I said during the Facebook party: Oh My Goodness!! The cat is REALLY out of the bag now! lol 😀 thank you for your support and friendship! 🙂 x

      Like

  26. Loved the interview, it’a wonderful to see how background will influence a writer. Keep up the good work.

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Thanks, Mary. Yes, the best way forward is for my life to influence and inspire! Forging ahead bravely, is my motto! 🙂 That and helping others! As well as having a good giggle along the way! 🙂

      Like

  27. Reblogged this on lightningbooksbyagmoye and commented:
    Take a look at this up and coming author!

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Thanks, sweetie! I really do appreciate the reblog and your support! Warmest wishes, Harmz 🙂

      Like

  28. Nice interview! I loved The Glade!

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Thanks, Tracy! I love that you loved The Glade! 😀 I’m learning how to do interviews … as you will see from yesterday’s Facebook chat and this blog tour, my life really is ‘coming out of the closet’ on this tour! 🙂 x

      Like

  29. this interview was hilariously so upbeat I laughed a lot. I like your spirit Harmony, and I enjoyed the interview.

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Hi, honey! I am so pleased you enjoyed the interview! Thank you for your kind words! 🙂

      Like

  30. A truly awesome interview! I felt like i was right there listening to the conversation and I know so much about you now, harmony. You certainly are an inspiration and I love your sense of humor. Great job! (I really enjoyed your side of the interview, too, Nonnie. You have a real talent for bringing out the most interesting info from those you interview.)

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Thanks, Carol! Isn’t Nonnie great?!? (Even though she didn’t pay FULL and COMPLETE attention to EVERYTHING I said!!??!!) LOL 😀 No, really, the banter was great and truly brought the ‘shelf talk’ to life! 🙂

      Like

  31. Great interview! Since it is what I write about, I love to hear stories of resilient women. And you, my dear, sound like you are full of resilience! Looking forward to reading The Glade!

    Like

  32. Fabulous interview! Harmz, with each post I read, I see we have even more in common! I too loathe rudeness, and LOVE pizza! Well, spinach pizza. 🙂 So interesting to learn how you became a writer. We all have our trials in this life – that’s for sure, but I must say I deeply admire how you’ve moved forward. Congrats on your new book and best wishes for your continued success! xoxo

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Are you worried yet? Being so similar to me?!? (I would be!)Thank you for your kind words! Really glad you like the interview. 🙂 x

      Like

  33. Loved this interview, great to find a fellow pizza eating, Game of Thrones watching writer who dances on shelves! Will be checking out Harmony’s website to hunt for tales about North Yorkshire 🙂

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      LOL 🙂 I’ve been neglecting my blog of late, but I’ll have to be sure about getting some good Northern anecdotes up there! Do I take it you also dance on shelves and love Pizza and Game of Thrones!? 🙂

      Like

  34. Hi Harmony! Love the spider reference! I’m going after Elemental Earth right now because I will need it for my upcoming beach vacation!

    Like

  35. Really fun reading about you Harmony. It is always good to get to know the author and fellow member of RRBC better. Thanks to Jules as well.

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Thanks, John! Yes, this tour has really brought me ‘out of the closet’! Seems to have made me real talkative, too 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  36. Great interview, as always. That’s a lovely piano in your photo, Harmz. Do you play?

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Thanks, Michelle! I sort of play. I was having lessons, but since I moved to Cornwall I’m struggling to find a piano teacher! Serves me right for being so rural–lol 🙂 It is a beautiful piano 🙂

      Like

  37. Loved this interview! Was interesting to learn of your connection with Catterick and Leeds. I have a daughter in the army and she has been based at Catterick and has lived in Leeds. Was fun to learn how you came up with your pen name! I just purchased Elemental Earth. Good luck with all your writing.

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Thank you, Bill! Yes, there is a strong Army connection up at Catterick. I spent all my life ‘up north’ until I moved as far south as I can while still being in England! (About a year ago). It’s a lot warmer down here! Warmest wishes, Harmony 🙂

      Like

  38. Love these interviews – never disappoint. Always light-hearted but hit the spot for getting to know fellow authors and their way of working. Oh and great for promotions. Thank you both.

    Like

    1. harmonykentonline | Reply

      Yes, I love ‘On the Shelf’ Interviews, too. I do reckon Nonnie should have been a bit more enthralled with my Catterick story though!! lol 🙂

      Like

      1. That was a great story, actually! Starting your life in such a scary manner probably explains your love of mystery… 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

