Kristy F. Gillespie in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?”


Hello and welcome to “WHO’S ON THE SHELF?” with yours truly, Nonnie Jules!  Since we are a book club, we had to offer something that included a book shelf.  A lot of interviews merely cover an author’s work or an individual’s career stories.  Here on this “SHELF,”  we get down and dirty and ask the questions no other interviewer dare ask.  We ask the questions that you want to open up a book and find the answers to on your favorite authors and fellow book club members, but no one has dared to cover them.  WE get personal!  Because when you sit on the RRBC“SHELF”, YOU are an open book!

Today we have a very special guest on the SHELF with us. Kristy is the winner of one of the “Comment Contests” that was recently held by one of our members.  Yes, I said “Comment Contest.”  All she had to do was stop by one of the stops on the tour and leave a comment and that landed her here!  With me!!!

{THIS INTERVIEW IS SPONSORED BY: 4WILLSPUBLISHING}

MeltingPotKristy

NJ:  Welcome, Kristy and before we really get started, how does the “SHELF” feel to you?  Is it comfy?

Kristy: As comfortable as a church pew without a cushion… JK! I really appreciate the chance to perch on your shelf!

NJ:  So, how about we start by confirming whether or not the name we know you as, is your birth name or a pen name?

Kristy:  Birth name. (Even though I was teased in school, specifically “cheeseburger,” I had trouble parting with Feltenberger, my maiden name, so I kept it as a second middle name).

NJ:  Well, Kristy, tell us where you were born.  Do you still live there now?  If not, what city and state are you calling home these days?

Kristy:  Born in Johnstown, PA, which is known for several horrific floods including The Great Flood of 1889.  I’ve lived in Virginia since 2003 and currently live in Warrenton, VA, which is surrounded by vineyards and horse farms and is a 45 minute drive from DC. I love Warrenton!

NJ:  Wow!  You sound excited about Warrenton!  Good for you.  Married or single?

Kristy:  Patrick and I recently celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary!

NJ:  Well, I guess “Patrick”  means you’re married?  -_____-  Do you have kids?  If so, how many?  Sons or daughters?  Who’s your favorite?  (C’mon, you can tell us)…

Kristy:  No kids…yet!

NJ:  Ooooook, you sound excited about that, too.  -_______-  Any pets running around?  If so, what kind?

Kristy:  My pets are like my kids & Sammie, our youngest dachshund, is probably my favorite but of course I love them all.  We have 3 dachshunds (Gustav, Sammie, and Mopar) and 2 cats (Ross and Phoebe).

NJ:  OK, so we’d like to know your favorite food

Kristy:  Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream

NJ:  So, let us dig a little deeper here, I feel as if we’ve only scratched the surface…what is your favorite color?

Kristy:  Green

NJ:  Mint chocolate and green, so folks we have a GREEN girl on the SHELF with us today. Tell us your favorite sport?

Kristy:  Football – Pittsburgh Steelers & San Francisco 49ers

NJ:  Favorite TV Show

Kristy:  Currently The Bridge, starring Diane Kruger and Demian Bichir

NJ:  Favorite Actress/Actor

Kristy: Jennifer Lawrence and Leo Dicaprio

NJ:  I like both of them, too!  So, are you a couch potato or a workout nut?  Be honest…

Kristy:  Couch potato!

NJ:  So, here’s my favorite question:   What’s your biggest pet peeve that makes you want to stomach-punch somebody?  (For the record, NJ does not condone violence but she does believe in being honest so she has to admit that there are times when she feels like some friendly stomach-punching is a little necessary.  She also feels she is not alone in these feelings).

Kristy:  While there’s many, I’d say one of my top pet peeves is unnecessary small talk!

NJ:  Really?  You’re my kinda interview then!  (You know, they don’t pay me enough to do these long interviews.  And some of these guests, let me tell you…they have more to say than I care to hear).  So, are you neat or messy?

Kristy:  Neat

NJ:  (WOW!  She really doesn’t like unnecessary small talk.  A woman of few words).  Me, too!  Thanks for not bringing any food and drink in here.  I could start on some past guests in that regards, but I won’t.  Facebook or Twitter, Kristy?

Kristy:  Both, but I’m a bit burnt out from social media. Check out this video for a laugh… (WARNING:  this YouTube video is a bit graphic in its’ use of the F-word.  DO NOT CLICK THIS LINK IF YOU ARE UNDER 18 YRS OF AGE!  If you are easily offended, please do not click the link!!!  I mean it!  Don’t click this link if you’re offended by the F-word!  Don’t email me to tell me you were offended, don’t tweet me to tell me you were offended, or you just might hear me dropping a few F-bombs, because YOU WERE WARNED!!!! This link will be removed in 24 hours) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HYZUWi2jbN8

NJ:  -_________- Uh, well we can see that you have a great sense of humor there, Kristy.  Name two of the most supportive people you’ve met on either Facebook or Twitter? Hurry and tell us so we can become their friend.

Kristy:  Katie Cross and Karen

NJ:  Nonnie Jules or WonderWoman?  You can be honest…

Kristy:  I thought Nonnie Jules was WonderWoman!

NJ:  Everyone knows the names Mark Twain and Stephen King but how about you give us two names of some INDIE authors that you favor…

Kristy:  Katie Cross and Mary Chris Escobar

NJ:  What is it about them that you’ve come to like?

Kristy: They’re amazing writers as well as amazing women!

NJ:  OK, name two favorite INDIE books that you’ve read…

Kristy:  Miss Mabel’s School for Girls by Katie Cross and Neverending Beginnings by Mary Chris Escobar

NJ:  ONE good INDIE book you read that was so good you wished the entire world would read it…

Kristy:  The entire House of Crimson and Clover series by Sarah M. Cradit

NJ:  What was so great about it?

Kristy:  The series is incredibly captivating!

NJ:  After you read books, do you post reviews?

Kristy:  Yes, I post on my blog, Amazon, and Goodreads

NJ:  What do you think readers should base their reviews on?

Kristy:  Writing ability and style, the “un-put-downable” factor…

NJ:  Are you one of those who are afraid to be honest in their reviews lest the author gets upset with you, or is honesty your best policy, especially in reviews?

Kristy:  I try to be as honest as possible but I also tend to point out the positives.

NJ:  Read any poorly written books lately?

Kristy:  Thankfully, no!

NJ:  Yayyyyyy!  Maybe folks are starting to listen to all the griping we’re doing about putting out only the best!  Are you an author?

Kristy:  Yes, Young Adult Fiction and Short Stories (There goes her take on un-necessary chatter.  Now, did anyone hear me ask her what genre she wrote under?)

NJ:  How long have you been writing?

Kristy:  I’ve written poems and stories since elementary school.

NJ:  Well, hello there fellow Poet!  Poetry is my first love above all else.  What books have you written?

Kristy:  Jaded, a Young Adult Thriller & Even In Death, A Short Story Collection

NJ:  Which one do you think is the best?

Kristy:  Probably Even In Death because I really enjoy writing short stories.  

NJ:  Do you have a blog or website?

Kristy:  Yes, Keep Calm and Write On: http://kristyfgillespie.com/

NJ:  I love the title of your blog!  I guess sometimes we have to remind ourselves that it’s not all that serious.  Name three great online resources or organizations that every author should belong to

Kristy:  RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB, James River Writers, and GR.

NJ:  Which online resource or organization has helped you as an author the most?

Kristy:  RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB!

NJ:  OK, there goes that excitement again!  But, we’re glad to know that our members are excited about their club.  It is truly a wonderful place to belong, and I’m not just saying that because my name’s on the door.  I’m saying it because it’s fact!  So, tell us, how has belonging here helped you?

Kristy: I really appreciate the author support from RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB, especially via Twitter.

NJ:  Funny you say that, Kristy because we hear from so many members who say that we have taught them so much about Twitter, and now we’re starting to hear the same thing in regards to Facebook… and that’s stemming from some of our members partying over there (LOL).  Since you’re sitting on the SHELF, you’re obviously a Rave Reviews Book Club member, so what do you think of the club?

Kristy:  I love it!

NJ:  Have you come across any other online entities like it?

Kristy: No!

NJ:  Would you recommend it to your friends and family?

Kristy:  Of course!

NJ:  This shelf is getting hard on my hiney, so we’re going to wrap this interview up.  Any final words?

Kristy:  Keep Calm and Write On!

NJ:  Thank you so much, Kristy!  That was an awesome interview…not as wordy as some of the others (and if you’ve joined in on some of the others, you’d know what and “whom” I was referring to). You have made this interview on the SHELF, a most pleasant one!  To my guests, please support Kristy by picking up a copy of her book  “Jaded”  or “Even In Death” below and by visiting her blog.  Have you joined Rave Reviews Book Club yet?  Well, here’s your chance!  And since Kristy was on the “SHELF” today, tell them she sent you! Make it a great day, my friends.  We’ll see you next week, right here on the “SHELF”!!

“Jaded”

Jaded by Kristy Gillespie

“Even In Death”

Even in Death by Kristy Gillespie

26 responses

  1. Hi Kristy, it was great meeting you and getting to enjoy your interview with the fabulous Nonnie!! I write short and neat too.

    Like

    1. It’s not the length of the book that counts! LOL ;0

      Like

  2. another great on the shelf, nonnie and kristy! fun interview!

    Like

  3. Can I just say how much I appreciate the fact that you had one word answers part of the time? I just did an interview on a blog somewhere and when I read it, it felt really skeleton because I was pretty bare bones. (I’m married to an introvert. I’ve learned to tone down the small talk 🙂

    Loved this interview! Now I want to go eat mint chocolate chip ice cream while curling up with your collection of short stories. (If I took a snapshot of my list, it would show you on it.)

    Also, I’m in love with this website! What a fun, church-like shelf to sit on.

    Like

    1. Oh, Katie…if you love us, you should JOIN US! Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

    2. Katie, you def need to join!!! 😉 XOXO

      Like

  4. Great interview with an awesome guest. ⭐
    Looking forward to more exciting reads, Kristy. 🙂

    Like

    1. Once again, you rock, Karen! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. […] Recently I had the opportunity to be interviewed by Nonnie Jules and the interview went live today: https://ravereviewsbynonniejules.wordpress.com/2014/08/28/kristy-f-gillespie-in-whos-on-the-shelf-wit… […]

    Like

  6. I think that was awesome too. Sometimes short answers say more than long ones. I like the way she was able to maneuver her way through. Really good style.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much! 😉

      Like

  7. Again, so much fun–and yes, I’m in favor of brevity as well. Kristy, enjoyed learning more about you and your writing. Nonnie, you couldn’t conduct a bad interview if you tried!

    Like

    1. Linda, that was very sweet of you to say. (So, do you think I ought to “throw” a few of ’em, so as not to look so good at this ALL THE TIME?) LOL

      Like

      1. Nah…you set the tone, Nonnie. Don’t change your style!

        Like

    2. Thanks, Linda 😉 And thank you, Nonnie, YOU ROCK!!!

      Like

  8. Kristy, I loved your “On The Shelf” interview with Nonnie.

    Like

  9. Reblogged this on Be My Guest and commented:
    Congratulations Kristy for your opportunity to sit on the shelf.

    Like

  10. Kristy is a terrific author and person. Thanks for having her on the shelf. Nice interview

    Like

    1. Aww, thanks John! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  11. What a fascinating interview! Learning about the % tag has completely changed my life… 😀

    Like

    1. Ha! Mine too 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  12. harmonykentonline | Reply

    Great interview! And yes, not as wordy as some … until you go to the video!!! LOL That’s … err … certainly … err … wordy!! Brilliant! 🙂

    Like

    1. Ha! Thanks Harmony 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

