Joy Nwosu Lo-Bamijoko in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?”


Hello and welcome to “WHO’S ON THE SHELF?” with yours truly, Nonnie Jules!  Since we are a book club, you know we had to offer something that included a book shelf.  A lot of interviews merely cover an author’s work or an individual’s career stories.  Here on this “SHELF,”  we get down and dirty and ask the questions no other interviewer dare ask.  We ask the questions that you want to open up a book and find the answers to on your favorite authors and fellow book club members, but no one has dared to cover them.  WE get personal!  Because when you sit on the RRBC “SHELF,” YOU are an open book!

Today we have a very special guest on the SHELF with us.  Joy is one of our VIP members, that means she’s UBER-SUPPORTIVE, and if you’re a VIP, you get invited to our exclusive VIP Lounge.  Once a month, a random VIP member receives a special gift from the club, and since Joy sent me a letter explaining why she should be a guest on THE SHELF, what better gift to give her! (If you’d like to be a guest on THE SHELF, email me at RaveReviewsPresident@gmail.com and tell me why you should be).

100_0142

NJ:  Before we get started, how does the “shelf” feel to you?  Is it comfy?

Joy:  Very comfy. Thank you Nonnie. I had to move to the hard seat, best for my back.

NJ:  That’s fine.  I want you to be comfortable.  Let’s start by confirming whether or not your author name is your birth name or a pen name?

Joy:  My author name is a combination of my maiden name and my married name. That is why it is that long. It could be longer, but I have omitted a couple more names. The full name would be Joy Ifeoma Nroli Nwosu Lo-Bamijoko.

NJ:  Well, Joy, let me be the first to thank you for shortening that looooooooooooooong name!  Tell us where you were born?  Do you still live there now?  If not, what city and state are you calling home these days?

Joy:  I was born, and grew up in Enugu, Nigeria, a beautiful town on the foot of the hill, even though the name implies that the town is on top of the hill.  At 18, I left Enugu for Rome, Italy, and spent ten years in Rome, studying and waiting out the end of the then civil war in Nigeria. I returned to Lagos, Nigeria, in 1972, and spent three years working as a Radio producer, and twenty-three years as a university teacher. I migrated to New Jersey, USA  in 1996, and taught K-12 for ten years. I retired in 2008 and since then have  lived between Lagos, New Jersey and Los Angeles, USA.

NJ:  WOW!  You’ve lived all over the world, literally….and you know what, you look like a school teacher!  So, tell us, are you married or single?

Joy:  Fortunately separated for over twenty years. My husband, a Moslem refused to divorce me, and I, a Catholic, refused to take the initiative. So we have an impasse.

NJ:  You said Moslem, I do know that you guys use that version in Nigeria as opposed to Muslim.  Hmmmm…interesting fact.  Now back to this husband situation, so you’re still married then?  Now, Joy…I don’t want to see you on any internet dating sites, OK? You look mighty comfy and happy behind that Apple keyboard up there.  Kids or no?  If yes, how many?  Sons or Daughters?

Joy:  I always tell people that I have three kids, and I do. One, my daughter, is biological, and the others, a boy and a girl were inherited. In my culture, we can inherit orphaned kids from within the family. This is how I came to inherit my late brother’s son, and my late sister’s daughter.

NJ:  Now, I like that about your culture.  That is wonderful.  Do you have a favorite child?  And be honest…I’m sure they’re not reading this interview…

Joy:  I will not lie. I love them all, but I have a special spot for my biological daughter.

NJ:  FINALLY!  Somebody up on this darned shelf, speaks the truth!!!!!!  Thanks for that, Joy…but even though I loved you speaking the truth, you are not supposed to have any favorites being a mommy, but since the others are really your niece and nephew, you’re OK with that truth.

NJ:  Pets?  What kind?

Joy:  I am a cat lover, being a Leo. The last time I can remember, I had three of them named, Calico, Frisky, and Wolverine respectively. I don’t keep pets anymore, because of my moving around so often.

NJ:  Why do you move around so often, Joy.

Joy:  I am just a restless soul, Nonnie.  I started travelling when I was quite young and I’m still travelling.

NJ:  Well, I guess the good thing about that is, it lets everyone know you’re not dead, right?  When you get older and you sit still for so long, that’s how people tend to think of you…as a breathing corpse.  Good for you!  We want to know all about you so now we’re getting really (randomly) personal.  You can learn a lot about someone just knowing their favorite food, so what’s yours?

Joy:  When I want to give myself a treat, I go for Fufu. Fufu is made from all kinds of flour paste: rice, semolina, wheat, corn, or oats, and eaten with a variety of soups. I like oat fufu with egusi or okra soup best.

NJ:  OK, you’re throwing out some words and names of stuff that I’m not going to even BEGIN to ask what they are.  We know you have a favorite color and judging from the pics on the wall behind you, and the darling babies in those pics, all in red and black, I’m going to shoot for the combo of red and black.  Am I right?

Joy: Nope.  It’s Blue. It is so calming

NJ:  {Clearly uncomfortable because Joy proved her wrong PUBLICLY}.  Uh, Joy…the next time I’m wrong about something, i’m gonna need you to pretend as if I’m right.  Just in public, you know…I have a reputation for NEVER being wrong and for being one of the smartest folks around. I guess my people didn’t send you THAT memo before you made it to the shelf.  Heads will roll when this interview is over.   Joy, if you’re done correcting me, would you like to share your favorite sport with us?

Joy:  I love taking long walks very early in the mornings. I like inhaling that early morning breeze, and feeling it on my face. Very refreshing.

NJ:  {Here we go again.  Another guest who isn’t listening to me.  Well, she seems to be in her own world with that response, so I’m going to let it go.  Maybe I’ll get down from this shelf early today}.  What’s your favorite TV Show?

Joy:  Downton Abbey for sure.  I am waiting for the new season of the Downton Abbey to begin in January. I love other shows too, which I will not mention because you asked for one, but my favorites are usually English dramas.

NJ:  Thanks for following THAT one question rule, Joy, and for the record, I like English reality.  I can’t have it in my real world, all the catty-ness and fighting and backstabbing, so I have to get it somewhere.  Actually, I’m trying to hurry through this interview so I can watch a replay of one of my Housewives shows AND catch SCANDAL right after.  Do you have a favorite Actress/Actor?

Joy:  George Clooney was my favorite, but he is now taken.  Still, I like the man, his suaveness, and kind heart.

NJ:  I loved him, too!  I was highly disappointed to find out that he would no longer be able to serve as the lover in my dreams, and honey, I loved that man in my dreams!  His new wife better watch her back!  Couch potato or workout nut? Be honest ☺

Joy:  I would say couch potato. After my walks in the mornings, I sit a lot working on my lap top. My doctor tells me that I must sit less, as if I don’t know that.

NJ:  Joy, listen to the doctor, please.  When we are writers, sitting is the worst part of the job, so we must make it a priority to get up off our tushes and exercise more.  It keeps us healthy.  That, and the fact that it keeps our butts from spreading, too. Share with us your biggest pet peeve that makes you want to stomach-punch somebody?: (For the record, NJ does not condone violence but she does believe in being honest so she has to admit that there are times when she feels like some friendly stomach-punching is a little necessary).

Joy:  I cannot stand discrimination of any type. I come from a culture where women are relegated to the background, and I have spent my life fighting it.

NJ:   I’m with you there.  Joy, I must admit, I wouldn’t last one day in your culture.  My hubby always says that if we’re ever on a plane and it’s hi-jacked, I’m gonna be the first one to get hit in the mouth with the barrel of the hi-jacker’s gun.  I don’t know when to be quiet but I surely won’t have a man telling me when I should be.  It’s that confrontational bone I inherited from my grandmother, I suppose.  Don’t like anyone bossing me around.  So, are you neat or messy?

Joy:  I am neat. I do not like clutter.

NJ:  Joy, I knew there was some reason I liked you!  Me, too!  I think that all messy folks (including my hubby and oldest daughter) should be relegated to their own island with no way to get off!  Facebook or Twitter?

Joy:  I prefer Twitter, it is easier to use. I find FaceBook very invasive.

NJ:  I find Facebook to be “something.”  And I have another name for it, but I’m not gonna say it here, because all my church-going friends read my interviews sometimes.  Name two of the most supportive people you’ve met on either Facebook or Twitter? Hurry and tell us so we can become their friend.

Joy:  I have two friends on FB. Enitan Doherty-Mason follows my blogs and reacts to them regularly. Pete Vanlaw and I read and comment on one another’s FB posts.

NJ:  Oh, OK.  They are names I’m not familiar with so you must invite them to join us here.  Nonnie Jules or Wonderwoman? Be honest ☺

Joy:  You really want to know?!  You of course, Nonnie. You were right, you are Wonderwoman.

NJ:  Well, Joy, in all honesty, I’m not the one who refers to me as Wonderwoman, it’s that Team of mine, but thank you so much for being so kind. My Team is the  WonderTeam!  Let’s move on.  Joy, everyone knows the names Mark Twain and Stephen King, but how about you give us two names of some INDIE authors that you favor

Joy:  The Indie authors I know are the ones I met through our great #RRBC.  I have met quite a few, but you said to name only two, so here goes. For now, Rhani D’Chae, and Tamie Dearan.

NJ:  Oh, I’m so glad they’re from the club!  We do have awesome members, don’t we?  And I must say, that I am in love with SHADOW OF THE DRILL!  That Rhani D’Chae is a phenomenal storyteller!  Why don’t you tell us what it is about them that you’ve come to like…

Joy:  Rhani blew my mind with her “Shadow of the Drill” story, and the beauty of the story telling, and Tamie wrote a very entertaining romance. I love romances, and that was the best I have read so far.

NJ:  OK, I’m glad you got to experience what I did with the SHADOW!  Now, name two favorite INDIE books that you’ve read and enjoyed.

Joy:  Apart from the two I have already mentioned, I will not forget the deliciously good story of “Jazz Baby” by Beem Weeks, and the wickedly horrifying story of “Daydreams Daughter, Nightmare’s Friend” by Nonnie Jules.

NJ:  I speak for myself and Beem in thanking you for saying to the world that you took the time to read and also enjoyed our books.  THANK YOU!  Joy, you’re doing pretty good in sticking to just my questions, so name one good INDIE book you read that was so good you wished the entire world would read it.

Joy:  Of all the ones I have already mentioned, I will root for “Shadow of the Drill.”

NJ:  {You know that uncomfortable moment when you are nominated for an award but your best friend gets it instead?  I’m feeling that right now since she had the nerve to not name MY book, right here in my face!  She’s about to get “accidentally”  bumped a little closer to the edge of this shelf}.  What was so great about THAT book?

Joy:  It was just so well written,  and the story gave an insight into the dark side of our world, which we hear about, but which we know very little about.

NJ:  You know, Joy…even though you didn’t name MY book, I’m going to have to agree with you about SHADOW OF THE DRILL and that’s because, you are so on the mark about that book. IT WAS ONE OF THE MOST WELL-WRITTEN BOOKS I’VE EVER READ!  After you read books, do you post reviews?

Joy:  I do now, since I started publishing my own books. I have since gone back and started reviewing books I read before which I did not review.

NJ:  That is very kind of you.  I think there are quite a few of us who had never written a review before we became authors and once we realized the importance of them, we changed our habits.  I’m hoping now that you’ve shared what you’ve done, others will follow your lead and go back and post reviews on past books they’ve read.  What do you think readers should base their reviews on?

Joy:  I like a good and entertaining story, told well. My limits for typos or errors in a story is usually three, beyond that, I will still enjoy a good story, but will penalize it in my rating for the many typos or errors.

NJ:  Oh my, I thought I was a harsh critic!  Are you one of those who are afraid to be honest in their reviews lest the author gets upset with you, or is honesty your best policy, especially in reviews?

Joy:  Not at all. I will always give a hint in my reviews if I find something wrong with the read. Those hints usually determine the way I rate the books. I always try to find something good to say about any book I read whether I rate them high or not.

NJ:  Have you read any poorly written books lately?

Joy:  Unfortunately yes. One in particular was so full of errors, I nearly did not finish it.

NJ:   Where’s your review so I can go and check it out?  LOL.  No, seriously.

Joy:      Like I said, I still tried to find something good to say about the book after my grouse with the errors I found. I would rather give you a link to one of my good reviews. 

NJ:  {NJ:  When I saw that link, for a minute there I thought Joy had REALLY given me a link to a bad review!  LOL}  How long have you been writing?

Joy:  I wrote and published my first two books in the Italian language when I was in Italy. That was over forty years ago. Back in Nigeria, I wrote regularly for newspapers and magazines. I started writing again in earnest, with my first book in English in 2008. I have not stopped writing since then.

NJ:  What books have you written?

Joy:  My Italian books are not available here, and they are actually out of print, but one of them is now being re-printed. Apart from those two, I have two more books; “Legend of the Walking Dead: Igbo Mythologies,” and “Mirror of Our Lives: Voices of Four Igbo Women.”

Legend of the Walking Dead by Joy Nwosu Lo-Bamijoko

Mirror of Our Lives by Joy Lo-Bamijoko

NJ:  I love those titles.  Which one do you think is the best?

Joy:  The two books are in two different genres, and I like them both.

NJ:  Well, it seems the books fared better than your “favorite” kid question.  HaHaHa!  Do you have a blog or website?

Joy:  Yes, I always invite guests to visit my blog at: jinlobify.com, and my websites are:

http://sbprabooks.com/JoyNwosuLoBamijoko/

http://sbpra.com/joylobamijoko/

NJ:  We will have to go check those out and Follow your blogs and sites.  Name three great online resources or organizations that every author should belong to

Joy:  Rave Reviews Book Club of course. I am also a member of the GR, (I better abbreviate it), but I haven’t seen the benefits yet.

NJ:  I’m glad you only used the initials.  Someone obviously sent you that memo on how I feel about that site.  You say you haven’t seen the benefits yet?  Well, have you noticed any profanity, book/author bashing, incredible vileness over there?  Well, you’ve seen the benefits.  Which online resource or organization has helped you as an author the most?

Joy:  Again, Rave Review Book Club, no other

NJ:  So happy to hear you say that.  I’m sure my Team appreciates it.  How is RRBC helping you?

Joy:  To begin with, since I joined #RRBC, my followers have increased on Twitter, as well as on all other online social sites. And here I am sitting on the shelf!   My blog has also been visited several times even by non members of our club. The support I receive has been awesome! Do I continue?

NJ:  No, I think we get the gist of what you’re trying to say.  You absolutely LOVE Rave Reviews Book Club!  Now tell us in one word what you really think of the club…

Joy:  Fantastico!

NJ:  Have you come across any other online entities like it?

Joy:  Nada!

NJ:  Would you recommend RRBC to your friends and family?

Joy:  Yes. I don’t have friends or family members who are authors, but when I do, I will enlist them into our #RRBC.

NJ:  Oh, Joy…they don’t have to be Authors to belong to this club.  Our membership is open to anyone willing to adhere to the Policies and Procedures of the club.  So, keep that in mind and refer your friends who are readers!  This shelf is getting hard on my hiney now, so we’re going to wrap this interview up.  Any final words?

Joy:  Just a few words. This experience, of sitting on the shelf, has been extraordinary for me.  #RRBC has a way of making members feel real good. Moreover, the way it allows members to participate in every activity, gives one a sense of belonging, and the shelf is a wonderful avenue for getting to know ourselves better. Thank you, Nonnie for giving me this opportunity, and thank you great members of our great #RRBC for allowing me to share more of me with you today. May more of us have a chance to sit on it, too, so that we can get to know more of us better. Thank you.

NJ:  Thank you so much for hanging out on THE SHELF with us today, Joy!  You are truly a joy to know.  You have made our interview on the SHELF today pretty interesting…I’m glad you didn’t, you know, accidentally fall off or bump your head against the tree branch or anything like that.  To my guests, please pick up a copy of one of Joy’s books to show her how happy we are that she took the time to share with us today {even though she liked Rhani D’Chae’s book better than mine!…but that’s OK…..*Smiles*}

Have you joined Rave Reviews Book Club yet?  Well, here’s your chance!  And since Joy was on the “SHELF” today, tell them she sent you.  Make it a great day, my friends, or not.  The choice is yours!   We’ll see you next week, right here on the SHELF” with a ANOTHER INTERESTING GUEST!!

47 responses

  1. Unfortunately I missed the first interview with Joy, so it was great to be able to catch up. These discussions give us an otherwise unknown insight into the lives and personalities of other members, providing a much closer relationship for us all. Great to meet you Joy and hear about your fascinating life.

    Like

  2. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    Going back and reading your interview again is just like I never read it. It was very entertaining and informative. Nice to see you again Joy on the shelf. Nice interview Nonnie.

    Like

  3. Hi Joy,
    It was a pleasure to get to know a little bit about you in this interview. I have just joined RRBC and reading your interview made me smile because I love Italy and hope to spend the last years of my life in Southern Italy. I am already learning Italian and looking forward to the move.

    I haven’t read any of your books yet but I will. Like you, I am quite active and travel a lot.
    Wishing you all the best.
    Shalom aleichem,
    Patricia

    Hi Nonnie,
    Thank you for presenting Joy. This was a very nice highlight for me and also encouraging to get to know her.
    All the best and have a great weekend.
    Shalom aleichem,
    Patricia

    Like

  4. Enjoyed the interview the second time as much as the first! Thank you for sharing about yourself, Joy and thank you, Nonnie for putting her in the spotlight!

    Like

  5. Reblogged this on RAVE REVIEWS BY NONNIE JULES and commented:

    Joy was recently a “SPOTLIGHT” AUTHOR and since she had already visited my shelf, we didn’t do another sit-down interview BUT, so we are re-blogging her earlier interview. Take a stroll down memory lane, into the mind of our dear, sweet Joy Nwosu Lo-Bamijoko! Enjoy!

    Like

    1. Thank you Nonnie. The interview is still fresh, and I am honored.😀

      Like

  6. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    I never saw this photo with me in it until the wedding. That’s me on left and my son on the right. I don’t remember taking the picture. Strange!

    Like

  7. What a fascinating and entertaining interview. Joy has an amazing personality! What an interesting life she’s lived!

    Like

  8. Brilliant. I really enjoyed this interview – thank you, Joy and Nonnie!

    Like

  9. Great interview! I For me, of course, what cracked me up was the image of Nonnie during the hijacking:

    Hijacker: “Nobody move, I’m taking over this plane!”

    Nonnie: “What’s that nonsense I hear? Sit back down right now, young man! Have your parents taught you nothing?” (mumbles) “No wonder, they’ve probably never heard of my book” (louder) “You sit down or I’m coming right there, you hear me?”

    (Hijacker sits down, muttering) “Of all the flights, I had to get the one with the lady who thinks she’s Wonder Woman”

    Like

    1. Hi Nicholas, thank God I missed that flight.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Nich, I am on the floor howling at this one! I like your ending better, my husband says I’m so confrontational and bold, he swears on the ending with me being hit in the mouth with the barrel of the gun (as they do in the movies). Hmmmm, makes me think, is he secretly wishing on THAT particular ending? I mean, it would be quieter for him at home. -______-

      Liked by 1 person

    3. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

      This is just too funny for words. I started laughing so hard. Nich you made my day and Nonnie your comeback answer is a scream. Don’t you all have any work to do besides hijacking planes? lol

      Like

  10. Fantastic, thank you!

    Like

  11. I so enjoyed this interview – thank you, Joy and Nonnie! Joy, you’ve lived all over! It was fascinating to learn more about you. Congrats on the interview and best wishes. xoxo 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you Danica, very kind of you.

      Like

  12. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    Joy, it was a joy learning about your fascinating life. What an interesting story you have. Congratulations on winning a place on the shelf. Nice interview.

    Like

    1. Thank you Shirley. I am really blest to be getting so much support.

      Like

  13. Each time I read an interview with Nonnie, I swear it’s my favorite–until the next time!! This was a great one–made me laugh out loud, and I feel I really got to know Joy, whom I admire immensely! Joy, you’ve led a life most of us just dream about!! Nonnie, you were at your best as a reviewer and humorist–no dull moments here.

    Like

    1. Thank you Micki. You are right. Nonnie and I really had fun there. My daughter read it and her comment was,”She is funny.”

      Like

  14. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    Oh I can’t wait to get on my smart phone to read this!

    *Shirley Harris-Slaughter*

    Like

    1. I am sure Shirley that you will have as much fun as we had.

      Like

  15. Another great interview! Shared.🙂

    Like

  16. Such interesting members in our club! Joy is a joy! Thanks for putting her on the shelf, Nonnie! xo

    Like

    1. Thanks Rea. We had fun.

      Like

  17. Great interview Nonnie and Joy! I look forward to these interviews and learning about my fellow club members.

    Like

    1. Me too Kathryn. It is a great way to get acquainted. Thank you.

      Like

  18. Reblogged this on Archer's Aim and commented:
    Enjoy the shelf, Joy! Re-blogging on Archer’s Aim.

    Like

    1. Thank you PHS, I will check you out there.

      Like

  19. I am just in love with Joy! She is so adorable and sweet, look at her face…how could you not love a face like that! I see nothing but “PURE JOY” and “HAPPY” in her eyes! Thanks for being one of my most favorite guests thus far (even though you took a few wrong turns and almost had a little “accident”!🙂 Awwww, but you know, stuff happens!

    Like

    1. Thank you Nonnie. You can never know what “PURE JOY” you have given me with this opportunity on the shelf. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

      Like

  20. Another great Who’s On the Shelf with a totally fascinating guest! Joy, your two books have just been added to my TBR list. Thank you both, Nonnie and Joy for a wonderful time reading your interview this morning.

    Like

    1. Thank you Carol. We really had fun, Nonnie and I. Thank you for your support.

      Like

  21. Great interview, Joy. You’ve led a full and interesting life. I also loved Shadow of the Drill and Daydreams Daughter, Nightmare’s Friend. Jazz Baby is on my TBR.

    Like

    1. Thanks Michelle. I am sure you will love Jazz Baby too.

      Like

  22. harmonykentonline | Reply

    What a great interview, Joy! It is great to get to know more about you🙂 Very best of luck in all that you do.

    Like

    1. Thank you Harmony. The Shelf is a great place to know ourselves better.

      Like

  23. Great to read my first interview, I felt I knew Joy by the end.

    Like

    1. Thank you Charles. That’s what the shelf does for us, helps us know ourselves better.

      Like

  24. Joy, that was so much fun to read. What a life you’ve lived! I’m so jeslous. Lol “Legend” is on my TBR list, & am looking forward to reading it. Thank you so much for the mention, & for the wonderful words about #Shadow. I’m so glad that you enjoyed my book. I’m going to find you on fb & shoot you a friend request. Happy weekend to you and Nonnie both. *Hugs*

    Like

    1. Thank you Rhani, and thanks for the support. I meant everything I said about #Shadow.

      Like

      1. Thank you, Joy. You’re so awesome!

        Like

  25. What a wonderful interview!! It was so nice learning more about you, Joy. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks Marlena. That’s what the shelf is for.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,005 other followers

