Ronesa Aveela in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?”


Hello and welcome to “WHO’S ON THE SHELF?” with yours truly, Nonnie Jules!  Since we are a book club, you know we had to offer something that included a book shelf.  A lot of interviews merely cover an author’s work or an individual’s career stories.  Here on this “SHELF,”  we get down and dirty and ask the questions no other interviewer dare ask.  We ask the questions that you want to open up a book and find the answers to on your favorite authors and fellow book club members, but no one has dared to cover them.  WE get personal!  Because when you sit on the RRBC “SHELF,” YOU are an open book!

Today I have with me on the “SHELF” our Current “SPOTLIGHT” Author, Ronesa Aveela!!! 

Face_of_Ronesa

NJ:  Before we get started, how does the “shelf” feel to you?  Is it comfy?

Rebecca:  Yes, but it’s a little scary sitting here for the world to see.

NJ:  Really?  Oh, honey, I love being way up here for the world to see!!  Let’s start by confirming whether or not your author name is your birth name or a pen name?  I mean, if you’re not too uncomfortable to answer -__________-

Rebecca:  It’s a pen name, but Rebecca is what my mother wanted to name me. There’s a story behind why she didn’t get to, but I won’t bore you with that, but I will tell you that neither Rebecca OR Ronesa are my birth names!

NJ:  Huh?  Guys, please ask R&R that question after the show.  We only have an hour here.   Tell us where you were born?  Do you still live there now?  If not, what city and state are you calling home these days?

Rebecca: I was born in New Hampshire. The old hospital where I was  born, Emerson Hospital, is now part of Keene State College.  Guess that’s why I like learning. I don’t live in the same home town that I grew up in, but it’s in the same county. I’m still in NH, the only state with no state income tax or sales tax.

NJ:  Married or single?

Rebecca: Happily single. Never married.

NJ:  Kids or no?  If yes, how many?  Sons or Daughters?

Rebecca:  No children. My youngest sister lived with me for quite a while, so I had her children around. They were plenty fun. I didn’t need my own.

NJ:  So, which of your niece and nephews, was your favorite? (And be honest…I’m sure they’re not reading this interview):

Rebecca: In regards to my niece/nephews. The oldest boy was probably my favorite, mainly because his mother had him when she was quite young. I practically was his mother at times.

NJ:  Pets?  What kind?

Rebecca: Currently no pets. I live on a busy highway. But my family had plenty of pets while I was growing up. Cats, dogs, rabbits, chickens, birds, a turtle, and even a white rat.

NJ:  What’s your favorite food?

Rebecca: Turkey soup.

NJ:  What’s your favorite color?

Rebecca: Blue.

NJ:  Favorite sport?

Rebecca: I’m not a sports fan, but when I was younger, my mother and I would watch the Red Sox (baseball).

NJ:  Favorite TV Show?

Rebecca: I have three that I watch. Once Upon a Time. Vampire Diaries, and its spinoff, The Originals.

NJ:  Favorite Actress/Actor?

Rebecca: Bette Davis. She was just so sassy!

NJ:  Oh, I loved Bette, too!  She was phenomenal!  When that woman played Baby Jane, I could have died and gone to heaven, she was so good at it!  OK, couch potato or workout nut? Be honest.

Rebecca: Couch potato. Or computer potato. All I do these days is sit at my computer, both for work and writing-related activities.

NJ:  Biggest pet peeve that makes you want to stomach-punch somebody?: (For the record, NJ does not condone violence but she does believe in being honest so she has to admit that there are times when she feels like some friendly stomach-punching is a little necessary).

Rebecca:  Arrogant know-it-alls who enjoying making others squirm when they do or say something wrong.

NJ:  Oh, you met her, too, huh?  Hahaha.  OK, so tell us, are you neat or messy?

Rebecca: Definitely messy. I like to clean up my work space after a project has been completed, though.

NJ:  Glad you said you liked to clean up, though.  I was about to suggest you be banned to that island!  Have you heard of it?  The one for all the messy folks?  Yes, if you should ever end up there, say hi to my hubby and oldest daughter.  Facebook or Twitter?

Rebecca: I understand Twitter better, but I think Facebook offers more depth to anything you want to push out to your fans/friends.

NJ:  Hmmm, interesting.  I tend to favor Twitter more.  Name two of the most supportive people you’ve met on either Facebook or Twitter? Hurry and tell us so we can become their friend.

Rebecca:  Nonnie and her team, and Alex Cabal (owner of Scribophile).

NJ:  Well, that was the sweetest thing to say!  Thanks, Ronesa!  Now, here’s the life or death question, meaning, if you answer incorrectly, you could be met with an untimely “accidental”/potentially fatal fall from this very high shelf. -________-  Nonnie Jules or Wonder Woman? Be honest.

Rebecca: Wonder Woman has had her 15 minutes of fame; she’s old news. Nonnie Jules is the new trend.

NJ:  Whew!  You hesitated too long, you had me worried there for a minute.  That’s why I kept inching closer and closer to you.  Didn’t mean to frighten you (as I scoot back down on the shelf).  So, everyone knows the names Mark Twain and Stephen King but how about you give us two names of some INDIE authors that you favor:

Rebecca: RRBC’s, Harmony Kent is one. And another one I discovered on GR {we don’t say the full name of this entity here} is Lasa Limpin.

NJ:  What is it about them that you’ve come to like?

Rebecca: I like stories that are different from plots you’ve read before. Both of these authors have unique tales to tell and a distinctive voice, and great descriptions.

NJ: I’m sure Harmony will be happy to hear this from you.  She is a gem, you know.  Name two favorite INDIE books that you’ve read:

Rebecca: Well, I guess the books from the above authors: The Glade (Harmony) and Uplanded (Lasa).

NJ:  ONE good INDIE book you read that was so good you wished the entire world would read it…

Rebecca: I’d like them to read mine, but I probably can’t say that, so let me look at my list. I’ve read so many great stories lately. There’s a book that’s still being written that I find intriguing. It’s called “McGuffy’s Law.”

NJ:  Uh, Ronesa, if it’s still being written, how did you read it?  (NJ:  Might she be a mind-book reader?)  But, OK, tell us what was so great about it?

Rebecca:  It’s a spiritual tale about puppies and God’s warriors. The puppies choose their owners. It’s not your typical fast-paced novel, but it shows how the puppies help their chosen owners.

NJ:  OK, sounds odd, but hey, different strokes for different folks, right?  After you read books, do you post reviews?

Rebecca:  Always.

NJ:  That’s awesome to hear!  Good for you!  What do you think readers should base their reviews on?

Rebecca:  If you’re a writer yourself, I think you should write a review looking at the book as both a writer AND a reader. With the writer’s eye, you are looking at the structure of the story, grammatical errors, punctuation problems, POV, and other issues. But first and foremost, you should look at it as non-writers look at it, people who are looking for good stories. Is it interesting? Is it a story worth telling? But, I find I cannot give someone five stars if their book has an overabundance of errors or is poorly written, no matter how great the story is.

NJ:  I’m with you there.  Poorly written and too many typos, which I call hiccups, makes for an uncomfortable read as well as a not-so-easy read.  I want my reads to be enjoyable and I want them to flow smoothly.  Are you one of those who are afraid to be honest in their reviews lest the author gets upset with you, or is honesty your best policy, especially in reviews?

Rebecca: I try to be honest, but also kind, although recipients who receive any negative feedback may not think so. It’s not that I’m afraid they’ll be upset with me but I don’t want to trash anyone’s hard work. There is always something nice you can say. But if you don’t point out problems, too, you won’t be credible as a reviewer and the author can’t grow. But as an author myself, I also now know how much work goes into writing, so I don’t always point out things that I would have if I were critiquing the novel. I would expect people to be honest reviewing mine, too. It may not be a book everyone will enjoy.

NJ:  Ronesa, have you read any poorly written books lately?

Rebecca: I started one or two that I couldn’t finish.

NJ:  Where’s your review so I can go and check it out?  LOL,  No, seriously.

Rebecca: If I ever DID make it through terrible books, I don’t think I would post a review. If I could contact the author, I might make some suggestions for places he or she could go to make improvements.

NJ:  Oh, so you’re not telling?  OK.  Are you an author, Ronesa?

Rebecca: Yes! First book was published in July of this year. So exciting.

NJ:  Which personality published?  Rebecca or Ronesa?  LOL, I’m just teasing…but the more that I think about it, I’m not. -_________-  How long have you been writing?

Rebecca: I wrote my first story in high school, many years ago. I have one that I’ve dabbled with off and on, but I didn’t really get into writing seriously until about two years ago when my friend asked me to help her with her story.

NJ:  What books have you written?

Rebecca:  “Mystical Emona: Soul’s Journey” is the first book in a series of three (and maybe even a couple prequels), but each can be read as a separate story. I hate to leave the reader hanging. Only the first chapter of the second is written. We took a break and started writing a non-fiction one about the rituals and customs in “Mystical Emona,” digging deeper into the ancient Thracian origins. That one will be out around December.

NJ:  Do you have a blog or website?

Rebecca: Yes: http://mysticalemona.com/

NJ:  Name three great online resources or organizations that every author should belong to:

Rebecca: In order of when I came across them. 1) Scribophile.com is a writer’s group. I found this after a publisher kindly rejected “Mystical Emona” and provided feedback from their readers. They suggested finding other readers, so I came across this group. It changed my life as a writer. I put “Mystical Emona” through three major rewrites from the suggestions people gave me, and I’ve made the most wonderful friends for life. (Look me up if you join!) 2) Rave Reviews Book Club!  I found this when we were close to publishing. (Thank you, Kathryn Treat, for the invitation!) You need reviews, right? Well, then I found out it was more than just getting reviews. Great support here, too!  3) GR. Another place you can get reviews, and also a way to get your novel visible to others.

NJ:  Which online resource or organization has helped you as an author the most?

Rebecca:  As far as helping with my writing, I have to say Scribophile, but I also see how supportive RRBC  is.

{Sounds of woman screaming for help} woman-falling-down

NJ:  OH, RONESA!  I’M SO SORRY! I’VE NO IDEA HOW THAT HAPPENED!  HERE, LET ME HELP YOU UP.  Are you OK?  Good, well let’s continue.   How were you helped by that OTHER organization?  {NJ mutters under her breath:  You know the one that almost got you killed a moment ago  -__________-}

Rebecca:  Scribophile really helped me hone my writing skills—all those subtle POV slips you are unaware of, what filters are and how to eliminate them, action vs. dialog tags, and so much more. Now, the great support continues here at RRBC. Taking me under your wing and shouting out to the world.

NJ:  Since you’re sitting on the SHELF, you’re obviously a Rave Reviews Book Club member, so what do you think of the club?

Rebecca:  Like writing, it’s a lot of work. But pleasant work. You all are such busy little ants preparing for success. You all work together great as a team.

NJ:  Ronesa, you are so right on all counts.  We are as busy as an army of ants, although our army (Governing Board) is a lot smaller.  Have you come across any other online entities like RRBC?

Rebecca: No. And I was looking for a while for a place to cuddle up and get comfortable.

NJ:  And then you found us?  How sweet.  Would you recommend RRBC to your friends and family?

Rebecca: Yes. Well. Most of my family and friends don’t read and write (novels). But I’ve met plenty of people in the writing world who I’ve encouraged to join.

NJ:  This shelf is getting hard on my hiney, so we’re going to wrap this interview up.  Any final words?

Rebecca: I just want to let you know how honored I am to have been selected. You have a lot of supportive people out there.

NJ:  Thank you so much for joining us here today, Ronesa!  That was an enjoyable interview until your little mishap?  Are you sure you’re OK?  {NJ doesn’t want any lawsuits or anything like that.  Her shelf isn’t fully insured yet}.  You have made our interview on the SHELF today, a quick one, but a most pleasant one!  To my guests, please support Ronesa by picking up a copy of her book, MYSTICAL EMONA:  SOUL’S JOURNEY, with its brand new cover!  You can also support Ronesa  by visiting her blog stops on her tour which ends on Saturday.  You can find the tour line up here.  Lastly, I’m sorry for the confusion.  Ronesa asked to be called  Ronesa, then she referred to herself as Rebecca the entire interview. {Shaking my head}.  Just know, Ronesa and Rebecca are one and the same.  

MysticalEmona_BookCover

Have you joined Rave Reviews Book Club yet?  Well, here’s your chance!  And since Ronesa was on the “SHELF” today, tell them she sent you.  Make it a great day, my friends.  We’ll see you next week, right here on the SHELF”!!

30 responses

  1. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    Great interview. Love the pic of the screaming woman. Congratulations Rebecca for making it on the shelf.

    Like

  2. Enjoyable interview, Rebecca–you’ve led an interesting life. I cracked up laughing when you ah . . . almost fell? off the shelf. We’ve go to remember not to sit toooooo close to Nonnie lol. Thanks for lighting up my day.

    Like

    1. It was a bit scary… Perhaps others on the shelf will be more guarded about their answers from now on… 🙂

      Like

  3. Once again, another awesome interview, Nonnie! By the way, Rebecca/Ronesa, it wouldn’t surprise me if our animal companions select us – not the other way around! What I know for sure is how we treat animals can often be a direct reflection on how we treat our fellow humans, so I always pay attention to how folks care for their pets. 🙂 I truly enjoyed our SPOTLIGHT Chat yesterday, R/R. Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us a little more about yourself and your writing, and my very best wishes for your continued success. xoxo 🙂

    Like

    1. Yup, pets are definitely the choosers and bosses. 🙂
      The chat was fun. I feel part of this community now. R/R is going to need some R&R after this week is over, though.

      Like

  4. brilliant interview with Rebecca. Good review of books.

    Like

  5. Inspiring interview with Rebecca. Great insight into reviewing books. All the best

    Like

  6. another fun interview, nonnie! good work, R/R!

    Like

  7. Thanks for the interview, Nonnie. And thanks everyone for the comments. I have to say it was rather fun. 🙂

    Like

    1. Rebecca/Ronesa, are you OK? I’m still not sure how you “slipped” over that ledge? Thank goodness the wind wasn’t blowing strong because if we weren’t sure of who you were before (with all these names, and all), we would have surely known you then! LOL Glad you had fun!

      Like

      1. I had to go to bed early. All recovered now. 🙂 Thanks. It was fun.

        Like

  8. What a fun interview! Nonn,ie you always crack me up. Rebecca, you’re a great interviewee. I’d never heard of the Scrabble thingey before, so I learned something new. Thanks, guys. 🙂

    Like

  9. I agree Harmony! She also mentioned me! This was a lovely interview ladies. I have read so much through Ronessa’s blog tour that I have to read Mystical Emona very soon.

    Like

  10. Reblogged this on Be My Guest and commented:
    I find Ronessa Aveela’s book so intriguing. I can’t wait to get it on my Kindle and start reading!

    Like

  11. Nonnie, Nonnie, Nonnie… what are we going to do with you? Give you a big virtual hug for another great interview! Rebecca, I so admire the way you hung on to that shelf, I’m running right out to get your book! Brava! Super interview. Glad you found a home with us here at RRBC.

    Like

    1. Thank you. It’s been a crazy week that is for sure.

      Like

  12. Great interview R & R 🙂 I’m glad Nonnie helped you back onto the shelf 🙂

    Like

    1. She was getting close to pushing people off in a couple of other interviews. I guess this was one too many times and she “slipped.” 😉

      Like

    2. I’m kind like that, MiMi! If I accidentally push someone over the ledge, I always say “oops” -_______-

      Like

  13. I loved the shove here. Great interview.

    Like

    1. John, you loved the fact that I “accidentally” shoved R/R over the ledge? Now, you’re violent side is showing. Have you been in the VIP Lounge playing with Beem and Harmony again?

      Like

      1. I loved the “accidentally” claim. Right up a fiction writer’s alley. 🙂

        Like

  14. Very interesting Rebecca, I will definitely check out that site you mentioned that’s going to get you into trouble with Nonnie…lol. I always look out for such leads. When you are on the shelf with Nonnie, you can expect anything to happen.:) (Like your comments being hi-jacked!)

    Like

    1. Scribophile.com has really been wonderful…

      Like

    2. Hmmm I lot a bit of my comment… As I look around the corner to make sure Nonnie is busy doing something else while I talk about another organization. 😉 Uh oh, wait…I think my comment has been hi-jacked!

      Like

  15. harmonykentonline | Reply

    Now, Nonnie, you absolutely CANNOT push Rebecca off the shelf after she was SO NICE about me and my book! LOL Phew, Rebecca, that was a close call! Brilliant interview! Had me giggling away 🙂

    Like

    1. Yes, Nonnie has a way of making people laugh. Now I’m really afraid of heights. 🙂

      Like

    2. Harmz, you know I don’t show favoritism. When it’s your time to take the plunge, it’s your time to TAKE THE PLUNGE!

      Like

Leave a Reply

