Garrett Addison in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?”


Hello and welcome to “WHO’S ON THE SHELF?” with yours truly, Nonnie Jules!  Since we are a book club, you know we had to offer something that included a book shelf.  A lot of interviews merely cover an author’s work or an individual’s career stories.  Here on this “SHELF,”  we get down and dirty and ask the questions no other interviewer dare ask.  We ask the questions that you want to open up a book and find the answers to on your favorite authors and fellow book club members, but no one has dared to cover them.  WE get personal!  Because when you sit on the RRBC “SHELF,” YOU are an open book!

Today I have with me on the “SHELF” our Current “SPOTLIGHT” Author, Garrett Addison!!! 

Garrett Addison with cool shades

NJ:  Before we get started, how does the “shelf” feel to you?  Is it comfy?

Garrett:  A little cramped, but perhaps that’s just because I’m tall.   It’s certainly very cathartic to be amongst such other great authors.

NJ:  {No, he didn’t just start this interview off by complaining about my shelf -__________-} Well, OK, Let’s start by confirming whether or not your author name is your birth name or a pen name

Garrett:  I am one and the same, Garrett Addison.

NJ:  Well, that’s good to know.  So, why don’t you tell us where you were born?  Do you still live there now?  If not, what city and state are you calling home these days?

Garrett:  I’m Australian and have lived most, but not all, of my life in Australia.  That said, I’ve travelled pretty widely around the world.  I now live in Melbourne, the Australian one, not the Florida one.

NJ:  Married or single?

Garrett:  Married to Lynda for over twenty years.

Garrett Addison with wife

NJ:  WOW!  That’s a long time.  I should know, I’ve been married for almost 30 years and you know what, we are in an exclusive club there so we should be proud.  It’s not easy to do, that’s why more people aren’t staying together.  Kudos! And Lynda is gorgeous, she looks like she knows how to have fun!  Kids or no?  If yes, how many?  Sons or Daughters?

Garrett:  Three kids.  Two sons and one daughter.

 NJ:  Favorite child (And be honest…I’m sure they’re not reading this interview)

Garrett:  Nonnie, Nonnie, Nonnie … I couldn’t possibly answer that question.

NJ:  Oh, but you could, and some even have!  #ShameOnThem!  I will admit to having TWO favorites, but they’re the only two I’ve borne so, there you have it!  Do you and Lynda have any 4-legged children? If so, what kind?

Garrett:  One dog,‘Harry’ … named after the book ‘Harry the dirty dog’.

Garrett Addison with elephant

NJ:  Gee, the dogs in Australia are humongous!!!  Over here we’d call that dude an EL-E-FAUNT!  WOW!  So, what’s your favorite food, Garrett?

Garrett:  Too many to list, though if pressed I’d probably say roast lamb … and mangoes.

NJ:  That must be a down-under thing as I don’t hear much talk of roast lamb where I’m from.  LOL.  Favorite color…

Garrett:  Red.

NJ:  Really?  Something told me to wear red today!  Phooie!  Maybe next time.  What’s your favorite sport?

Garrett:  Australian Rules Football (AFL).

NJ:  Favorite TV Show…

Garrett:  Breaking Bad.

NJ:  Favorite Actress/Actor…

Garrett:  Brad Pitt.

NJ:  Uh, I kinda asked for both, but OK, moving right along.  Are you a couch potato or workout nut? Be honest

Garrett:  Somewhere in the middle, probably.  I’m hardly a couch potato, but I’m not one for working out either.  That said, I’ve been liable to bouts of stupidity and have done a few marathons.

NJ:  Marathons, huh?  That’s pretty impressive, Garrett!  Now here’s my favorite question, so don’t mess it up.  Biggest pet peeve that makes you want to stomach-punch somebody?: (For the record, NJ does not condone violence but she does believe in being honest so she has to admit that there are times when she feels like some friendly stomach-punching is a little necessary).

Garrett:  Stupid people, and people who write “your” when they really mean “you’re”.

NJ:  Now, Garrett, I’m not going to be insulted right here on my own shelf.  That last email I sent to you was a simple mistake that WE ALL make.  Now, guests…raise your hands if you’ve ever made this mistake…and it’s an easy one to make…sometimes it’s you typing too fast and not even realizing.  Now, if you call me stupid again, I’m going to have to bang your head against that window behind you, YOU GOT IT?!  woman-beating-man{Now composed, she asks…} Now are you neat or messy?

Garrett:  I’d say neat, my wife would say messy.

NJ:  Well, we’re going with whatever “you’re” wife says. AND YES, I SAID IT…INTENTIONALLY!  I know it’s supposed to be “your!”  Facebook or Twitter? {It is clearly obvious that Garrett might be headed for a full-on fall, and not just a near-miss one}

Garrett:  Twitter… I’m @GarrettAddison

NJ:  {Nonnie mutters under her breath…”Nobody cares”}.  So, name two of the most supportive people you’ve met on either Facebook or Twitter? Hurry and tell us so we can become their friend.

Garrett:  Why stop at just two?  The most mutually supportive people I’ve found on Twitter are all in the Rave Reviews Book Club.

NJ:  Nonnie Jules or Wonderwoman? Be honest

Garrett:  I thought they were one and the same.

NJ:  {Nonnie scootches away from Garrett a little.  “He just might last” she mutters to herself}  Everyone knows the names Mark Twain and Stephen King but how about you give us two names of some INDIE authors that you favor:

Garrett:  ‘Indie’ has for a long time been just a transient state on the way to traditional publishing, so a number of authors I think as ‘Indies’ might not be so now.  I like to think Mathew Reilly is still Indie though; he started Indie and went onto greatness, but his work still feels different.

NJ:  What is it about him that you’ve come to like?

Garrett:  Perhaps it’s a perception, but one thing I think which still separates Indie from traditional publishing is the style of the writing.  I’d like to think that Indies have the desire and the control to be true to their own style.  To that end, Mathew Reilly’s work remains remains in his own immutable style.

 NJ:  Garrett, I wonder if people are stupid if they use double words, you know, like you did above (remains remains)?  {HeHeHe…you guys know I could have taken that out of there, but I couldn’t resist!)  ONE good INDIE book you read that was so good you wished the entire world would read it:

Garrett:  I recently read ‘Shadow of the Drill’ by fellow RRBC member Rhani D’Chae and like I wrote in my review, it was exactly why I read Indie books.

NJ:  {Nonnie scootches even farther away from Garrett.  “I think he IS going to make it today without an injury!”} Why, Garrett, we’re on the same page!  It was my top 3 read this year so far!  Awesome book!  What was so great about it?

Garrett:  The writing is fresh.  It doesn’t have the feel of sanitized writing, and when you read it for yourself, you’ll be able to see the difference.

NJ:  After you read books, do you post reviews?

Garrett:  I try to post reviews of books I read and enjoyed. 

 NJ:  Now, I’m just going to throw this out there.  When you post reviews of only books you’ve enjoyed, it has the appearance that you ONLY post good reviews.  I’m just saying.  When I have read an awesome review or a poor review of a book, I head to the reviewer’s other reviews to see if they have a norm.  I mean, a 5 star review is not going to mean anything to me if all 150 reviews that you’ve given are all 5 stars.  Tell us what you think readers should base their reviews on

Garrett: Just base your review on own opinion and nothing else.  Don’t be influenced by anyone else.

NJ:  Are you one of those who are afraid to be honest in their reviews lest the author gets upset with you, or is honesty your best policy, especially in reviews?

Garrett:  I’m a tormented soul on that one, Nonnie.  I’m not scared to be honest, but I’m also mindful of how just one (bad) review can skew perceptions, particularly with only a small number of reviews (one out of 500 wont get noticed, but one out of five sounds like 20% bad).  Just because I didn’t like a book, or the way it was written, or that I’d have written it differently doesn’t mean that others mightn’t simply love the book without reservation.  So I’ll try to pass on my thoughts/sentiment for less than great reviews privately.

 NJ:  Now, Garrett, where you not listening to anything I just said?  LOL.  OK, so have you read any poorly written books lately?

Garrett:  Yes.  Just because I read and write Indie doesn’t mean that I’m any less intolerant of bad writing.  If the truth be told, I’m even more critical and I simply wont read what I’m not enjoying.  If the characters don’t grab me, or the story sounds formulaic or it takes too long to get going … I’m liable to stop reading.

 NJ:  Where’s your review so I can go and check it out?  LOL  No, seriously.

Garrett:  You don’t want to know.

 NJ:  Uh, yes I do.  -_________-  {Nonnie rolls her eyes when she sees he’s really not going to tell her.  Scootches back towards him} Are you an author?

Garrett:  I’m Indie and I’m proud.

 NJ:  How long have you been writing?

Garrett:  I started to write seriously about ten years ago.

 NJ:  What books have you written?

Garrett:  

*THE TRAVELLER
Amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AVV1NF4/ (global: http://smarturl.it/TheTravellerBook )
Kobo:
http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/the-traveller-6 (or  http://smarturl.it/TheTravellerKobo )

The Traveller by Garrett Addison

*MINIONS
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AW4EP8W/ (global: http://smarturl.it/MinionsBook )
Kobo:
http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/minions (or  http://smarturl.it/MinionsKobo )

Minions by Garrett Addison

NJ:  So, which one do you think is the best, in your unbiased opinion, that is?

Garrett:  ‘The Traveller’.  It’s a good fun read, whereas ‘Minions’ is a bit deeper and darker.

NJ:  Do you have a blog or website?

Garrett:  I sure do… http://www.garrettaddison.com

NJ:  Name three great online resources or organizations that every author should belong to…

Garrett:  There’s so many resources and for all their efforts to be different, most of them end up being the same.  Apologies if that sounds a little cynical.

NJ:  Which online resource or organization has helped you as an author the most?

Garrett:  As an author, I know I need to read widely and write a lot, so any organisation which encourages that has helped me.  Not surprisingly, I think the Rave Reviews Book Club is great. 

NJ:  Good to hear!  How have you been helped by RRBC?

Garrett:  I got to read some Indies and their writing, particularly the books I wouldn’t have otherwise discovered.  I can’t say for sure how exposure to that writing might influence my writing, but regardless, I know my writing will be better for it.   I’ve also met a lot of great authors only too willing to propel other fellow authors.

NJ:  Since you’re sitting on the SHELF, you’re obviously a Rave Reviews Book Club member, so what do you think of the club?

Garrett:  I like the honesty of the group.  The member-authors all understand why reviews are important and that it’s a great way to encourage reading Indies.  There’s no ulterior motives and no cliques, just writers wanting reviews and wanting to read each others’ work, and readers wanting to read something different which just might prove to be the next big thing.

NJ:  WOW!  That was awesome, and we didn’t even have to pay you to say any of that!  The best kind of REVIEW! Thank you, Garrett!  Have you come across any other online entities like RRBC?

Garrett:  No. I have been in other on-line writing groups, but they don’t have the same community feel as the RRBC.

NJ:  I would strongly agree with you there.  Such a community of support here, seriously.  Would you recommend RRBC to your friends and family?

Garrett:  I would, I do and I have recommended it to everyone.

NJ:  OK, enough of all this mushy-ness, this shelf is getting hard on my hiney, so we’re going to wrap this interview up.  Any final words?

Garrett:  Thanks for the heart and soul you’ve put into the Rave Reviews Book Club, Nonnie.  I think you’ve started something great.

NJ:  Garrett, you ended on such a high note, there’s no way I would push…I mean there’s no way you could accidentally fall from way up here.  Instead, let me give you a hug….boy, you really are tall, aren’t cha?

Old lady hugging man

Thank you so much for joining us here today, Garrett!  That was truly an awesome  interview and with all those great plugs, you already know you’re on my FAVES list now!   You have made our interview on the SHELF today fun, informative and it was easy, so my THANKS to you!  To my guests, please support Garrett by picking up a copy of one of his books!  You can also support Garrett by visiting his blog stops on his tour which ends on Saturday.  You can find the tour line up here.

Have you joined Rave Reviews Book Club yet?  Well, here’s your chance!  And since Garrett was on the “SHELF” today, tell them he sent you.  Make it a great day, my friends.  We’ll see you next week, right here on the SHELF” with another VERY INTERESTING GUEST!!

22 responses

  1. Nice bookshelf interview with the irrepressible Nonnie–Garrett made a brave showing! 🙂

    Like

  2. Garrett loved your interview–how brave you were and such a good sport!! Most of the Australians I know seem to be that way–don’t back down and stand up for your principles.Nonnie is really a lot of fun–as long as you don’t stand too close–just to be on the safe side :).

    Like

  3. I apologize for being late to the party! This was an excellent interview. Thank you Nonnie for another great author interview!

    Like

  4. Fun and informative! Great interview, Nonnie!

    Like

  5. These interviews are so much fun – I look forward to them! Thanks Nonnie and Garrett!

    Like

  6. That Nonnie knows how to bring out the deep and meaningful in me, clearly.

    Thanks for having me, Nonnie!

    Like

  7. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    Garrett Addison, I thoroughly enjoyed this hilarious interview. I get a kick out of all the violence that goes on here between Nonnie and her interviewees. The humor puts a smile on my otherwise dull day. lol

    Like

    1. No ‘lol’ing about it … she’s brutal.

      Like

  8. Another deliciously entertaining interview, Nonnie! Garrett, you did very well to survive – I agree with John Howell – great skill set!

    Like

  9. How is your throat, Garrett? It looks like Nonnie was strangling you. o_O

    Like

    1. The physical bruising will pass. The emotional toll will take a little longer.

      8^)

      Garrett

      Like

  10. Okay, this is absolutely hilarious at certain points. I held my breath at other points, praying and hoping you stayed on the seat Garrett. Very entertaining interview. Congrats Garrett, and Nonnie, you did it again.

    Like

    1. Let’s be honest about this, Joy. The ‘seat’ started to resemble a spike after a while!

      Like

  11. Well, you pulled it out mate. I also share your like of “Shadow.” BTW you should run for an office given your disaster avoidance abilities. :-0

    Like

  12. Great interview, Garrett and Nonnie. I was worried for you for a time there, Garrett, LOL! I’m glad you survived the shelf.

    Like

  13. harmonykentonline | Reply

    Nice interview, Garrett! Good recovery! 😀 That shelf seems to be getting more dangerous by the week! LOL 🙂

    Like

  14. Been out of touch lately with one thing and another. Love these interviews. Good luck Garrett

    Like

  15. Fantastic interview, Garrett! Was fun to learn a few new things about you. How tall are you by the way? Thank you for the kind words about #Shadow. It’a such a great feeling when someone really likes my work. Nonnie, another great shelf story. I’m totally loving these. 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m 186cm (which is about 6’2″ in that ridiculous form or measurement), Rhani. Nonnie’s interviews are great (and harrowing).

      Like

  16. Another informative interview by Nonnie Jules! Garrett, nice to see you survived!

    Like

    1. Just, Bruce. I only ‘just’ survived.

      Like

Leave a Reply

