Rhani D’Chae in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?”


Hello and welcome to “WHO’S ON THE SHELF?” with yours truly, Nonnie Jules!  Since we are a book club, you know we had to offer something that included a book shelf.  A lot of interviews merely cover an author’s work or an individual’s career stories.  Here on this “SHELF,”  we get down and dirty and ask the questions no other interviewer dare ask.  We ask the questions that you want to open up a book and find the answers to on your favorite authors and fellow book club members, but no one has dared to cover them.  WE get personal!  Because when you sit on the RRBC “SHELF,” YOU are an open book!

Today I have with me on the “SHELF” one of our fabulously supportive members,  Author, Rhani D’Chae!!! She comes in doing a James Brown skip dance, to the theme song of STARSKY & HUTCH.

20141119_103800-1

NJ:  Before we get started, how does the “shelf” feel to you?  Is it comfy?

Rhani:  It’s not bad. It’s no feather bed, either, but…it’s not bad.

NJ:  -___________-  {No, she didn’t!… This is surely a woo-saaaaa moment. Calm down, Nonnie.} Well, OK, let’s start by confirming whether or not your author name is your birth name or a pen name.

Rhani:  It’s neither. I’ve used several identities over the years, and since this is the name I had when I wrote Shadow of the Drill, it’s the one you see on the cover.

NJ:  {Is she being a little snippey with me?  I don’t think I like her tone at all.  Hmmmm…let the scooching begin.}  Tell us where you were born.   Do you still live there now?  If not, what city and state are you calling home these days?

Rhani:  I’m not sure what state I was born in. I am adopted and my parents and the information on my birth certificate reflects that. They never wanted to talk about my birth mother, or my life before they got me. I traveled a bit in my younger days, but I  currently live in Tacoma, WA.

NJ:  {Note to self:  chip on shoulder because of childhood, maybe}.  Interesting, so are you married or single?

Rhani:  I was married once, at the ripe old age of 16, but it was a case of being young and stupid, (I was young, he was stupid) so it didn’t last long. I’ve had some LTRs, but have never remarried.

NJ:  LTRs?  I will assume that means Long Term Relationships.  {Why can’t people just spell stuff out?} *Sigh*  Kids or no?  If yes, how many?  Sons or Daughters?

Rhani:  I have given birth to two children, although I only claim my seeing eye son, who currently lives with me. I also have a daughter, who I gave up for adoption. I was too young to be a parent, and thought she would do better in a more stable environment. I am also the head of a festive performance family, and consider them to be my kids as well. Family is so much more than DNA.

NJ:  I will agree with you there.  You don’t have to answer this favorite child question if you don’t want to.  But, seeing as though you have “other” children, why not humor us?

Rhani:  My favorite child is my son, James, although my heathen child, Ann Kershul-D’Chae, is a very close second.

NJ:  Heathen child?  We’ll talk later.  Do you have any pets?  If so, what kind?

Rhani:  I’m a cat person, and am currently staff to nine furry little dictators. Two of them, Spencer Ali and Seeley Booth, are strays that we feed, but the others are indoor cats and rule the house with little iron paws. Two of my cats are on Twitter, which is a constant source of entertainment for us.

NJ:  {Another note to self:  This is why we got off on the wrong foot.  I don’t like cats;  she’s a cat-lady.  Actually, I’m not too fond of cat-people, either.} So, here comes the fun questions…what’s your favorite food?

Rhani:  Lobster

NJ:  Favorite color…

Rhani:  Black

NJ:  Favorite sport…

Rhani:  Football

NJ:  Favorite TV Show…

Rhani:  The Walking Dead is probably my favorite, although I like several others. I write best while watching TV so…

NJ:  Favorite Actress/Actor…

Rhani:  Currently, my favorite actress is Melissa McCarthy. She’s so talented and is one of the best comedic actresses I’ve seen in a long time. My favorite actor is Paul Michael Glaser, absolutely. He’s a wonderful actor, yes, but he also had the courage to be part of a unique team in a breakthrough role that was long overdue. That series, and that team, became the foundation for my boys. Because of that, he’ll probably always be my favorite.

NJ:  {Bingo!  We have something in common!}  Rhani, Melissa is one of my faves, too!  You’ve got good taste in acting!  Couch potato or workout nut? Be honest.

Rhani:  I’m a mixture of the two. I’m not and never will be a workout nut, but I walk two miles a day, and have a few machines that I use. This is mainly to keep my sugar level down, but I’m also trying to lose some weight.

NJ:  Biggest pet peeve that makes you want to stomach-punch somebody?: (For the record, NJ does not condone violence but she does believe in being honest so she has to admit that there are times when she feels like some friendly stomach-punching is a little necessary).

Rhani:  I absolutely hate it when I speak to someone and they don’t acknowledge that I said anything. I don’t mean asking a question as much as I mean a statement. Most people know that a question requires an answer, but if I say that it’s a hot day, I’d like some kind of response so that I know you heard me. Even an “Uh-huh” would be acceptable. I don’t think that’s asking too much.

NJ:  I’m the same way!  When I am in the market (or anywhere) and I have spoken to someone, and I KNOW they heard me…I could have passed them on by, after having spoken to them, but if they don’t respond, I turn around and go back and look them in their face (closely) and repeat:  “GOOD MORNING!”  That’s just rude of folks!  That’s when I want to stomach-punch and slap somebody at the same time.  (oops, NJ lost her cool for a moment.  Had a flashback and thought she was in Walmart and someone didn’t speak back).  Let’s move on from that topic, Rhani. So, are you neat or messy?

Rhani:  I’m not a clean freak, nor a slob. I guess I’m kind of in the middle.  “Organized clutter” works well for me, although I do tend to go on strike when I don’t get help around the house.

NJ:  Facebook or Twitter?

Rhani:  Twitter by far! Facebook has it’s good points but it moves too slowly for me.

NJ:  Name two of the most supportive people you’ve met on either Facebook or Twitter? Hurry and tell us so we can become their friend.

Rhani:  Patrick J Russell (@patrussellbooka). He is probably the most indie supportive person I know on either site. He’s also writing with very low vision, and has recently been dealing wih some pretty drastic personal issues, so I find him to be an inspiration. He’s an amazing man, and indie, heart and soul.  Nonnie, I have to say that you are the other one.

NJ:  Awwwww, well Rhani, that was so sweet of you to say.  I feel the same way about you.  (Nonnie scootches back down the shelf, away from Rhani, as she no longer feels the need to “accidentally” shove her).  Who’s your fave…Nonnie Jules or Wonderwoman? Be honest, now.

Rhani:  Nonnie Jules, no question there. Wonderwoman has yet to read my book, and NJ not only read it, she actually liked it!

NJ:  I sure did read it, and not only liked it, I LOVED IT!  And make no mistake about it, I loved SHADOW OF THE DRILL because it was an awesome read and so very-well written!  I should be thanking you for such enjoyment.  So, we all know the names Mark Twain and Stephen King but how about you give us two names of some INDIE authors that you favor:

Rhani:  Oh my goodness, only two? I’ve met several, especially since joining Rave Reviews Book Club. Okay, since I can only pick two – the first one is James Weatherford, author of The Last Soldier; Nature Of The Beast. The other is Beem Weeks, author of the amazing Jazz Baby. .

NJ:  Wasn’t Jazz Baby awesome?  What is it about these authors that you’ve come to like?

Rhani:  Beem is ultra-supportive, and one heck of a writer, and Jim is just a sweet man. He was one of my first friends on Twitter, and has been incredibly supportive..

NJ:  Name two favorite INDIE books that you’ve read:

Rhani:  I’m currently working my way through Jazz Baby, and I’m really enjoying it. I also liked Only The Dead by M. W. Duncan.

NJ:  ONE good INDIE book you read that was so good you wished the entire world would read it:

Rhani:  Allergic To Life, by Kathryn Chastain Treat.

NJ:  One of my favorites, as well!  What did you find so great about it?

Rhani:  There are a lot of people who live with physical issues that negatively affect, even dictate, their lives. So I think the message of that book is one that a lot of us can relate to.

NJ:  I agree.  Kathryn is an inspiration to many with all that she has had to live through.  Although, for someone who suffers the way she does, she surely gets around the internet! Have you noticed?  That Kathryn is ALL over the place!  LOL!!  (I just put a target on my back.  Kathryn’s going to get me).  After you read books, Rhani, do you post reviews?

Rhani:  I do if I like the book enough to finish it.

NJ:  I know, some books are so horrible, you just can’t make yourself finish it.  What do you think readers should base their reviews on?

Rhani:  I base mine on what I did or did not like about the book. When I read reviews for a book I’m considering, I just want to know if it’s a good, well written book. I don’t care about the technical crap. So when I write a review, the focus is on how much I did or did not enjoy the read, and why. However, if spelling or continuity errors are too glaring, I will probably mention it.

NJ:  Are you one of those who are afraid to be honest in their reviews lest the author gets upset with you, or is honesty your best policy, especially in reviews?

Rhani:  I try to find something nice to say in a review, even if the book doesn’t really do it for me. The fact that I didn’t like it doesn’t mean that it’s not a good book. I try to step out of my comfort zone and read new things, so if the only reason I don’t like it is because it’s not my genre of choice, I won’t hold that against he book. As for being honest, I call it like I see it. I will always look for the positive, and try to handle the negative with a little bit of tact, but I don’t worry much about upsetting people. Never have, never will.

NJ:  I love your attitude about that!  Way to go, Rhani!  Speaking like someone who read “SUGARCOATIN’  IS FOR CANDY & PACIFYIN’ IS FOR KIDS!”  Have you “tried” reading any poorly written books lately?

Rhani:  Only one, and it was a total frightmare. I met the author on Twitter, and it was his first book. It sounded like it would be right up my alley, so I got it and tried my best to read it. It was definitely the worst piece of crap I’ve ever seen between two covers. I wanted to gouge out my eyes with a butter knife.

NJ:  Where’s your review so I can go and check it out?  No, seriously, why are you laughing?

Rhani:  I didn’t write one, but not out of kindness or sympathy for the author. It was because the words to adequately describe a train wreck of that magnitude have yet to be discovered.

NJ:  And people think I’m brutal!  -_________-  Are you an author?

Rhani:  Yes.

NJ:  How long have you been writing?

Rhani:  Since I was very young.

NJ:  What books have you written?

Rhani:  Shadow of the Drill is my only published novel at this point, although I have others that are awaiting publication.

Shadow of the Drill by Rhani D'Chae

NJ:  Out of your published work and what you’re working on now, which would you say is the best?

Rhani:  I think Shadow is the best, followed by my YA novel, The Last Storm.

NJ:  Do you have a blog or website?

Rhani:  Yes, I do have a new blog, thanks to 4WillsPublishing. I’m new to blogging but I’ve found some pretty interesting things to blog about.  Stop by and visit!

NJ:  Name three great online resources or organizations that every author should belong to…

Rhani:  Rave Reviews Book Club and Self Publisher’s Showcase are the only two that I have personal knowledge of. Oh, and GR, but I’m not familiar with it and have yet to really use it.

NJ:  Which online resource or organization has helped you as an author the most?

Rhani:  That would be Rave Reviews Book Club!

NJ:  How were you helped by them?

Rhani:  They are very supportive, and have given me a great deal of encouragement. Also, my involvement in #RRBC led me to 4WillsPublishing, and that was a very good thing!

NJ:  Rhani, since you’re sitting on the SHELF, you’re obviously a Rave Reviews Book Club member, so what do you think of the club?

Rhani:   think it’s an amazing group of talented authors, and anyone who reads or writes books should make it a point to get involved as soon as they can.

NJ:  I agree!  Have you come across any other online entities like it?

Rhani:  No, but to be honest, I haven’t really looked.

NJ:  Would you recommend it to your friends and family?

Rhani:  I tell my friends about it on a regular basis.

NJ:  This shelf is getting hard on my hiney, so we’re going to wrap this interview up. Any final words for our guests?

Rhani:  Life is a dance, and though music and partners may change, we only get one whirl around the floor. Make it count in the ways that matter to you, and don’t be afraid to stand alone and boogie to the songs that only you can hear. Be who you need to be, and if you’re lucky, be who you want to be. Most of all, be who you are. I want to thank Pat Russell, Paul Martin from Self Publisher’s Showcase, and the members of Rave Reviews Book Club for being so gracious to someone who was just starting out. I especially want to thank those who were brave enough to read my book and meet my boys.

NJ:  Thank you so much for joining us here today, Rhani!  We are so thankful for the “kind” of member you are that we wanted you to serve as our THANKSGIVING GIFT to all who stop by!  That was an enjoyable interview (well, once we got past the rough spots).   You have made our interview on the SHELF today, a most pleasant one!  To my guests, please support Rhani by picking up a copy of her book, SHADOW OF THE DRILL, with its brand new cover!  You can also support Rhani  by visiting her blog as well as her Author Page at 4WillsPublishing 

Since SHADOW OF THE DRILL was one of my TOP reads this year, please check out the book trailer!  While you’re there, if you like it, please hit the LIKE and SHARE buttons!

34 responses

  1. That was saying it as it is. Congrats Rhani first for being on the shelf, and then for giving us not just an entertaining time, but also a very frank one. Good for you.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Joy. I’m so glad you enjoyed the interview. I’m just glad I didn’t get pushed off for being a cat person. Lol

      Like

  2. Wow, that was quite a powerful interview! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Nicholas. I’m glad you enjoyed the interview. It sure was fun to do! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. harmonykentonline | Reply

    Good recovery Rhani! It was looking a ‘tad’ rocky at the beginning. Great interview 😀

    Like

    1. A “tad” rocky? Harmony, I was feeling pretty sure that my overstuffed kiester was going to get booted off that shelf for sure! Lol Thank goodness Nonnie kept control of her pushing hand. 🙂

      Like

  4. Reblogged this on rhanidchae and commented:
    Today I was priveleged to soend some time on the virtual #shelf with Rave Reviews Book Club’s very own Nonnie Jules. I’m reblogging my interview so that you can see ho much fun Nonnie brings to the party. Hopefully, you’ll check out some of the other intervies that she’s done. they’re all onderful!

    Like

  5. Hi, These are interesting reviews of books. How could I get my book reviewed? Thank you. Regards Annabelle Leeh

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note II LTE on Three

    Like

  6. Nonnie, thank you for giving me theopportunity to share your shelf. It was a lot of fun, & I loved reading your side of things. Oh – I certainly never meant to be snippy. I’m just glad you let me stay on the shelf! Lol

    Like

  7. Rhani, your interview made it into the voting lineup! Send your friends and fam to vote for it in the elections that are going on now for the Rave Awards!

    Like

    1. Wow, how fun! I’ll tweet my fingers off! 🙂

      Like

  8. Great interview, Nonnie! As usual.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Bruce! As usual! #MySupportiveFriend

      Like

  9. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    Nonnie and Rhani, Good Interview! As usual Nonnie your sense of humor comes through and I start laughing.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Shirley. I’m glad you got a laugh. I sure didn’t know I came so close to getting booted off the shelf! Nonnie can be a little scary, that way. Lol

      Like

    2. So happy I could entertain you, Ms. Shirley!

      Like

  10. I enjoyed this interview, Rhani, because I’m glad to get to know you a bit better. I’m looking forward to reading Shadow of the Drill!

    Like

    1. Thank you, John. I had a good time on the shelf. I sure hope you enjoy #Shadow.

      Like

  11. you had me belly laughing out loud as I read this review. It’s by far one of your best in the side comment depts. Although Shadow of the Drill is not a book I’d enjoy…she sure mad and impression on me. Happy Thanksgiving and I love the way you’ve evolved in the interview process since you interviewed me. I think my novel topic might have sceered you, darling.
    Cynthia Seasons
    No Such Thing: The Committee by Cynthia Seasons

    Like

    1. OOOPS talk about glaring spelling errors. Ah well my fingers were laughing too.
      Cynthia

      Like

  12. Liked the interview and really liked the book. Nice job Rhani and Nonnie

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, John. I’m glad you lkkex the interview, & totally thrilled that you liked the book. 🙂

      Like

  13. Hi R’hani, this was an especially lively interview with you an Nonnie. I like your attitude and agree withyou on most things. Maybe we’ll meet if I ever find my way around this site. I’ll check out your book as well.

    Like

    1. Hi Micki, I’m so glad you liked the interview. I sure had a blast doing it. Nonnie is just a hoot, isn’t she? Yes, please take a look at #Shadow. You might like my boys. 🙂

      Like

  14. Great interview. I loved your final words, Rhani.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Michelle. I’m a firm believer in making life count by no one’s standards but your own. My father left mom ten grand & a house, but he died a very rich man. I learned from him.

      Like

  15. Congratulations, Rhani. Another great interview with Nonnie.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Rebecca. It sure was fun. 🙂

      Like

  16. Hello Nonnie and Rhani! I loved, loved, loved this interview! And yes, I may not get out in the “real world” as much as I would like, but I do like to stay busy on the internet!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Kathryn. I’m glad you liked it as much as I loved doing it. And thank you for writing a book that touches the heart like #Allergic does.

      Like

  17. Reblogged this on Be My Guest and commented:
    Life is a dance, and though music and partners may change, we only get one whirl around the floor. Make it count in the ways that matter to you, and don’t be afraid to stand alone and boogie to the songs that only you can hear.

    These are great words to live by. I have read Shadow of the Drill and like Nonnie, thoroughly loved it.

    Like

    1. Kathryn, thank you for the reblog. I’m flattered that you enjoyed the interview so much. Nonnie is so much fun to play on the shelf with. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

