C. S. Boyack in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?”


Hello, and welcome to “WHO’S ON THE SHELF?” with yours truly, Nonnie Jules!  Since we are a book club, you know we had to offer something that included a book shelf.  A lot of interviews merely cover an author’s work or an individual’s career stories.  Here on this “SHELF,”  we get down and dirty and ask the questions no other interviewer dare ask.  We ask the questions that you want to open up a book and find the answers to on your favorite authors and fellow book club members, but no one has dared to cover them.  WE get personal!  Because when you sit on the RRBC “SHELF,” YOU are an open book!

Today I have with me on the “SHELF” our Current “SPOTLIGHT” Author, C.S. Boyack!!!

3D65373B-5BEE-4BD0-8919-FACF56E0F332

NJ:  Before we get started, how does the “shelf” feel to you?  Is it comfy?

Craig:  Thanks for letting me use the lower shelf. I wouldn’t want to climb all the way up to the top.

Shocked looking dog

NJ:  You wouldn’t WANT to climb all the way to the top?  Oh, really?  Well, since I’m perched all the way up here and you’re all the way down there, let me use my outside voice.  {The nerve of some people!  He wouldn’t “want” to climb…}.  Anyway, let’s start by confirming whether or not your author name is your birth name or a pen name?

Craig:  Both. I put C. S. Boyack on my books, but I go by Craig.

NJ:  Tell us where you were born?  Do you still live there now?  If not, what city and state are you calling home these days?

Craig:  I was born in Elko, Nevada. I moved to the Boise area in 2001.

NJ:  Married or single?

Craig:  Married.

NJ:  Kids or no?  If yes, how many?  Sons or Daughters?

Craig:  We have two sons and one daughter.

NJ:  Favorite child, and be honest.  I’m sure they’re not reading this interview.

Craig:  I’m kind of partial to the dog.

Smiling dog

{I knew he liked me better than the kids}

NJ:  Pets?  What kind?

Craig:  The dog is an old rescue pit bull.

NJ:  Favorite food…

Craig:  Venison.

NJ:  Favorite color…

Craig:  Green

NJ:  Favorite sport…

Craig:  Baseball.

NJ:  Favorite TV Show…

Craig:  A Game of Thrones

NJ:  Favorite Actress/Actor…

Craig:  John Wayne

NJ:  I loved The Duke, too!  So, Craig, are you a couch potato or workout nut? Be honest ☺

Craig:  Team couch potato all the way.

NJ:  Uh, Craig…I didn’t want you to be that honest.  -___________-  Biggest pet peeve that makes you want to stomach-punch somebody?: (For the record, NJ does not condone violence but she does believe in being honest so she has to admit that there are times when she feels like some friendly stomach-punching is a little necessary).

Craig:  Horrible drivers.

NJ:  I’m with you there!  They yank my chain daily!  Are you neat or messy?

Craig:  I’m messy, but in a way where I know where everything is.

NJ:  Facebook or Twitter?

Craig:  Twitter.

NJ:  Name two of the most supportive people you’ve met on either Facebook or Twitter? Hurry and tell us so we can become their friend.

Craig:  I’m more of a WordPress guy. I have a group of regulars there who are really helpful and supportive.

NJ:  Nonnie Jules or Wonderwoman? Be honest ☺

Craig:  Mmm, Lynda Carter. Oh, Nonnie Jules, of course. Princess Diana hasn’t been nearly as helpful to authors.

NJ:  Good save.  I felt myself about to scoot a little closer to you.  Craig, everyone knows the names Mark Twain and Stephen King but how about you give us two names of some INDIE authors that you favor.

Craig:  I really like the stories put out by Ali Isaac.  Nicholas Rossis is wonderful, too.

NJ:  Yes he is wonderful, isn’t he?  I call him St. Nich he’s so good!  What is it about these that you’ve come to like?

Craig:  Ali does a ton of real world research and weaves it into her stories. Nicholas Rossis really makes me think.

NJ:  Name two favorite INDIE books that you’ve read.

Craig:  The Conor Kelly books by Ali are part of a trilogy, but it’s all one story. Nicholas Rossis’ “Power of Six” is a wonderful use of the short form.

NJ:  ONE good INDIE book you read that was so good you wished the entire world would read it…

Craig:  I have to start at the beginning of a series, so I’ll say Conor Kelly and the Four Treasures of Eirean.

NJ:  What was so great about it?

Craig:  Ali’s knowledge of Irish history and legend is phenomenal. She’s personally visited most of the sites in her books, and the descriptions are vivid.

NJ:  After you read books, do you post reviews?

Craig:  I do for the indies. I still read traditionally published stuff too, and generally don’t review those.

NJ:  I’ve heard a ton of Indies say this.  I guess that’s our way of sticking it to the traditionally published authors who look down on us Indies, huh?  LOL.  What do you think readers should base their reviews on?

Craig:  Whether they liked the book or not.

NJ:  Are you one of those who are afraid to be honest in their reviews lest the author gets upset with you, or is honesty your best policy, especially in reviews?

Craig:  It takes a lot for me to not like a book. If I’m not having fun I usually just stop reading. In that case a review isn’t fair, because I didn’t finish.

NJ:  Read any poorly written books lately?

Craig:  Yes.

NJ:  Where’s your review so I can go and check it out?  LOL.  No, seriously.

Craig:  It was bad enough to make me buy another book. I never finished it, so I didn’t review it.

NJ:  Are you an author?

Craig:  Yes.

NJ:  How long have you been writing?

Craig:  Five or six years.

NJ:  What books have you written?

Craig:  Wild Concept (Science Fiction)

Wild Concept by C. S. Boyack

Panama (Paranormal)

Panama by C.S. Boyack

Arson (Science Fiction)

Arson by C. S. Boyack

The Cock of the South (Fantasy)

The Cock of the South by C S Boyack

NJ:  Which one do you think is the best?

Craig:  No fair! I love them all.

NJ:  Do you have a blog or website?

Craig:  My blog is called Entertaining Stories. You can find it at http://coldhandboyack.wordpress.com

NJ:  Name three great online resources or organizations that every author should belong to.

Craig:  I’m on the internet every day looking into story craft and self publishing issues. It’s not a membership thing, but I follow hundreds of blogs, and use newsfeeds heavily.

NJ:  Which online resource or organization has helped you as an author the most?

Craig:  The Rave Reviews Book Club.

NJ:  Now you see, those are the kinds of responses that make me smile!  Great answer, Craig!  How were you helped by them?

Craig:  I started actually getting reviews after joining. They also selected my book Panama for a #PUSHTUESDAY, and that really helped.

NJ:  Craig, that is so awesome to hear!  Sometimes people just don’t believe the power of RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB.  Things happen, great things, when you JOIN! Since you’re sitting on the SHELF, you’re obviously a Rave Reviews Book Club member, so what do you think of the club?

Craig:  I’m impressed! You kind of have to pay to play, but that doesn’t bother me. The more a member participates the more benefit to the member. I like it that way.

NJ:  Well, I’m glad you shared that the more a member participates, the more benefit to them.  Someone else used the pay to play phrase in a different manner.  I was glad to explain this to them:  “If you mean the extra-small membership fee that we have, that doesn’t even cover the cost of the processing of an application, the logging of member books in the catalog, adding book covers, adding members to the roster, and let’s not forget the daily tweet support and the fact that we purchase, read AND review books here.  To add to that,  if they cancel membership, we have to go thru each of these processes in reverse, to remove all this information.  And let’s not even get into the prizes and incentives that we offer to our members.  If that’s what you mean by pay-to-play, we should increase the fee and make it really feel as if you’re “paying-to-play.”  So, Craig, I appreciate you sharing the correct aspect of that phrase with our guests.  So, have you come across any other online entities like it?

Craig:  No, the club seems pretty unique to me.

NJ:  And unique is definitely what it is.  Would you recommend it to your friends and family?

Craig:  I would, and have.

NJ:  Well, word of mouth is always the best advertising!  This shelf is getting hard on my hiney, so we’re going to wrap this interview up.  Any final words?

Craig:  I just want you to know I’m honored to participate today. This club has been a good thing for me, now I need to get on the stick and read some more member books. I have quite a few in mind.

NJ:  Thank you so much for joining us here today, Craig!  That was truly an awesome interview and with all those great plugs for the club, you are so appreciated!  You have made our interview on the SHELF today fun, quick and easy,  To my guests, please support Craig, by picking up a copy of one of his books.  You can also support him by visiting the blog stops on his tour which ends on Saturday.  You can find the tour line up here.

Have you joined Rave Reviews Book Club yet?  Well, here’s your chance!  And since Craig was on the “SHELF” today, tell them he sent you.  Make it a great day, my friends.  We’ll see you next week, right here on the SHELF” with another VERY INTERESTING GUEST!!

31 responses

  1. Craig, it was a pleasure meeting you. I liked your answers, straight arrow and to the point. I’ll remember about sitting low if I’m ever on the bench–won’t be such a drop when Nonnie pushes me off. I’ll be sure to check out your books!

    Like

    1. She can occupy the top shelf with Tolstoy and the rest. I want to sit with the pulp authors who write the fun stories. Swing from a vine with Tarzan, work a case with Perry Mason, that’s more my style.

      Like

  2. Great interview Craig. And thanks for… well, you know…

    Like

    1. The nod was completely sincere. I loved your stories.

      Like

  3. Liked to see all your books. Nice interview.

    Like

    1. That was nice of Nonnie. They’re all on the RRBC catalog.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What a great interview! 😀

    Like

    1. Thanks, Rachel. Glad you stopped by.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I do look forward to visiting you. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Hey, Craig, I think I would like the dog best too (if I had either children or a dog). 😉

    Like

    1. I’ve had both, and speak from experience. The truth is, they rotate as my favorite.

      Like

  6. A great interview, as usual!

    Like

    1. I liked it. Nonnie is great at this.

      Like

  7. Great interview, Craig.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Michelle. It’s great getting a few comments here and there.

      Like

      1. Craig, I beg your pardon? I think your SPOTLIGHT is garnering more than just a “few” comments here and there. -__________-

        Like

        1. Um, yes, ma’am. I love comments, they’re the best part. I’m going back through all the stops right now. I don’t want to miss anyone who’s just catching up after the holiday.

          Like

      2. That’s a little better, young man…(LOL). I was thinking maybe you’d gotten off too easy without a friendly (accidental) shove up there. We should all exhibit sheer gratefulness for these opportunities which some have never had the pleasure of experiencing. Now, let me head to all your stops and leave comments since I now know that you enjoy them so much. 🙂 I ask that everyone join me on all of Craig’s stops along his tour. His final stop is tomorrow!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. A nice interview and an encouraging one to boot.

    Like

    1. Thank you. Glad you enjoyed it.

      Like

  9. Really nice! Very laid-back, easy going and relaxing interview. Good for you Craig! I wonder where Nonnie found a smiling, or is it a laughing dog? Interesting, and good to see. Very Funny.

    Like

    1. Thank you. I don’t know where she finds this stuff, but it’s awesome. I am kind of a laid back guy. Glad it came across.

      Like

  10. Great interview! I feel like I really know you, Craig! 🙂

    Like

    1. No one really knows me. Mwa ha haha. Thanks for stopping by today. This was a lot of fun.

      Like

  11. Craig that dog pic is just about the best I’ve ever seen. Gotta love that smile. Thank you, Nonnie for the terrific interview of one of my favorite pals. I’ve learned so much I can use against him in the future. 😉

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping ’round. Let ‘er rip. I can take it.

      Like

  12. Good interview Nonnie & Craig! Hope you’re having a great “Spotlight” week!

    Like

    1. John, I am having a blast. I’ll have to find a way to thank all the hosts. The best way might be to sign up as a future host myself.

      Like

  13. Reblogged this on Entertaining Stories and commented:
    This is the interview everyone wants to get. Nonnie’s reviews are read far and wide. Today is my turn.

    Like

Leave a Reply

