Marlena Hand in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?”


Hello, and welcome to “WHO’S ON THE SHELF?” with yours truly, Nonnie Jules!

It’s the interview everyone holds their breath on!  Where guests sometimes have to do a balancing act just to hang on!

photo (18)

{Designed and gifted by the late, Author, Kathryn C. Treat}

Since we are a book club, you know we had to offer something that included a book shelf.  A lot of interviews merely cover an author’s work or an individual’s career stories.  Here on this “SHELF,”  we get down and dirty and ask the questions no other interviewer dare ask.  We ask the questions that you want to open up a book and find the answers to on your favorite authors and fellow book club members, but no one has dared to cover them.  WE get personal!  Because when you sit on the RRBC “SHELF,” YOU are an open book!

Today I have with me on the “SHELF” our very own Club Secretary, Marlena Hand!!! To those of us who know just how long her responsibility list is with the club, she’s also known as Superwoman

1Marlena

NJ:  Before we get started, how does the “shelf” feel to you?  Is it comfy?

MH:  Of course!! It couldn’t be any nicer!

NJ:  Of course, you’d say that, Mar.  {Mar is a total mini-me}.  Let’s start by confirming whether or not your author name is your birth name or a pen name?

MH:  My author name and birth name are one and the same.  When I finally publish my first novel, I will definitely use my God-given name. I owe that to my parents.  🙂

NJ:  Tell us where you were born?  Do you still live there now?  If not, what city and state are you calling home these days?

MH:  Born, raised and still a resident of Cullman, Alabama.

NJ:  Married or single?

MH:  Married

NJ:  OK, well, don’t sound so happy about it,  -_______-  Kids or no?  If yes, how many?  Sons or Daughters?

MH:  Only a four-legged fur baby.

NJ:  Thank, Goodness!  Oh, I’m sorry…for those of you who don’t know, I consistently pray over Marlena’s tubes, because if she were to have a baby right now, while RRBC is growing so fast, we’d have to shut down every time she had morning sickness.  Not only that, we’d ALL have to go on maternity leave while she is on maternity leave because this organization CAN NOT function without Marlena Hand.  Believe me when I say, you all would get by without ME just fine, but Marlena…well, I say we all start praying over her tubes together, right now!  She has agreed to let me know when she’s ready to be a mom to a two-legged baby, at which time (per our contract), I will cease praying over her tubes.   So, Mar, what’s the four-legged baby’s name?

MH:  Harli

NJ:  Nice name.  What’s your favorite food?

MH:  Italian

NJ:  Favorite color…

MH:  Blue

NJ:  Favorite sport…

MH:  Favorite sport to watch?  Baseball.  Favorite sport to play?  Volleyball.

NJ:  You didn’t tell me you loved volleyball!  You know how much I love volleyball…to watch, that is, not to play.  Favorite TV Show…

MH:  The crime shows, like CSI or NCIS.

NJ:  Ahhhh, yes, the shows that turn you into a little detective…and we know how much you like to research, don’t we?

Dog researching on the computer

So, who’s your favorite Actress/Actor?

MH: Julia Roberts & Bradley Cooper

NJ:  Julia Roberts is mine, too!  (I told y’all she is a total mini-me!).  Couch potato or workout nut? Be honest, Mar -_____-

MH: Neither. I don’t workout as often as I should, but I am not one to just lounge around. I’m always working on something!

NJ:  Yes, you are always moving and on the go, which is a good thing, exercise-wise.   I think I’m going to get you one of those pedometers that track your steps so that you will ensure you’re getting in at least 10,000 a day.  I wear mine faithfully and love it!  Biggest pet peeve that makes you want to stomach-punch somebody?: (For the record, NJ does not condone violence but she does believe in being honest so she has to admit that there are times when she feels like some friendly stomach-punching is a little necessary…and sometimes not-so-friendly stomach-punching).

MH: Betrayal

NJ:  THAT IS THE WORST!  My hand almost (accidentally) hit you sitting across from me, simply because you said the word, betrayal!   That’s just how much my stomach-punching radar loathes people who betray other’s trust.  Thank goodness, I’m calming down now.  I would NEVER want to accidentally punch my Mar!  Let’s get off that subject quickly!  So, are you neat or messy?

MH: I’m borderline OCD

NJ:  Oh my goodness…I think I gave birth to Marlena.  This child is too much like ME!  #Scary but #Awesome at the same time. Facebook or Twitter, my child?

MH:  Depends on the purpose! Facebook is my connection to high school friends & family. Twitter is my connection to some AMAZING authors.

NJ:  Name two of the most supportive people you’ve met on either Facebook or Twitter? Hurry and tell us so we can become their friend.

MH:  Nonnie, you are a HUGE supporter on Twitter. I think everyone can agree to that!  And actually, my biggest supporters on Twitter are all members of RRBC!

NJ:  Do you hear that world?  THE MOST AWESOME SUPPORTERS ARE MEMBERS OF RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB!  Nonnie Jules or Wonderwoman? Be honest.

MH:  Nonnie and Wonder Woman are one and the same, right?

NJ:  Everyone knows the names Mark Twain and Stephen King, but how about you give us two names of some INDIE authors that you favor…

MH: Since I can only name two, I’ll go outside RRBC … Emily Greenwood & Joyce Schneider. (Maybe they’ll see this and join!)

NJ:  {Marlena, don’t think I love you so much that you can’t have an accident up on this shelf.)  What is it about them that you’ve come to like?

MH:  Emily writes historical romance and her books are very well-written and you are immediately pulled into the characters’ worlds. She also writes about strong, independent women, which I love.

Joyce introduced me to my first medical crime thriller and, like Emily, immediately pulled me in. I find the crime scene world rather fascinating. And I love to be put on the edge of my seat, anxious to see what happens next. Joyce does that easily.

NJ:  OK.  Name two favorite INDIE books that you’ve read

MH: It’s SO hard to think of only two when I’ve read so many awesome ones. First ones that come to mind would be Jazz Baby by Beem Weeks & A Little Night Mischief by Emily Greenwood.

3rd Try

NJ:  ONE good INDIE book you read that was so good you wished the entire world would read it…

MH:  Sugarcoatin’ is for Candy & Pacifyin’ is for Kids … hands down!!

Sugarcoatin Cover

NJ:  (WOW! And I didn’t even have to pay her to say that!  Hopefully, I don’t get billed later.) Thanks, Mar!  I’m happy you enjoyed it that much!  What was so great about it?

MH:  What wasn’t?! The writing, the message, the quotes…

NJ:  …oh, and don’t forget the FIVE errors that have since been corrected. -_________-  Mar, after you read books, do you post reviews?

MH:  I do.

NJ:  What do you think readers should base their reviews on?

MH:  First and foremost, book reviews should be honest, without being harsh. My method is to give a brief description of the book, followed by my thoughts on different elements of the book – writing, the flow, the character development, etc.

NJ:  Sounds like you’re a pretty good reviewer!  Are you one of those who are afraid to be honest in their reviews lest the author gets upset with you, or is honesty your best policy, especially in reviews?

MH:  When I review a book, I try to be honest. I will admit, though, that I reflect more on the positive elements of the book.

NJ:  OK.  Read any poorly written books lately?

MH:  I have not. The last several books I’ve read have been great!

NJ:  You know what, Mar?  Honestly, I have to agree with you.  When I first got into the reviewing biz, oh my goodness, all kinds of literary trash was being dumped over my head, but lately, the Indie world is delivering the goods!

(LITERARY TRASH defined by Nonnie Jules:  A written piece of work that should have had MORE work put into it before it was released, AND when the errors are pointed out to the author, the author makes excuses, instead of rushing to remove and correct/perfect.  “Yes, I Said It!”)   So, Mar, are you an author?

MH:  I am aspiring to publish my own book, but yes, I am a published author.  Right now you can find some of my published work in the Rave Reviews Book Club’s first Anthology:  RAVE SOUP FOR THE WRITER’S SOUL.

Rave Soup own (1)

NJ:  How long have you been writing?

MH:  For as long as I can remember! My first memory comes from 2nd grade, when I was selected to attend a local Young Authors Conference.

NJ:  What books are you working on?

MH:  My WIP is titled (for now!) A Momentary Glance.

NJ:  Do you have a blog or website?

MH:  I do! I have my blog (mylife428.wordpress.com).

NJ:  Name three great online resources or organizations that every author should belong to…

MH:  Well, obviously, I think everyone that loves to read/write should belong to Rave Reviews Book Club. It truly is a wonderful organization that offers one-of-a-kind support.  I enjoy visiting the Writer’s Digest website for tips and advice, and Twitter is an excellent way to network with fellow writers.

NJ:  Which online resource or organization has helped you as an author the most?

MH:  I would have to say Twitter. Mainly because it connected me to the peeps of RRBC.

Dog rolling his eyes

NJ:  “Really, Mar?  Twitter?

NJ:  OK, then…how did TWITTER help you?

MH:  Twitter has helped me connect with some amazing and inspiring people, including fellow writers. If you pay attention, you can learn a lot through Twitter: marketing/promoting techniques, publishing dos & don’ts, etc. And, as I said, if it weren’t for Twitter, I wouldn’t have met YOU and been introduced to this awesome club.

Blushing dog

NJ:  Oh, shucks, you’re making me blush.  Stop it!  As a Rave Reviews Book Club member, what do you really think of the club?

MH:  Rave Reviews is filled with the most amazing people — talented writers, tremendous supporters. It can’t get much better than RRBC. I truly feel blessed that I am able to serve on a Board of some of the best people I know.

NJ:  Well, thank you, again!  You’re singing our praises today, aren’t cha?  Whatdoyawant?  Huh?  It has to be something big!  Let’s move on (while you’re thinking of how to respond to that last question of mine) …have you come across any other online entities like RRBC?

MH: Definitely not!

NJ:  Would you recommend it to your friends and family?

MH:  Oh, I do! Quite often!

NJ:  This shelf is getting hard on my hiney, so we’re going to wrap this interview up.  Any final words?

MH:  I thoroughly enjoyed the interview, Nonnie, and am so grateful for the opportunity to join you on this shelf.

NJ:  Oh, I enjoyed you, too, sweetie.  Hurry and get a book with the author listed as only Marlena Hand, so we can all run out and buy it!  To our guests today, if you’re not following Marlena on her blog or on Twitter, you’re missing out on some grand support!  @mlh42812.  We’ll see you next week with another awesome interview!!! 

31 responses

  1. It is so interesting to read the answers different authors give to this set of questions. It’s a very helpful way of getting a better sense of who my fellow-authors / writer-friends at RBBC really are…

    Like

  2. What a delightful interview. So much sweetness coming from Nonnie ‘sugarcoated’ me! How lovely Marlena is–I had pictued her as a brunette. I’m so happy each time I see Kathyrn Treat mentioned. My fear as a writer is that when I die all my contacts on the internet will forget me. We sure aren’t fogetting Katheryn and that’s how it should be. This session left me with a nice warm feeling inside. Thanks to you both.

    Like

    1. Yes, my Mar is adorable isn’t she? But so are all of my awesome board members! The ladies are gorgeous and the guys are “dashing!” Micki, I’m sure that your contacts on the net will always remember you and your kindness. And so, in that knowledge, Kathryn will not be forgotten and neither will you!

      Like

  3. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    What a nice and interesting interview. Congratulations Marlena. I love these “On the Shelf” interviews and I especially love reading them from the comfort of my couch and my smart er (dumb) phone. I haven’t graduated to anything else yet. lol

    Like

  4. Oh… this is so good!. it is just like seeing two very close friends conversing. Nothing could go wrong.

    Those dogs… one giving the bad eye, and another actually laughing, one has to be very patient to capture such emotions in animals. Good job both of you.

    Like

    1. You are so right, Joy! Nothing bad could have happened on this interview. Mar is my pride and joy!

      Like

  5. Such a fun interview!! I thoroughly enjoyed my time on the shelf with you, Nonnie!! And I’m SO glad I remained on the shelf the whole time!! 😉 Thank you everyone for the incredible support!! You ROCK!!

    Like

    1. Kathryn would have loved this interview!

      Like

      1. Without a doubt, yes, she would’ve loved our chat!

        Like

  6. hilarious as always! doggie pix are fantastic. marlena is adorable!

    Like

    1. Rea, I so agree with you! My Mar is adorable! And so sweet, BUT, can’t you all see the mischief hiding behind those sparkling eyes? Oh, yes, it’s there!

      Like

  7. I LOVED the dog pictures. Almost as much as I loved the interview. LoL

    Like

    1. Liz, a little birdie told me…oh, scratch that…I can’t rat out the little birdie!

      Like

      1. Hehehe you got me there. I’ve no idea what you’re talking about.

        Like

  8. Reblogged this on Liz Gavin's Blog and commented:
    Have fun & learn with these two awesome ladies from RRBC.

    Like

  9. Reblogged this on isabel pietri and commented:
    Another amazing #RRBC member and a great interview by club president Nonnie Jules.

    Like

  10. Reblogged this on A.R. Rivera Books and commented:
    I’ve got a soft spot for Mrs. Marlena Hand. She handled my first blog interview. I was really nervous, but she made the process easy. And since she’s awesome, and a fellow member of the Rave Reviews Book Club, I’m reblogging her interview:

    Like

  11. Another fun interview. It was great to get to know a little about you, Marlena!

    Like

    1. Laurie, did you just get to know a “little” about Mar? I mean, c’mon you guys, I was discussing the girl’s tubes here and NO ONE TOUCHED THAT ONE! LOL!!! Just so everyone knows, this is a very open discussion in the offices of RRBC! And I always mean every word I say about it…LOL! Just ask Mar!

      Thanks for stopping by, Laurie! Glad you enjoyed the interview!

      Like

  12. Reblogged this on Writing and Music and commented:
    Great interview with Rave Reviews Book Club, Marlena Hand!

    Like

  13. Reblogged this on rhanidchae and commented:
    I found this in my inbox today, & enjoyed it so much I had to share. I hope you enjoy learning a few things about Marlena Hand.

    Like

  14. Awesome interview, Marlena! I’m glad you didn’t get pushed. Lol Nonnie, this was a fun way to get my day started. 😃

    Like

    1. Thanks, Rhani, I knew you’d enjoy it! LOL

      Like

  15. An excellent interview, Mar! Glad you survived the shelf – and I’m with Nonnie – can’t wait to buy your first book! 😊

    Like

    1. Of course, she survived the shelf. Did you guys really think that Mar could have an accident up on my shelf? I’d fall for her! -__________-

      Like

  16. Congratulations, Marlena. Looking forward to giving you some support back when your book comes out. 🙂

    Like

  17. It was lovely getting to know more about you, Mar. Can’t wait until your book comes out!

    Like

  18. harmonykentonline | Reply

    A brilliant On The Shelf! It’s great to get to know more about you, Mar 🙂 And you did a good job dodging the loose “hand” of Nonnie’s LOL.
    Yep, we now have “The Two Nonnies”!! (I’m SURE they have nothing in common with “The Two Ronnies”) 😉 😀

    Like

    1. Where/What are the two Ronnies, Harmz???? Mar and I both are wondering, “What is Harmz talking about?”

      Like

  19. How wonderful to get to know a bit more about the lovely Mar! And you’re right; she does sound like a mini-Nonnie 🙂

    PS. Where on Earth do you get those great doggies?? 😀

    Like

    1. Pssst, Nich, ask the dog up on the computer, eh? LOL

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

