Liz Gavin in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?”


Hello, and welcome to “WHO’S ON THE SHELF?” with yours truly, Nonnie Jules!

It’s the interview everyone holds their breath on!  Where guests sometimes have to do a balancing act just to hang on!

photo (18)

{Designed and gifted by the late, Author, Kathryn C. Treat}

Since we are a book club, you know we had to offer something that included a book shelf.  A lot of interviews merely cover an author’s work or an individual’s career stories.  Here on this “SHELF,”  we get down and dirty and ask the questions no other interviewer dare ask.  We ask the questions that you want to open up a book and find the answers to on your favorite authors and fellow book club members, but no one has dared to cover them.  WE get personal!  Because when you sit on the RRBC “SHELF,” YOU are an open book!

Today I have with me on the “SHELF” Author, Liz Gavin!  I recently met Liz as a client of 4WillsPublishing and her personality, kindness and zest for life, was just so overwhelming, that I had to introduce her to you all here on the Shelf!!

DSC04068

NJ:  Before we get started, how does the “shelf” feel to you?  Is it comfy?

LG:  It’s perfect, Nonnie. You and the readers don’t know it but my idea of Paradise is an endless library – like that gorgeous scene from the movie ‘What Dreams May Come’ when Robin Williams meets Max Von Sydow in the afterlife – so I couldn’t feel any more comfortable.

NJ:  Let’s start by confirming whether or not your author name is your birth name or a pen name?

LG:  It’s a pen name.

NJ:  Really, mind telling us why you chose that name?

LG:  When I was a child, I wanted to be Elizabeth Taylor when I grew up. I didn’t know we only got to choose our profession not our appearance. LOL. So, the first name was a no-brainer , ‘Liz’. For the surname, I picked an Irish name because I wanted something from Ireland. Gavin is the first name of Bono’s childhood friend. You know Bono, right? A short, loud Irish who’s always on the news talking about some worthy cause; hanging out with a politician or Nobel Prize recipient? In his spare time, he sings with U2. I am a HUGE fan so I became Ms. Gavin.

 

NJ:  What an interesting tale now please ell us where you were born?  Do you still live there now?  If not, what city and state are you calling home these days?

LG:  I was born and raised in São Paulo, Brazil. I’ve done quite a lot of travelling; I’ve lived abroad but my home is here.

NJ:  Married or single?

LG:  Single. I’ve never married.

NJ:  Kids or no?  If yes, how many?  Sons or Daughters?

LG:  I don’t have kids.

NJ:  Pets?  What kind?

LG:  Does my brother’s dog count as my pet? LOL!  I LOVE dogs and you know these little rascals recognize that, right? So, even though Pingo – that’s his name – doesn’t live with me, I visit him every Sunday, I mean, I visit my brother, sister-in-law and nieces every week. Pingo is the cutest street dog you’ll ever find and the loveliest.

NJ:  Favorite food…

LG:  Pizza – no doubt about that. I’ve got a lot of Italian blood in my veins to justify the choice as well.

NJ:  Favorite color…

LG:  Purple

NJ:  Favorite sport…

LG:  Volleyball for practicing and Formula 1 for watching

NJ:  WOW!  We all seem to love Volleyball, don’t we?  #VolleyballMomHere.  Favorite TV Show, Liz?

LG:  Nowadays, I’d have to say House of Cards because Breaking Bad has been canceled.

NJ:  Favorite Actress/Actor…

LG:  Wow, this is a hard question for me because there are many actors and actresses I admire. Alright, then, if I must choose, I’ll not consider classic movies because that wouldn’t be fair. I’d say Meryl Streep and Kevin Spacey for consistently delivering good performances.

NJ:  Couch potato or workout nut? Be honest now, Liz. -____________-

LG:  I’m not a total couch potato because I love walking and jogging but you won’t catch me in a gym. Ever!

NJ:  So, Liz, as an un-licensed-self-proclaimed-therapist, what I “hear” you saying is, you’re a light weight at exercise…

Chihuahua exercising

…and it makes you sleepy.

Dog sleeping on treadmill

So, now that we know THAT about you,  what’s your biggest pet peeve that makes you want to stomach-punch somebody?: (For the record, NJ does not condone violence but she does believe in being honest so she has to admit that there are times when she feels like some friendly stomach-punching is a little necessary).

LG:  Lying. I’ve never thrown a punch at anyone but the thing that makes me want to do that is catching a lie.

NJ:  OMG! That’s another one that makes me want to pull somebody else’s hair out!   Neat or messy? Let’s keep the momentum going!

LG:  Neat but within sane limits –I mean, I’m not OCD about it.

NJ:  {Nonnie scoots dangerously close to Liz…then clears her throat with a menacing look on her face}  Uh, Liz, what’s wrong with being OCD?

Angry puppy

 {“Say it again!  I dare ya!)

NJ:  “No response?  OK, we’ll table that discussion until after the interview.”  Which is your favorite, Facebook or Twitter?

LG:  I like Facebook because I can get a more in-depth idea of my virtual friends’ likes, dislikes and passions because the posts are longer than 140 characters. On the other hand, I love the dynamic feel of Twitter, even though I’m still learning how to use it.

NJ:  Name two of the most supportive people you’ve met on either Facebook or Twitter? Hurry and tell us so we can become their friend.

LG:  On Twitter, I get a lot of support from RRBC members, mainly you, both as @NonnieJules and @4WillsPub, @Harmony_Kent, @KK_Allen, @sheba915 (Isabel Pietri), @BeemWeeks, @Tamie Dearen, @Sharrislaughter (Shirley Harris-Slaughter), @Gunderstone (Jason Zandri), but I’ll stop here because I’m sure I’m forgetting many nice people and I don’t want to be unfair.

NJ:  WOW!  Impressive, supportive group there!  Thanks for including me!  Nonnie Jules or Wonderwoman? Be honest.

LG:  Well… when I was a kid, Wonderwoman was my favorite show on TV, I wanted to be like Linda Carter when I grew up, so… you know… Tell you what, let’s say Wonderwoman is my childhood hero and Nonnie Jules is my adult one. Deal?

NJ:  I can live with that, Gavin.  Got yourself a deal!  Everyone knows the names Mark Twain and Stephen King, but how about you give us two names of some INDIE authors that you favor.

LG:  Lilliana Anderson and K.K. Allen.

NJ:  What is it about them that you’ve come to like?

LG:  They’re both talented storytellers who make it seem easier than it really is. I mean, they spellbind you with their well-developed plots and characters so that you don’t want to put their books down.

NJ:  Name two favorite INDIE books that you’ve read…

LG:  A Beautiful Struggle by Lilliana Anderson and Summer Solstice by KK Allen.

The Summer Solstice by K K Allen

NJ:  ONE good INDIE book you read that was so good you wished the entire world would read it…

LG:  Forever Torn by Jason Greenfield.

NJ:  What was so great about it?

LG:  It’s a gripping story beautifully written. He tells his grandfather’s moving story, which includes escaping war, being separated from family, surviving hardships.

NJ:  Sounds like an interesting read.  After you read books, do you post reviews?

LG:  I didn’t use to do that as much as I do now. Even though I‘ve always loved reading, I never thought my opinion would amount to much mainly because I was unaware of Indie Authors. Until very recently, I thought all books available from online stores were published by the established publishing houses. I had no idea about rankings either. I was so ignorant!! Lol Now I know better.

NJ:  And Liz, we are so glad that you do!!!  What do you think readers should base their reviews on?

LG:  The quality of the writing – the author’s ability to conduct the reader through the text, be it fiction or non-fiction.

NJ:  Are you one of those who are afraid to be honest in their reviews lest the author gets upset with you, or is honesty your best policy, especially in reviews?

LG:  I must confess I used to be harsher before I became a writer. Although, in my defense, I have to say I’m not afraid the author will get upset with me but now I understand how hard an author works so I may have gotten more lenient. I try to point out aspects that need improving without discouraging the person.

NJ:  Honestly, Liz…I’ve been hearing a ton of authors say what you just said:  “I understand how hard an author works.”  Well, ALL AUTHORS don’t work that hard and I say that, because of the quality of work that some put out.  To me, working hard as an Author is ALWAYS and CONTINUALLY feeling that you should go back and perfect your work, whenever the need arises, and that’s when someone has spent their hard-earned or easy-to-come-by money, on your book, read it, and brought your hiccups to your attention.  I’ve pointed out some major hiccups in some author’s books and some have said, “I’m done with that book…I’m tired of that book and I’m not doing anything else to it.  The way it is now, is the way it will remain.”  That says to me, that you are not a true writer and you’re content to continually add to the mass of junk already flooding the literary market.  And many readers of books (even some members of RRBC), continue to give these books high marks simply because they don’t know how to  speak their truths, OR, much worse…someone gave their book a high mark and they’re returning the favor.  Y’all, stop doing that, please.  You help no one by telling them their work is grand, when it clearly isn’t.  Being truthful with writers, can only help them to improve and get better, IF they want to.  And if anyone isn’t really sure that I just said all of what they just read, “YES, I SAID IT!”  No Sugarcoatin‘ here!  -________-  So, Liz, read any poorly written books lately?

LG:  Not since I became an RRBC member.

NJ:  Really?  Well, I have (since I became a member).  I remember in the early stages of the club, it was like…every book I picked up, was “pure trash.”  (Sorry, Bette, but at least I plugged it!).  But, I happily admit that lately, I’ve been reading pure gems!  So, I’m elated to hear you say that you’ve only picked up some good reads! And c’mon, do tell where that review is!

LG:  I’ve read some pretty awful books but I haven’t reviewed them because I had nothing positive to say about them. The worst case I remember has to be a book called Bound to me: the editing was horrible, practically non-existent; the author mixed up present tense and past tense, the storyline was very poorly developed with more holes than a Swiss cheese and superficial characters.

NJ:  Well, just so you know, I went looking for that title, but there were five with the same title!  Darnit!  Anyway, Liz, are you an author?

LG:  Yes, I am. I know I’ve got a lot to learn but I’m eager to do that.

NJ:  Well, good for you!  I love that attitude.  And just so you know, WE all have a lot to learn, even those of us who think we know it all!  How long have you been writing?

LG:  I published my first short-story on September 12th 2013.

NJ:  -__________-  Oh, you are new!  You remembered the exact date!  LOL.  I can give you the month my books were born, and hon, I’m gonna be wrong on some of those!  LOL.  What books have you written?

LG:  NONNIE – I know RRBC doesn’t promote erotica so I think I’d better just talk about Luck of the Irish here –

I wrote some short-stories, and my first novel in the erotica genre, which RRBC doesn’t promote and I respect that rule. So, I’ll mention my second novel – Luck of the Irish – a contemporary romance (with a sound dose of mystery and paranormal as well) set in Ireland. It can be found only on Amazon. That means, Kindle Unlimited subscribers get it for free.

Nowadays, I’m working on my first historical romance called Celtic Fire.

NJ:  Well, thank you, Liz!  Because if I get one more email that a member should be booted out of the club because ‘they said the word SEX’…someone might just get stomach-punched, is all I’m sayin’.  So, even though you’ve talked more about Luck of the Irish, which one of your books do you think is the best?

LG:  I’m very proud of Luck of the Irish, although Celtic Fire is starting to look good as well.

NJ:  Good, I’m sure your fans can’t wait!  Do you have a blog or website?

LG:  I’m still working on my business website but the blog is up and running and here’s the link:  https://lizgavin.wordpress.com

NJ:  Name three great online resources or organizations that every author should belong to…

LG:  RRBC, 4WillsPublishing and I recently discovered The eReader Cafe which showcases book deals and freebies at very reasonable prices and with a surprisingly high return in sales.

NJ:  I’m so thankful #RRBC and @4WillsPub were your top two choices!  Which online resource or organization has helped you as an author the most?

LG:  RRBC – hands-down

NJ:  Awwww, thank you, Liz!  So very sweet of you to say!  So, how were you helped by the most awesome book club around?

Liz:  Do you need to ask? LOL!  Just kidding, Nonnie! RRBC has given me a chance to meet awesome, talented people who find the time in their busy schedules to support other authors. That is admirable and priceless. In the very brief time since I’ve joined the Tweet Support Team – 10 days – I have gotten so many new followers, so many replies and re-tweets that I regret not having joined last year as I had planned. It’s easy, it’s fun and it takes me no more than ten minutes to tweet everyone twice a week. Plus, I’m here on the shelf with you today! (Liz stands up, opens her arms and shouts… “I’m queen of the world!”). Oops.. wrong place, wrong movie… sorry, Nonnie. I got carried away.

3 Shocked dogs

{‘Did she really just do that? What are the neighbors thinking?‘}

NJ:  Uh, OK. -___________-   Liz, you’re a very active and supportive Rave Reviews Book Club member, so what do you “really” think of the club?

LG:  It’s the best group of people I’ve met in this industry since I started publishing. YOU ROCK!

NJ:  Why, thank you, Liz.  When you say YOU, I take it you mean I rock all by myself?  Great!  Have you come across any other online entities like it?

LG:  Nope. And I don’t think I will any time soon.

NJ:  You’re right, Liz.  You’ve gotta give the copy-cats time to “think this thing through.”  So, would you recommend the club to your friends and family?

LG:  I do!

NJ:  OK, this shelf is getting hard on my hiney, so we’re going to wrap this interview up.  Any final words?

LG:  To your readers, thank you for sticking around until the end of this interview. I hope you had fun with it because I did.

To aspiring authors out there, get your #RRBC membership, sit down in front of your computer screen and start writing. Let us help you do the rest.

To you WonderNonnie, I mean WonderWoman… oh, my! I’m so confused here. LOL. Nonnie, I don’t know where you find the time to do everything you do: your blogs, Twitter accounts, Facebook pages, RRBC and 4WillsPublishing, keeping the same high quality standards in all of them. I take my hat off to you and THANK YOU for having me up here on the shelf by your side.

NJ:  Liz, I will readily admit, that I am able to do all that I do with my blogs, Twitter accounts, FB pages, RRBC & 4WillsPub because of one little darling, Marlena Hand!  Liz, I told you a while ago that I was keeping my eye on you and you have such a vibrant spirit…and I love that!  Keep being you, and keep wanting to learn more and more and more.  We’re so glad you joined us on The Shelf and made it so much fun for us all here today!  THANK YOU!

Guests, thanks so much for stopping by, and I would ask that, if you haven’t already, please run and pick up a copy of one of Liz’s books, no matter the genre.  Liz is just coming off of a week-long awesome blog tour where she shared some awesome marketing tips.  If you’d like to still read them, just visit her Blog Tour page at 4WillsPublishing.  Take care everyone.  We’ll see you here next week with our 1st “SPOTLIGHT”  Author of 2015.  I wonder who it will be!!!

LUCK OF THE IRISH

LUCK OF THE IRISH by Liz Gavin

53 responses

  1. […] so far), became a Blog Tour Host, participated in blog tours as visitor and as an author, NONNIE JULES received me for an interview on her famous shelf, the Governing Board invited me to work with them, […]

    Like

  2. What a fun and interesting interview! Thanks Nonnie for the comments about truthful reviews. “Y’all, stop doing that, please. You help no one by telling them their work is grand, when it clearly isn’t. Being truthful with writers, can only help them to improve and get better, IF they want to.” So true!

    Like

    1. Thank you for stopping by and commenting, Suzanne. I had a great time on the shelf with Nonnie. It’s so refreshing to talk to truthful people, isn’t it? 🙂

      Like

  3. harmonykentonline | Reply

    Great interview Liz and Nonnie! It’s great to learn more about you, Liz 🙂 Best of luck with your writing! (Oh, and careful with that “standing up in high places” LOL) 😉

    Like

    1. Hey, Harmony! Thank YOU for visiting us.
      You are right about standing while up here on Nonnie’s shelf. I don’t know what I was thinking. LoL
      Thanks for the kind words and awesome support – as always. You ROCK.
      Liz

      Like

  4. I just read your interview and love how you came to pick your pen name. So creative and meaningful! Great to get to know you!

    Like

    1. Hey Laurie.
      Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts. Your support is much appreciated.
      I’m glad you had fun with the interview.

      Like

  5. Liz, this was a delightful interview and I’m happy to meet you. I started writing rather late as well and it’s my great pleasure to be published and actually have written a whole book. I do professional book reviewing and find that it actually helps sell my book–just so you know.

    Nonnie gets an A+ for ‘almost’ perfect behavior and those dog expressions are taking over the interview–hysterical!!

    Like

    1. Hi, Micki and thank YOU so much for the visit and the comment. I’ll look into the professional reviewing idea. 😀
      You’re absolutely right about Nonnie getting an A+.
      Now, those are the REAL STARS here.

      Talk soon,

      Like

  6. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    Those designs by Kathryn are so appropriate for this venue. And this is the first time my name has come up in anyone’s interview and I thank you Liz for adding me to your list of supporters. You are an interesting and very supportive member yourself. Thanks Nonnie for interviewing Liz so we can get to know her. Please forgive me for my lateness. Its tax time and I have another organization that I had to close the books on. Now I have to do my own. lol

    Like

    1. Wow, Shirley! I’m honored to be the first to mention you and I merely stated a fact because I often see you both in my Twitter and in my Facebook notifications. 😀
      Thank YOU for the visit, the comments and the support. You are much appreciated.

      Like

  7. What a great interview!! I thoroughly enjoyed it, Liz & Nonnie!! I completely agree with so many things you said here! Especially about Nonnie and all the hard work she does for all of us. She’s a real-life WonderWoman! 🙂 And your idea of paradise… I couldn’t agree more!! I annoy my husband at how many books I have (and how few book shelves). LOL

    Like

    1. Hi, Marlena! You’re not that far from WonderWoman yourself, huh?
      Thank YOU for the awesome job you do for us.
      I’m glad you enjoyed the interview because I had the best time. 😀

      Talk to you soon.

      Like

  8. great fun, as always. liz is an interesting and well-traveled writer!

    Like

    1. Hi, Rea! Thank you for your very kind words & for visiting. Your support is much appreciated. 😀

      Like

  9. Great fun! So, Liz, you grew up in Brazil, are part-Italian and are fascinated by the Irish. And, of course, your photo was shot somewhere in China (?) Wow! 😀

    Like

    1. Hey, Nicholas. That’s right. I love traveling and experiencing different cultures. The writing in the picture misled you, though. Both Japanese & Chinese use that alphabet. I was in Tokyo, December 2012. AWESOME place and great people. 😀
      Thanks for taking time out of your blog tour to stop by and read this interview.
      See you soon,
      Liz

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s one of the places I want to visit! After I had posted my comment, I remembered that your Twitter avatar has the Eiffel tower in the background! 😀

        Like

        1. I guess you’d love Japan. It is such a beautiful, well-organized place. Living in a city with around I was surprised 15 million inhabitants, I always complain about feeling over-crowed and how rude people are. Walking the wide sidewalks of the extremely clean Tokyo streets, I had a pleasant surprise discovering it IS possible for millions of people to share the same city without bumping against each other every 100 meters. 😀
          Now, Greece is on the top of my list of places to visit in this lifetime.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I hope some day to visit Japan. Greece does have many lovely spots, but Athens is pretty crowded – even if it’s only got some 3.5 million people. Which is why I only go downtown maybe half a dozen times a year 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  10. Another very interesting interview!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Bruce, for stopping by. I’m glad you liked the chat!

      Like

  11. Wow. Awesome interview. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you for stopping by & I’m glad you liked it. 🙂

      Like

  12. Great interview Liz and Nonnie. I loved the story of how you chose your pen name, Liz. And Nonnie, those dog pictures are perfect 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi, Michelle. Good to see you here! I’m glad you had a good time and you’re right about those dogs. THEY ARE WONDERFUL. 😀

      Like

  13. Great interview. I’m off to tweet about it.

    Like

    1. Thank you for stopping by and tweeting about it. I’m glad you enjoyed the interview.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Awesome interview Liz and Jules! That cover sparked my interest alone!! Great job ladies!!

    Like

    1. Thank you! I had a lot of fun during the interview as well

      Like

  15. Loved this performance, Liz & Nonnie! You had us worried when you stood up like that on the shelf, Liz! Love those pictures, Nonnie!!! Nicholas… move over!!

    Like

    1. I know, Fio! Because these days, I know of no forum where it is OK to make sudden movements like that (especially not around trigger-happy police officers). Liz, you could have been shot!!!!! LOL

      Like

    2. Oh, what can I say, guys? I’m a thrill seeker. LoL

      Like

  16. Reblogged this on Liz Gavin's Blog and commented:
    It’s an honor to be in this SHELF! 🙂

    Like

  17. Wow! This is really nice. Thanks to both of you for such sweet performance! Only on the shelf can one see a dog ( or was that a cat?) give someone the bad eye, and for three dogs to stare in surprise. Wherever you get these expressive animals, Nonnie, keep them coming. They add so much color to the shelf.

    Like

    1. Joy, I hope it was a dog (because I don’t do cats…they terrify me!)…LOL, thanks for the visit!

      Like

      1. I’m not a cat person either. 😀

        Like

    2. Glad you liked it, JOy. I had the best time.

      Like

  18. Nice one Liz (and Nonnie!) – What Dreams May Come is one of my favourite films too 😀

    Like

    1. Thank YOU, Jan for stopping by and reading the interview. 😀

      Like

  19. It was nice learning more about you – congrats for getting on the shelf.

    (Thanks for the plug too).

    Like

    1. TY, Jason for your support.
      I’m glad you liked the interview.

      Like

  20. Another enjoyable interview on the shelf. You should be careful, Liz. Standing up could make it so much easier for you to topple off. 🙂

    I really liked that movie with Robin Williams.

    Like

    1. Rebecca, stop it, you’re giving the next one too many escape exits! She was a prime target though, when she stood up and said she was on top of the world. I mean, accidents do happen when you make sudden movements like that! LOL

      Like

    2. Thank YOU, Rebecca, for stopping by.
      I don’t now what I was thinking. LoL

      Like

      1. oops, I’m also trigger happy here. Sorry about posting the comment before finishing it. I meant to say –

        Thank YOU, Rebecca, for stopping by.
        I don’t now what I was thinking. LoL standing up like that was dangerous but I was SO happy to be on the SHELF… 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

