Michael Eging in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?”


Hello, and welcome to “WHO’S ON THE SHELF?” with yours truly, Nonnie Jules!  Since we are a book club, you know we had to offer something that included a book shelf.  A lot of interviews merely cover an author’s work or an individual’s career stories.  Here on this “SHELF,”  we get down and dirty and ask the questions no other interviewer dare ask.  We ask the questions that you want to open up a book and find the answers to on your favorite authors and fellow book club members, but no one has dared to cover them.  WE get personal!  Because when you sit on the RRBC “SHELF,” YOU are an open book!

Today I have with me on the “SHELF” our Current “SPOTLIGHT” Author, Michael Eging!!!

Mike and Will

NJ:  Before we get started, how does the “shelf” feel to you?  Is it comfy?

Michael:  Absolutely. Always nice to be sandwiched between an Action Adventure and a Thriller!

NJ:  Let’s start by confirming whether or not your author name is your birth name or a pen name?

Michael:  It is my birth name. I suppose I just couldn’t think of anything more creative.

NJ:  Tell us where you were born?  Do you still live there now?  If not, what city and state are you calling home these days?

Michael:  I am from Chardon, Ohio. I grew up on a small farm there. Unfortunately, we don’t live there now. But we love living in Centreville, Virginia.

NJ:  Married or single?

Michael:  Married.

NJ:  Kids or no?  If yes, how many?  Sons or Daughters?

Michael:  We have five wonderful children, three daughters and two boys.

NJ:  Favorite child (if you have any, and be honest…I’m sure they’re not reading this interview):

Michael:  I was just asked this question the other day by my sixteen-year-old daughter, Gwen. I told her, and I do believe it, that I love each of them beyond what they can imagine.

Girl rolling eyes

“Yea, right, Dad”

NJ:  Pets?  What kind?

Michael:  We are definitely a pet family! Currently we have two dogs, a Bernese Mountain Dog and a chou/collie mix. Add to that a rabbit, two guinea pigs and a hamster… you get the picture!

Many dogs

NJ:  Uh, yea, we got the picture!  Favorite food…

Michael:  I love an occasional hamburger. And being from the DC area, Five Guys is usually a good choice!

NJ:  Favorite color…

Michael:  Red.

Wino red shirt

NJ:  Yea, there was something about that red shirt you’re wearing that kinda gave me that impression. Dog rolling his eyes

Favorite sport…

Michael:  I love many sports – football, rugby, basketball and baseball. I also engage in Historical European Martial Arts. We focus on recreating from historical European masters the forgotten martial traditions of Europe. My favorite focus is the long sword.

NJ:  Interesting! Favorite TV Show…

Michael:  Currently, Walking Dead.

NJ:  Favorite Actress/Actor…

Michael:  Russell Crowe. He chews up the screen, no matter what role he takes on.

NJ:  He’s one of my favorites, too and it doesn’t hurt that he’s easy on the eyes as well.  (Ladies, this one’s on me).Russell Crowe in tub

Oh, I’m sorry, Michael…I must have blinked out for a moment.  So, are you a couch potato or workout nut? Be honest, now.

Michael:  I am a mix of the two! I love being active. But I sure do also love my crashing time.

NJ:  Biggest pet peeve that makes you want to stomach-punch somebody? (For the record, NJ does not condone violence but she does believe in being honest so she has to admit that there are times when she feels like some friendly stomach-punching is a little necessary).

Michael:  Anonymous rants or posts on various boards focused on contemporary issues. I think there would be much more constructive dialogue if people put skin in the game by identifying themselves.

NJ:  Let’s face it, Michael.  Do you seriously think that every pic you see of someone online is ACTUALLY them?  I doubt that very seriously.  So, now we’re opening a new can of worms, and we’re saying:  “Rant all you want and hide behind that pic of someone’s mother.”  Are you neat or messy?

Michael:  A mixture of both!

NJ:  OK, well that might get you half way to that island of messy folks, i’m creating in my mind.  Facebook or Twitter?

Michael:  I like Facebook because I can keep up with family and friends. But Twitter has been an interesting adventure that I began when we published Annwyn’s Blood.

NJ:  Name two of the most supportive people you’ve met on either Facebook or Twitter? Hurry and tell us so we can become their friend.

Michael:  So many helpful people, I’m not sure I can pair it down to two! And everyone should friend them!

@Car01am @ph_solomon

NJ:  (For the record, Michael listed about 100 folks, and since he couldn’t pair it down, I did it for him) -__________-   Nonnie Jules or Wonderwoman? Be honest.

Michael:  I am not sure how she pulls it off. You never see them together!

NJ:  Everyone knows the names Mark Twain and Stephen King but how about you give us two names of some INDIE authors that you favor:

Michael:  Jeff Whelan, author of Space Orville. And, Melissa McPhail, author of Cephrael’s Hand.

NJ:  (Thank goodness, he kept that to two) What is it about them that you’ve come to like?

Michael:  Jeff Whelan has a whimsical voice that reminded me of Monty Python in space. I just spent most of my time while reading the book just laughing out loud;  Melissa is a fantasy author with tremendous ambition. And her book had enthralled me as I turned each page.

NJ:  Name two favorite INDIE books that you’ve read:

Michael:  Space Orville would be one. Also, Cretaceous Clay and the Ninth Ring, by D.A. Knight.

NJ: ONE good INDIE book you read that was so good you wished the entire world would read it:

Michael:  Space Orville!

NJ:  OK, what was so great about it?

Michael:  It was good fun that I could pass along to my kids when I was done.

NJ:  After you read books, do you post reviews?

Michael:  I certainly do! I am currently, however, in a backlog of indie books and will have more to come!

NJ:  What do you think readers should base their reviews on?

Michael:  I think there are many things that are legitimate to go into a review. Obviously, the strength of the story. But also, reviews may include editing, formatting and the like.

NJ:  Are you one of those who are afraid to be honest in their reviews lest the author gets upset with you, or is honesty your best policy, especially in reviews?

Michael:  I am usually a pretty honest person. But when I read a book that I’m not enamored with, I try to find something that I can focus on that I enjoyed. I read a book by a conventional author that I usually love. But the book was so full of typos and errors that it distracted me from a magnificent story. By the time I was through it, I wanted it just to end. Shame on the editors at a major publishing house.

NJ:  Read any poorly written books lately?

Michael:  Of course!

NJ:  I love it!  And thanks for your honesty!  It makes me want to claw my own eyes out when I see authors giving every book they read a 5* review.  For the record, if you are in ear-shot of my screaming voice:  When you do that, YOU ARE NOT BEING HONEST!!! It is not possible that EVERY book you read is going to be great!  Not possible!  OK, now that I’m done ranting, where’s your review so we can go check it out?  LOL.  No, seriously.

Michael:  I haven’t written it yet! 

NJ:  Are you an author?

Michael:  Yes!

NJ:  How long have you been writing?

Michael:  I’ve been writing since I was old enough to carry around a pencil and paper!

NJ:  What books have you written? (Please include the purchase links to these books)

Michael:  Annwyn’s Blood is currently available. 

Annwyn's Blood Cover

It can be found at the following links:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AFDWHYE

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/257505

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/annwyns-blood-michael-eging/1117529799?ean=9781493726486

http://www.booksamillion.com/p/Annwyns-Blood/Michael-Eging/9781493726486?id=5914569196560

“A Silver Horn Echoes – The Song of Roland” is at the publisher now. It will be released later this year. And I will soon be releasing the fantasy short-story, “What’s in a Name?”

NJ:  Which one do you think is the best?

Michael:  They are each very different. We wrote Annwyn’s Blood while in college. Obviously, I’ve grown as a writer since and so has my co-author, so Song of Roland will be quite different. And of course, my short stories will take a variety of departures that I hope readers will enjoy!

NJ:  Do you have a blog or website?

Michael:  Currently, you can find me on Facebook.

https://www.facebook.com/PaladinofShadows

We’ll launch a website once we get through this next wave of releases!

NJ:  Name three great online resources or organizations that every author should belong to:

Michael:  First, of course, Rave Reviews Book Club 

Second, Independent Author Network at http://www.independentauthornetwork.com/index.html

NJ:  Which online resource or organization has helped you as an author the most?

They have both been incredibly helpful. Both of them take the time to use social media to encourage readers to consider the work of members.

NJ:  OK, since you’re sitting on the SHELF, you’re obviously a Rave Reviews Book Club member, so what do you think of the club?

Michael:  We are off to a brilliant start. I love the camaraderie and the sense of ownership that we have for each other. I often find myself picking up other member’s work, and adding to my very long list of books I need to catch up on!

NJ:  Have you come across any other online entities like it?

Michael:  I haven’t. It is truly unique.

NJ:  Would you recommend it to your friends and family?

Michael:  I already do!

NJ:  This shelf is getting hard on my hiney, so we’re going to wrap this interview up.  Any final words?

Michael:  Thank you for taking the time to get to know both my work and me. Thanks for all you do for indie authors! We truly are stronger together!   And if anyone who is reading this isn’t a member of the club, please join! In fact, join now! You’ll be glad you did!

 NJ:  Thanks for that compliment, Michael and thank you so much for joining us here today.   That was truly an interesting and informative interview.   You have made our interview on the SHELF today fun.   To my guests, please support Michael  by picking up a copy of his book, ANNWYN’S BLOOD.  You can also support him by visiting his blog stops on his tour which ends on Saturday.  You can find the tour line up here.

19 responses

  1. This is a good down to earth, strictly to the point interview, and I like it. Good job to both of you. Cheers! 🙂

    Like

  2. Wonderful to know more about you Michael! Great interview.

    Like

  3. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    I enjoyed your interview on the Shelf. Congratulations!!

    Like

  4. Another great interview, Nonnie. You know how much I love those doggie pictures but this time you literally made me drool… Russell Crowe in the tub *swoons*… LOL

    Michael, I’m glad you made it in one piece. That shelf is awesome but can be dangerous. Hahaha Good job.

    Like

  5. Another really enjoyable interview, which made me laugh out loud at times. Certainly had all that a good interview needs—a naked Mr. Crowe ( still drooling) cute pets , a interesting informative writer and a sassy, albeit well-behaved interviewer! What’s not to like?

    Like

  6. another enjoyable and informative interview!

    Like

  7. Nice interview. Loved the pet line up Michael and the pictures Nonnie.

    Like

  8. Good interview claps loudly – although it took me a while to tear my eyes away from Mr. Crowe… lol

    Like

  9. Fantastic interview! As always, I love the pictures.

    Like

  10. […] Michael Eging in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?”. […]

    Like

  11. Nice interview. Lots of cool pictures. 🙂

    Like

  12. Interesting interview. Best of luck Michael.

    Like

  13. Another fantastic interview! On The Shelf sets the mark for indie interviews!

    Like

  14. I really enjoyed this interview, Nonnie and Mike! The pictures are to die for!!!

    Like

  15. Great interview. I love the cover art for your book!

    Like

  16. harmonykentonline | Reply

    Brilliant interview, guys! Loved every bit of it :)) I thought you did really well, Michael, to not have any “accidents” up there! LOL … I so hope you are enjoying your time in the RRBC Spotlight!

    Like

  17. Reblogged this on Novels by Jennifer Hinsman and commented:
    Happening today!

    Like

  18. May I say that Michael in an excellent choice for an interviewee.

    Like

Leave a Reply

