April Adams in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?”


Hello, and welcome to “WHO’S ON THE SHELF?” with yours truly, Nonnie Jules!  Since we are a book club, you know we had to offer something that included a book shelf.  A lot of interviews merely cover an author’s work or an individual’s career stories.  Here on this “SHELF,”  we get down and dirty and ask the questions no other interviewer dare ask.  We ask the questions that you want to open up a book and find the answers to on your favorite authors and fellow book club members, but no one has dared to cover them.  WE get personal!  Because when you sit on the RRBC “SHELF,” YOU are an open book!

Today I have with me on the “SHELF” our Current “SPOTLIGHT” Author, April Adams!!!  April is so very sweet and supportive and I’m so glad she’s here sharing with us today.

Me and Bonnie

NJ:  Before we get started, how does the “shelf” feel to you?  Is it comfy?

April:  It’s nice! Should I sit up or lay down? I dunno. I’ll go for what feels right.

NJ:  Please, sit up, lying down on this shelf, might send the wrong message about what’s going on up here. (April giggles at that. Nonnie just stares  -___________-).  Let’s start by confirming whether or not your author name is your birth name or a pen name?

April:  It’s both my birth name and pen name. I use my maiden name as my nom de plume.

NJ:  Tell us where you were born?  Do you still live there now?  If not, what city and state are you calling home these days?

April:  I was born and raised in the tiny town of Magnolia, Texas. Now I live a bit west of there in Cypress, Texas.

NJ:  Just so you know, I was born in that big city surrounding Cypress, but my family moved to Louisiana when I was around 3 yrs.  But, I’m there an awful lot as I still have family there, (The Woodlands, Spring, Clear Lake areas).  Married or single?

April:  Married for 11 years.

NJ:  I assume that cutie in the photo (which is why I enlarged it so!) is yours?  If yes, how many?  Sons or Daughters?

April:  Yep. Our son Eli is 6 and our daughter Bonnie is 9 months old.

NJ:  Favorite child (and be honest…they’re babies so they can’t read this BIG interview)

April:  Lol! I love them both to pieces. No favorites yet, but my 6 year old lets me sleep…

NJ:  I totally agree.  The child that requires the least…ALWAYS the favorite!  LOL.  But, seriously, I know you love them both equally (but that Eli’s got my vote on most fave right now!…LOL) Pets?  What kind?

April:  A ragdoll cat named Cotton and a Border collie mix named Daisy.

NJ:  Favorite food…

April:  Red wine, coffee, chocolate.

NJ:  I’m with you on the coffee (don’t tell Marlena) and the chocolate (tell everyone!) Favorite color…

April:  Green

NJ:  Favorite sport…

April:  Not much of a sports fan but I do love roller derby.

NJ:  Wait a minute, you live in Houston (Cypress…same thing) and you’re “not much of a sports fan?”  You’re there with the Rockets and the Texans and you’re not big on sports?  I would suggest you keep that tidbit just between us.  (whispers) Sssshhhh, Don’t say that out loud….let’s keep that between us.  What’s your favorite TV Show…

April:  Doctor Who

NJ:  Favorite Actress/Actor…

April:  Tom Hiddleston. He is amazeballs.

NJ:  Hmm, never heard of him.  So are you a couch potato or workout nut? Be honest

April:  Bit of both actually. I love to run and I recently got a punching bag for my garage.

NJ:  Great!  I love punching bags!  There was a time when all you needed was someone you weren’t too fond of standing in front of you. Then they go and create something specifically for that use!  Punching bags instead of punching people…what a novel and legal concept!  Biggest pet peeve that makes you want to stomach-punch somebody? (For the record, NJ does not condone violence but she does believe in being honest so she has to admit that there are times when she feels like some friendly stomach-punching is a little necessary.  I just explained my feelings about this with the punching bag story.)

April:  Mine is people who don’t ever question the status-quo nor do their own research on a topic. I hate that more than bad grammar.

NJ:  Are you neat or messy?

April:  I am neat(ish). My kids are messy so my house is messy… I guess I fall somewhere in between.

NJ:  Now, you do look neat-ish to me, April.  But ya lost me when you said “my kids are messy, so my house is messy.”  Nope.  You missed something in that statement, though….the part where you said MY HOUSE.  Which means, the way you want it, is the way it will be.  Now, I may have to ban you to the island of folks where my oldest daughter and hubby are being exiled to.  The island of messy folks! *Deep Sigh*  That island is getting so over-crowded.  Facebook or Twitter?

April:  Facebook I guess. I don’t like being limited.

NJ:  Name two of the most supportive people you’ve met on either Facebook or Twitter? Hurry and tell us so we can become their friend.

April:  Hmmm. I don’t really know! Twitter folks are mostly strangers and my facebook peeps are almost all real friends and acquaintances. I guess my sister Emily Parkinson and my friend Doris Beruby. They’ve always been very supportive.

NJ:  Awww, how sweet of you to name your sister!  I love that!  Nonnie Jules or Wonderwoman? Be honest…

April:  Not sure I understand the question. Nonnie does more work than I care to do and I could NOT rock the Wonderwoman outfit so…. 42?

NJ:  42?  Is that like pleading the 5th or something?  Shocked looking dog

Everyone knows the names Mark Twain and Stephen King but how about you give us two names of some INDIE authors that you favor…

April:  I loved Tamie Dearen’s sweet romance Her Best Match. I couldn’t stop reading it. I also loved Andy Ritchie’s The Books That THEY do Not Want You to Read trilogy was great. I recently had the privilege of editing his newest novel, Red Plus Zone, which was also fantastic. There are more that I’ve found through RRBC for sure!

NJ:  What is it about them that you’ve come to like?

April:  With Tamie I liked that I was reading a romcom. Can’t beat that! With Andy he made me laugh and he writes in a very English way – English spelling, places, and phrases which I really dig.

NJ:  Name two favorite INDIE books that you’ve read…

April:  Mystical Emona by Rosena Aveela and The Wastelanders by Tim Hemlin.

NJ:  Great!  Two of our most supportive members!  ONE good INDIE book you read that was so good you wished the entire world would read it…

April:  Red Plus Zone by Andrew Ritchie.

Nonnie:  What was so great about it?

April:   It’s dark, the plot twists and turns, it’s a cerebral sci-fi/crime novel set in the near future where time has been shattered. So, in one zone time goes too slowly and then ten feet away in another zone time speeds by so fast you die just by touching it. It’s good.

NJ:  After you read books, do you post reviews?

April:  For indie authors I always do. I try to with the mainstreamers but I feel a special responsibility to support my fellow indies.

NJ:  What do you think readers should base their reviews on?

April:  I base mine on overall quality of both plot and writing style as well as readability.

NJ:  Are you one of those who are afraid to be honest in their reviews lest the author gets upset with you, or is honesty your best policy, especially in reviews?

April:  Honest, for sure. I am worried that when I have to leave a bad review I’m making the author feel bad. That’s not my intention. If I must leave a bad review I will always strive to make it constructive so that they can maybe make the book better. I offer to reread and re-review if the author chooses to revise and wishes me to.

NJ:  Read any poorly written books lately?

April:  Yes.

NJ:  Where’s your review so I can go and check it out?  LOL!  No, seriously.

April:  I put all of my reviews on Goodreads and Amazon. http://www.goodreads.com/apriladamsnovel

NJ:  Are you an author?

April:  Yep!

NJ:  How long have you been writing?

April:  Since 2011 or so. Had massive writer’s block from age 15 to age 30.

NJ:  What books have you written?

April:  Shattered 

Shattered by April Adams

A King’s Burden 

A King's Burden by April Adams

The Beauty of Ashes 

The Beauty of Ashes by April Adams

I’m almost done with my new book called Write of Passage. Not quite ready to put it up for preorder though.

NJ:  Which one do you think is the best?

April:  That’s so hard to answer! I’m not sure. I think Write of Passage is more fun to write. I’m making it into a series and looking forward to it!

NJ:  Do you have a blog or website?

April:  Yep, both…

Website – www.writerapriladams.com

Blog – http://indieauthorsreviews.blogspot.com/

NJ:  Name three great online resources or organizations that every author should belong to…

April:  Hmmm. Other than RRBC? I don’t think I have 3. GR is great for connecting with readers and authors alike. Really, the only other online resources I use are dictionary.com and thesaurus.com.

NJ:  Which online resource or organization has helped you as an author the most and how have they helped you?

April:  Honestly, RRBC is the only one that has brought me more exposure, gotten me readers, and/or exposed me to other great indies in a way that I can support them and read their work. I’m not just saying that to be a suck up. It’s really true. I’ve joined a few other indie support orgs and haven’t seen much from or of them.

NJ:  I know that you’re being truthful, but thank you.  It was a truly kind of you to say.  Since you’re sitting on the SHELF, you’re obviously a Rave Reviews Book Club member, so what do you think of the club?

April:  Obviously, I like it. I’m really glad to be a member!

NJ:  Have you come across any other online entities like it?

April:  Nope.

NJ:  Would you recommend it to your friends and family?

April:  Yes! I have done so.

NJ:  This shelf is getting hard on my hiney, so we’re going to wrap this interview up.  Any final words?

April:  I’d just like to say that as indie authors it’s important to maximize our cash flow channels. Ebooks and paperbacks are great, but don’t forget about audiobooks! Whether you want to narrate it yourself (which is SUPER difficult), pay someone else up front, or just do a 50/50 royalty share – it’s something each and every one of us should be looking into. The royalty share is free on ACX.com. Not sure if there are other avenues but I’ve worked with ACX for 2 going on 3 books now, and it’s an amazing experience as well as a viable source of income. It’s so cool to hear someone else bring our stories to life. As a mom, I have to listen to audiobooks or I don’t get anything done! I listen while I clean house, cook, do laundry, drive… It’s an addiction I want you all to feed! Lol. Plus, think of the blind. You want them to be able to experience your work as well.

NJ:  WOW! April, that is some great info you’ve shared!  Thank you so much!  You have been one of my best interviews yet!  Only one doggy stare the entire interview!  Thank you again, for joining us here today.  You have made our interview on the SHELF today extremely pleasant!   To my guests, please support April  by picking up a copy of either of her books listed above.  You can also support her by visiting her blog stops on her tour which ends on Saturday.  You can find the tour line up here.  

~~~~~

Have you joined Rave Reviews Book Club yet?  Well, here’s your chance!  And since April was on the “SHELF” today, tell them she sent you.  Make it a great day, my friends.  We’ll see you next time, right here on the SHELF” with another VERY INTERESTING GUEST!!

 

 

14 responses

  1. Wow! At last I got a blog from where I can actually
    get helpful information regarding my study and knowledge.

    Like

  2. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    April Adams and Nonnie Jules, Nice Interview! Congratulations April!!

    Like

  3. Enjoyable interview with Nonnie and April. Thanks, April for the heads up on the audio books–will look into that. Nonnie, that dog look was hysterical–made my day. I like the genre you write in April and will be checking out your books as soon as I get caught up a bit. Good luck with future books.

    Like

  4. Really cool and relaxing interview both ways. Congrats to both of you. Helps to know you better April, and thanks for that info about audio books.

    Like

  5. Another wonderful interview!! Congrats on a very exciting week, April!! I can’t wait to see what’s next from you!!

    Like

  6. Thanks for the mention of Mystical Emona, April. That was sweet of you.
    I’ve looked into the audiobooks after I saw you had it listed. The writing world is way too crazy right now for Anlelia and me to do that, but I think we’d like to make books available to the blind as well. There is so much focus on web accessibility these days; it’s good to have other resources for the disabled as well.

    Like

  7. Fun interview. The audio book info is intriguing. And, Nonnie, no love for the Astros?

    Like

  8. Thanks so much for having me! Nonnie, you’re too funny. 🙂
    Liz and Michelle, Tennant is my fave as well. He got the worst luck as The Doctor but was so loveable and easy on the eyes. I like them all though.

    In Shattered there are a few nods to DW and also The Princess Bride. My way of paying homage to the greats.

    I really hope you all produce audiobooks. Lemme know when it’s ready and I’ll listen and review it!

    Thanks again for having me. I had a blast.

    Like

    1. AWW!! Thanks, April. 😀

      Like

  9. harmonykentonline | Reply

    Great interview, April and Nonnie! The info on audio books is useful! Hope you’re having a great spotlight week, April! 🙂

    Like

  10. Fun interview and was good to learn about the audio book source. Best to you both.

    Like

  11. Great interview, April and Nonnie. I’ll have to look into audio books. I’m also a Doctor Who fan, David Tennant is my all time fave.

    Like

  12. Wow, April!! Loved the interview! Thanks for the info on ACX because checking it out has been in my to-do list for the last month and I hadn’t found the time. Glad to read it about your positive experience with it. 😀
    Besides, you’re a Who!!! LOL I like all of The Doctor’s incarnations but I’m totally hooked on the 10th – LOVE David Tennant. hahaha
    Enjoy the rest of your Spotlight Week.

    Like

    1. I got that “Dr. Who” reference, too. 😉 Very clever.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

