Maureen Howard in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?”


Hello, and welcome to “WHO’S ON THE SHELF?” with yours truly, Nonnie Jules!

Since we are a book club, you know we had to offer something that included a book shelf.  A lot of interviews merely cover an author’s work or an individual’s career stories.  Here on this “SHELF,”  we get down and dirty and ask the questions no other interviewer dare ask.  We ask the questions that you want to open up a book and find the answers to on your favorite authors and fellow book club members, but no one has dared to cover them.  WE get personal!  Because when you sit on the RRBC “SHELF,” YOU, are an open book!

Today, I have with me on the “SHELF” our Current “SPOTLIGHT” Author, Maureen Howard!!!

Original

NJ:  Maureen, what a beautiful smile you have and I just love that twinkle in your eye!  You feel like sunshine on a cloudy day.  Before we get started, how does the “shelf” feel to you? Is it comfy?

Maureen:  A twinge of nerves, a little unstable, maybe, but the view is fantastic!

NJ:  Let’s start by confirming whether or not your author name is your birth name or a pen name?

Maureen:  This should be an easy one, but it’s a little complicated. Maureen K. Howard is a combination of Maureen Kovach and Brigette Howard. The two of us, mother and daughter, make up the author entity, Maureen K. Howard.

NJ:  Tell us where you were born? Do you still live there now? If not, what city and state are you calling home these days?

Maureen:  Born in Detroit and I currently live in Findlay, OH.

NJ:  Married or single?

Maureen:  Married

NJ:  Kids or no? If yes, how many? Sons or Daughters?

Maureen:  2 daughters, 1 son.

NJ:  Favorite child (if you have any, and be honest…I’m sure they’re not reading this interview)

Maureen:  All three of my kids have a Christmas ornament that says “Mom’s Favorite,” and they each believe it! I know for a fact my daughter Brigette is reading this; she’s writing it with me! So today, she’s my favorite. The other two will have to read it to find out where they rank.

NJ:  Pets? What kind?

Maureen:  A Golden Doodle named Joe.

NJ:  Favorite food…

Maureen:  Cheese!

NJ:  Favorite color?

Maureen:  Green

NJ:  Favorite sport:…

Maureen:  Hockey! (Detroit Red Wings to be specific)

NJ:  Favorite TV Show…

Maureen:  Dexter ¬– who doesn’t love a serial killer who works for the police department?

NJ:  Favorite Actress/Actor…

Maureen:  Sean Connery

NJ:  Couch potato or workout nut? Be honest

Maureen:  Still trying to work it out!

NJ:  Biggest pet peeve that makes you want to stomach-punch somebody?: (For the record, NJ does not condone violence but she does believe in being honest so she has to admit that there are times when she feels like some friendly stomach-punching is a little necessary).

Maureen: People who use incorrect grammar while trying to appear intelligent

NJ:  You could have knocked me over with a feather because those people totally BLOW me away.  I read an author’s book once, and she had so many unnecessary words in it, (because I’m sure in her mind, she thought it would make her appear “knowledgeable” to use those words, but none of the words were in context with the storyline at any point!  Drove me bat crazy!)  Are you neat or messy, Maureen?

Maureen:  Neat

NJ:  What’s your vice…Facebook or Twitter?

Maureen:  Facebook

NJ:  Name two of the most supportive people you’ve met on either Facebook or Twitter? Hurry and tell us so we can become their friend!

Maureen:  Lisa Sennett and Marcia Harris Trotter!

NJ:  Nonnie Jules or Wonderwoman? Be honest.

Maureen:  Nonnie Jules in red boots and gold wrist cuffs

Fat Wonder Woman

NJ:  That’d be me!  OK, moving on, so everyone knows the names Mark Twain and Stephen King but how about you give us two names of some INDIE authors that you favor…

Maureen:  Susan Kiernan-Lewis and Lizzie Chantree

NJ:  Oh, we just love Lizzie Chantree here!  She is simply awesome and so supportive!  Tell us, Maureen, what is it about them that you’ve come to like?

Maureen:  Lizzie writes about girlfriends in an honest, engaging way. I want to keep reading to find out how things work out for them. Susan’s settings are well-developed and her stories are full of edge of your seat suspense.

NJ:  Name two favorite INDIE books that you’ve read…

Maureen:  Murder in the South of France, Death Turns a Trick

NJ:  ONE good INDIE book you read that was so good you wished the entire world would read it…

Maureen:  Sugarcoatin’ is for Candy & Pacifyin’ is for Kids

Sugarcoatin Cover

NJ:  Well, thank you, Maureen!  How kind of you to say that and how awesome of you to take the time to read it. I am truly humbled.  Many thanks from the bottom of my heart.  What was so great about SUGARCOATIN’… that you would recommend it with such passion?

Maureen:  This is a little book everyone can relate to and draw inspiration from. It can be read over and over in short bites. The advice is practical, heartfelt and doable. It’s obvious the author, Nonnie Jules practices what she preaches.

NJ:  Thank you so much, once again, Maureen.  I definitely try to always live, walk in, and stand by my truths and it is my deepest wish that the world would do the same.  After you read books, do you post reviews?

Maureen: Yes!

NJ:  What do you think readers should base their reviews on?

Maureen: Reviews should be based on the novel’s craft. Does it do what it sets out to do? Does it put me in the story with great description and dialogue? Would I recommend to someone else?

NJ:  Are you one of those who are afraid to be honest in their reviews lest the author gets upset with you, or is honesty your best policy, especially in reviews?

Maureen: Not afraid to be honest, but sometimes a public forum is not the best place to spotlight an author’s flaws. Some issues like poor spelling and grammar need to be addressed. These are not subjective issues like themes, genres, sex or violence. Poor editing and lack of development can be fixed. The other things are driven by an author’s preference, but whatever the writer’s style, a piece should be complete and polished before it is let go into the world. Poorly written books give all of us a bad name, and we don’t want that. Honesty is the best policy for sure.

NJ:  Maureen, you’re my new best buddy!  I couldn’t agree more..actually, it’s like you took the words right out of my mouth.  Read any poorly written books lately?

Maureen:  Sadly, yes.

NJ:  That really is sad…but where’s your review so I can go and check it out? LOL. No, seriously.

Maureen:  When I read a poorly written book, I will contact the author in a private message and state my concerns. I don’t see any value in publicly bashing someone’s effort. A book can be edited and reissued. Bad reviews are there in black and white forever and ever. And it seems the ones I’ve read are more vitriolic than constructive.

NJ:  Are you an author?

Maureen:  Yes

NJ:  How long have you been writing?

Maureen:  Writing all my life. Publishing less than a year.

NJ:  What books have you written? (Please include the purchase links to these books)

Maureen:  SUNNY SIDE UP.  We’re proud of this book!   Book 2 in the series, DEVILED, though not yet published, is even better, in part because of constructive (but kindly written) reviews!

Sunny Side Up by Maureen K. Howard

NJ:  CONGRATS on your upcoming book!  Be sure and add it to the catalog so we can all read it!  Maureen, do you have a blog or website?

Maureen:  Both, but we’re still getting the hang of the whole blog thing.

NJ:  Name three great online resources or organizations that every author should belong to…

Maureen:  RRBC, Writer’s Market, and Books Go Social.

NJ:  Which online resource or organization has helped you as an author the most?

Maureen:  We are very new to this whole thing and have been helped tremendously by so many different people and groups. Rave Reviews Book Club has offered us this SPOTLIGHT WEEK. How awesome is that? An entire week of being promoted by dedicated peers who want to help us succeed and achieve our dreams! We’re very excited to see the results and are humbled by genuine concern and assistance of group members.

NJ:  How did the club help you exactly, Maureen?

Maureen:  RRBC has introduced us to many other Indie Authors who promote and support one another in amazing ways. We are proud to be active members of this group, and are committed to being kind, supportive, and helpful to these folks in our author family. It really makes a huge difference knowing we’re not flailing about in stormy seas without a life raft.

NJ:  All that you have mentioned that you feel in the way of support, are all a part of the foundation which RRBC was built upon.  We ARE a family here and you feel it as soon as your name hits the roster!  Since you’re sitting on the SHELF, why don’t you share with us what you really think of the club.

Maureen:  It’s made up of hard-working, like-minded, positive people. It’s like being in a big, diverse family, just like our own. I can picture us all sitting around my big dining room table passing pasta bowls and bread sticks. And wine, of course.

dog with wig

NJ:  Maureen, I think I’ll pass on the wine.  I can’t keep my head (or my wig) on straight after I’ve had a teeny bit.  Have you come across any other online entities like RRBC?

Maureen:  Not so far.

NJ:  Would you recommend us to your friends and family?

Maureen:  Without a doubt!

NJ:  This shelf is getting hard on my hiney, so we’re going to wrap this interview up. Any final words?

Maureen:  To steal from the King himself: “If you want to be a writer you must do two things above all others: read a lot, and write a lot.” ~Stephen King.   It was kind of stressful up here on the shelf, and I’m a tiny bit afraid of heights. Is it time for a glass of wine? Cheers friends!

NJ:  Maureen, we thank YOU for being a supportive member!!! Thank you for joining us here today.  You have made our interview on the SHELF today extremely pleasant!   To my guests, please support Maureen by picking up a copy of her book listed above.  You can also support her by visiting her blog stops on her tour which ends on Saturday.  You can find the tour line up here.  

~~~~~

Have you joined Rave Reviews Book Club yet?  Well, here’s your chance!  And since Maureen was on the “SHELF” today, tell them she sent you.  Make it a great day, my friends.  We’ll see you next time, right here on the SHELF” with another VERY INTERESTING GUEST!!

25 responses

  1. Great interview and I agree, the people in this club are super supportive!

    Like

  2. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    Maureen & Nonnie this is a fabulous interview. I learn so many interesting things about our members.

    Like

  3. Nice interview up there on the top shelf. Glad no one was hurt. 😉

    Like

  4. What an enjoyable interview – it felt like two ladies just having a nice conversation. Great job Nonnie and Maureen.

    Like

  5. Maureen K. Howard | Reply

    Thanks for all the positive comments everyone!

    Like

  6. Great interview, AND a fun read! I will be checking out both Sugarcoatin’ is for Candy & Pacifyin’ is for Kids and Sunny Side Up.

    Like

    1. Maureen K. Howard | Reply

      Thank you so much for stopping by. I hope you enjoy my book. I know you’ll love Nonnie’s!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Lovely interview today. Maureen, some of my daughters helped me with my book in writing the second half. I found it an enjoyable experience since they are in the book lol. We think alike on so many of the issues and questions you answered. It was a pleasure meeting you. Psst. . . how’d you keep Nonnie so calm? 🙂

    Like

    1. Maureen K. Howard | Reply

      Micki, it’s always great interacting with fellow writers! As for Nonnie, I have no control. I can barely keep myself from misbehaving in public!

      Like

  8. reanolanmartin | Reply

    love it! another fun interview, nonnie!

    Like

  9. Great interview. I like the idea of a big family dinner. (with wine of course)

    Like

    1. Maureen K. Howard | Reply

      John, my reply to you fell under Jan’s comment. And I haven’t even had my glass of wine yet!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I got it anyway. Thanks *sips Cabernet*

        Like

  10. I like wine too Maureen, having lived in Italy for all those years, and Nonnie, that isn’t you at all. I was entertained. Thank to both of you.

    Like

  11. Lurve the Wonderlady! 😛 You gave great interview Maureen & Brigette! 😀

    Like

    1. Maureen K. Howard | Reply

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.
      I’m all about the big family dinner, John. And when you get 20 plus Italians together there needs to be wine (and sometimes ear plugs!)

      Like

  12. Maureen K. Howard | Reply

    Thank you. Just wondering why all of Brigette’s comments were omitted since she is fifty percent of Maureen K. Howard. We are in this together through every phase of the process and I should be getting only half the credit.

    Like

  13. What a lovely interview! I wish I could have watched this unusual mother-daughter combo answer the questions, as you two have such a clear voice together.

    Oh, and I *had* to laugh at the Wonder Woman comic… 😀

    Like

    1. Maureen K. Howard | Reply

      Nicholas, thank you. I am thankful every day for my wonderful children!

      Liked by 1 person

  14. The hard part is over now… Bask in the glory. 🙂

    Like

    1. Maureen K. Howard | Reply

      If by basking you mean hyperventilating, taking the dog for a walk, and stressing over my nerdy voice, I’m there! But seriously, you’re right. I appreciate the support and attention of everyone.

      Like

  15. Great interview! I enjoyed learning more about you.

    Like

    1. Maureen K. Howard | Reply

      Thanks Michelle!

      Like

  16. harmonykentonline | Reply

    Great interview! It’s lovely to be learning more about you, and I love your method of coming up with your pen name 🙂

    Like

  17. Interesting interview! I liked the method of coming up with your pen name.

    Like

Leave a Reply

