SOCIAL MEDIA SAVVY – #RRBC STYLE! “They Can’t SEE Your Support” A Twitter Lesson


I’ve been meaning to write this post for a long time.  Now, some might know that I am easily annoyed at times (I know, it’s my cross, well, one of them… so don’t judge me…as my teenager says to me constantly), but there is this one thing that pushes my annoyance level to the mighty limits!  It’s not something extremely bad, but it is one of those “things.”  I must take some of the “jab” out of this post before I really get started, because now more than ever, I am coming to the realization that people just don’t know and they aren’t intentionally trying to stomp all over my nervous system.  This is why we’ve started SOCIAL MEDIA SAVVY – #RRBC STYLE!

So, here’s that “thing” that I mentioned and there are two important parts to it:

1)  Each time you send a tweet in someone’s honor (like promoting their book or event), always include their Twitter handle.  If you only include their name, 9 times out of 10, I will bet my bottom dollar, they won’t even see it.  Twitter mentions don’t come to our Twitter feed via our “real” names, they come via our Twitter handles (@nonniejules).  So, if you were to send the following  tweet in my honor:  “Nonnie Jules is on a blog tour beginning…” I wouldn’t see it, as it wouldn’t show up in my feed.  BUT, if you sent the same tweet in this manner:  @NonnieJules is on a blog tour beginning…” I would see it (and would probably start jumping up and down at your kindness!), and I’d be able to RT it as well as hopping over to your Twitter feed to return the favor!

2)  Twitter allots us only 140 characters per tweet and yet, I’ve seen some of you wasting those measly characters by doing this (take a look at a sample tweet):

Nonnie Jules is on a  blog tour beginning…@nonniejules.  Can anyone spot the part that increases my annoyance level?  If you have listed someone’s Twitter handle in a tweet, don’t go wasting your small allotment of characters by also including their “real” name.  This only takes up space where you could probably be listing a very useful hashtag like #RRBC or #RaveReviewsBookClub, which would bring more attention to that tweet.

Again, I am starting to realize that a lot of our members (as well as the general public), just don’t know how to use social media effectively, and that’s OK.  We all had to learn the things that we know now, at some point in our lives.  We must be patient with those who are simply terrified of social media (as I was at one point, and still am in certain arenas…I will admit to only understanding with “some” clarity, Twitter).

Thanks for your understanding of my high annoyance level, which is just there to give my aging hormones a reason to be, so in reality, it has nothing to do with any of you at all.

Join us next time for another episode of SOCIAL MEDIA SAVVY – #RRBC STYLE!  And don’t forget, you can help millions of people by retweeting this post and sharing your comments below!

30 responses

  1. Good advice Nonnie! Our author names are part of our brands and so I believe it’s important to add both the author’s name and twitter handle whenever possible. If we use only keywords for our tweet we can fit both in easily.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    Well Nonnie, I figured this one out all by myself. Needing those precious spaces, it didn’t take me long to get it. But thanks for the tip, there is always something new to learn. It does take extra time to look up the handle but if you’re lucky it will come up when the name is typed on twitter. That’s not always the case and so you have to look it up. I take the time to do it because I would want someone to take that time for me.

    Like

  3. Another great tip. As for WordPress, it’s true you can’t tag people on it, but you can add their handle when tweeting a post.

    For example, when I hit tweet on this post I get this:

    “SOCIAL MEDIA SAVVY – #RRBC STYLE! “They Can’t SEE Your Support” A Twitter Lesson http://wp.me/p49Fi9-2lO via @wordpressdotcom”

    I changed “via @wordpressdot.com” to “via @NonnieJules” and that was it!

    Like

  4. Thanks, Nonnie,
    Finally some sensible advice re twitter. I was doing the opposite by cutting words. I took away the @nonniejules and kept the name on the premise that with the picture twitter would add the twitter addy. Your hormones should calm down considerably. I often wonder how some tweets get away with lots of words and mine are always hard to slice down but I use Kim’s advice as to removing verbs and other words not needed. Thanks too for mentioning how to use the search to find people which is my biggest problem. I’m ready with my retweets but only find members by accident. I also see people tweeting the same tweet repeatedly while I’m only allowed once. I get around it by putting the #RRBC in different places.This was a huge thing you did for me, at least, with this simple explanation.

    Micki Peluso

    Like

  5. All very good advice. The glitch is that most of our Twitter names are not our author names. It would be so helpful if the members section included both the @whateveryournameis AND the author name used on the members publications.
    As an added note – retweets are great. I try to search #RRBC and #ravereviewbookclub and retweet at least once a day. So won´t the people who I´ve promoted see their stuff that way? All my tweets include the RRBC hashtag.

    Like

    1. David, see my response to Kim Cox below. And I’m sure it would be helpful to some to have the names listed alongside the twitter handles, but that would also increase my workload immensely, so we will have to dream about that one for a while longer. But, as they say, keep hope alive. You never know! 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  6. I am guilty of using both name and handle. I think I do this because to me it’s like using a number instead of a name if you just use a handle. When other people retweet a post, others seeing it may not realize who the person is without the actual name. Now my twitter handle has my name in it but many don’t, or it’s an abbreviation of their name. I prefer to use both. There’s usually a lot of other places where a tweet can be cut. In your example, “Nonnie Jules is on a blog tour…” for instance could be shortened to “Nonnie Jules – #blog tour” cutting out “is on a” and everyone will still know what it means. I’m a newbie tweeter, but for now anyway, I think I will keep using both. I may change my mind later and if it comes down to needing to cut somewhere, I will cut the name out.

    Like

    1. Kim, do what’s most comfortable for you but let me say this: If someone has a Twitter handle that is not their name, their followers and typically everyone else on Twitter will know them by THAT handle, not their actual name. There are some whose name is not apart of their Twitter handle and if you were to say the name to me, that real name, I wouldn’t have a clue as to whom you were speaking of. I wouldn’t know the name KIM TAYLOR, but I do know @watchn4fun.

      Thanks for sharing!

      Like

  7. You they do say that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery – tweet like Nonnie tweets & you can’t go far wrong! 😀

    Like

    1. Jan, you are much too kind! There’s nothing shabby about your tweeting habits, either, my friend!

      Like

      1. Cuddlefest! lol xxx 😉

        Like

  8. Great points, Nonnie! Although, I am guilty of using both names if the handle is not part of their real name, because people who know the author’s work might not recognize the handle. (Ex: Nonnie Jules, @WonderWoman, is on a blog tour…) Should I not do this?

    Like

    1. Hi, Rhani! See my response to Kim Cox above.

      Thanks for dropping by!

      Like

  9. Yay!!! Another Twitter lesson for inept beginners like me! Thank you Nonnie!

    Like

  10. That is very good and useful advice Nonnie. No one can quarrel with that. We always learn something new every day. I know I make the first mistake you mentioned. I don’t use to, but then I started thinking that some people’s twitter handle don’t reflect their name at all. That’s why I started using the names instead of the handles. Now I know better.

    Like

    1. Hi, Joy! See my response to Kim Cox above!

      Thanks for stopping by, dear, sweet lady!

      Like

  11. Maureen K. Howard | Reply

    Thank you Nonnie. I am taking baby steps and figuring out this social media stuff. Will retreat this post.

    Like

    1. It takes us all a little while to learn something new (some of us longer than others…I would fall into that category). I am amazed at Shirley Harris-Slaughter, John Howell, and John Fioravanti, that in their beautiful golden ages, they are always, always WILLING to learn more and more. They simply inspire me! At my age, I’m tired, and so is my brain (at least, that’s the excuse I keep using so that people will keep explaining things to me as if I’m a 1st grader).

      Thanks for stopping by, Maureen. More of that awesome info to come! Stay tuned!

      Like

  12. More good advice Nonnie. I would also mention that if a person wants to let their followers as well as the person the tweet is intended to see their tweet do not start the tweet with a hashtag or a twitter handle. The tweet must start with a symbol or letter other than the @ or # sign. A period before these two symbols will correct the whole thing. Example: .#RRBC’s @NonnieJules gives good twitter advice.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, one of my two favorite “Johns” (LOL), I’m going to have to beg to differ here as a period (.) IS NOT needed in the manner in which you stated, as I see all of my tweets that are sent to me without the tweet being set up in the manner you speak of, and I know for a fact (based on our other twitter accounts that I operate out of), that all is seen on that end. I, at times, (a lot of times actually) begin my tweets with the #RRBC hashtag or with someone’s twitter handle which begins with the @ symbol.

      Honestly, you are the only person I’ve seen using that (.) at the beginning of your tweets and I thought maybe it was some kind of auto-tweet error.

      So, I just want to ensure that folks have the most accurate information…it IS OK to begin tweets with @ or # and you and your followers will see the tweets.

      Anyone else want to jump in on this “great” debate?

      Thanks for stopping by, John!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I usually start my tweets with # and haven’t had a problem with them showing up. Maybe this is something that was true at one time but has changed.

        Like

      2. Not much of a debate. I will take your word for it. Glad to drop the (.). At least you know I don’t have an automated system and I made my own errors ON PURPOSE.

        Like

    2. John! REALLY??? Don’t you know that Nonnie is ALWAYS right? Hoser! LOL

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Of course she is. LOL

        Like

    3. I rarely begin a tweet with a hashtag or handle but I have done it at times. I wasn’t aware of this, so thanks for the information, John. I just learned something new. 🙂

      Like

  13. Such a great post @nonniejules see what I did there 😉 I think a lot of people are still figuring Twitter out…good for you for helping them along. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Heather Grace (I just love that name combination, by the way!) and yes, I did notice that (although it has no bearing here in the comments section). But, it’s still good to know you have the hang of it! Be sure to use that name format where it matters most…on TWITTER!

      Thanks for the visit! Hope to see you again soon!

      Like

      1. Ya I know you can’t tag on WordPress really – too bad! It does all link back on here though, whereas you need to do the linking on Twitter.

        BTW My maiden name is Heather Grace 🙂 not everyone knows that. Thanks for the sweet compliment Nonnie!

        Like

  14. […] SOCIAL MEDIA SAVVY – #RRBC STYLE! “They Can’t SEE Your Support” A Twitter Le…. […]

    Like

  15. Reblogged this on Michaelphelps1's Blog and commented:
    TWEET – TWEET = TWEET!
    Learning from NONNIE JULES of RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB!

    Like

Leave a Reply

