Peggy Hattendorf in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?”


Hello and welcome to “WHO’S ON THE SHELF?” with yours truly, Nonnie Jules!  Since we are a book club, we had to offer something that included a book shelf.  A lot of interviews merely cover an author’s work or an individual’s career stories.  Here on this “SHELF,”  we get down and dirty and ask the questions no other interviewer dare ask.  We ask the questions that you want to open up a book and find the answers to on your favorite authors and fellow book club members, but no one has dared to cover them.  WE get personal!  Because when you sit on the RRBC “SHELF”, YOU are an open book!

Today, I have with me on the “SHELF” our Current “SPOTLIGHT” Author, Peggy Hattendorf!

DSC02007NJ:  Before we get started, let me apologize for any typos in this interview coming from my end…it is after 2am and I am too sleepy to proof.  Will do that later today!  So, Peggy, how does the “shelf” feel to you? Is it comfy?

Peggy:  Yes, Nonnie,  it’s very comfortable although, I might suggest a cushion or some decorative pillows – just kidding.

NJ:  Angry puppyReally?  {Shaking it off.  I’ve had no “accidents” lately and Micki Peluso and Joy Lo-Bamijoko have been very impressed with me, so I will not let her rattle me.  C’mon, eyebrows, straighten up}  Let’s start by confirming whether or not your author name is your birth name or a pen name…

Peggy:  I do not use a pen name. My given name is Margaret but I have always gone by Peggy. Hattendorf is my married name.

NJ:  Tell us where you were born? Do you still live there now? If not, what city and state are you calling home these days?

Peggy:  I was born in Santa Monica California. I’m calling Los Angeles home once again after living in several other states and other areas of California for 16 years.

NJ:  Married or single?

Peggy:  Married

NJ:  Kids or no? If yes, how many? Sons or Daughters?

Peggy:  Yes, I have two children – a son and a daughter. But Nonnie, that’s not all. I’m pleased to say, I have 4 grandchildren. Three granddaughters ages – fifteen, twelve, eleven and a five year old grandson.

NJ:  WOW!  I can tell you’re one proud grandmother, aren’t you?  Three granddaughters?  Have you read “THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE TO RAISING (ALMOST) PERFECT DAUGHTERS…”?  Favorite child, and be honest…I’m sure they’re not reading this interview…

Peggy:  I would not use the term “favorite child” but I spend considerable more time with my daughter partly because she lives closer to me.

NJ:  Pets? What kind?

Peggy:  We have no pets although we have the occasional raccoon, rabbit or coyote stop by since we live in the hills.

NJ:  Peggy, you sound mighty comfy with coyotes stopping by. Favorite food?

Peggy:  Without shame, lobster with drawn butter.

NJ:  What’s your favorite color?

Peggy:  Every shade of pink.

NJ:  I love pink, too, but it has to be paired with black…always.  Favorite sport…

Peggy:  Swimming

NJ:  I’m not a swimmer, but I sure look good on the beach!

fat girl eating pizza{Don’t judge me! You do what you do at the beach, and I’ll do what I do at the beach!}

So, Peggy, do you have a favorite TV Show?

Peggy:  Nashville

NJ:  Favorite Actress/Actor…

Peggy:  My favorite actress is Helen Mirren and favorite actor is Liam Neeson

NJ:  Liam is one of my favorites, too!  Couch potato or workout nut? Be honest.

Peggy:  Workout nut.

NJ:  Good to hear!  Then we’re kindred souls!  Biggest pet peeve that makes you want to stomach-punch somebody?: (For the record, NJ does not condone violence but she does believe in being honest so she has to admit that there are times when she feels like some friendly stomach-punching is a little necessary).

Peggy:  My pet peeve is loud cell phone users in public places like restaurants and airports.

NJ:  Are you neat or messy?

Peggy:  Neat . . . very neat.

NJ:  Now, we are too much alike!  Facebook or Twitter?

Peggy:  Twitter

NJ:  Name two of the most supportive people you’ve met on either Facebook or Twitter? Hurry and tell us so we can become their friend.

Peggy:  These two Twitter followers have been wonderful supporters: William Frederick @agentBertram and Major KK @majorKK1. If they are not with us – we should bring them to Rave Reviews Book Club.

NJ:  I think you’re right, Peggy.  So, will you be recruiting these two?  OK, moving on…Nonnie Jules or Wonderwoman? Be honest…

Peggy:  Ah, Nonnie while you do indeed possess Wonderwoman traits like strength, judgment, ability, drive and determination – you are far from a “fictional” character.

NJ:  Peggy, thank you!  That was very kind of you to say!  Everyone knows the names Mark Twain and Stephen King but how about you give us two names of some INDIE authors that you favor…

Peggy:  Andrew Mayne and one of our own members,  PJ Fiala

NJ:  What is it about them that you’ve come to like?

Peggy:  I like their writing styles, character development, and story lines.

NJ:  Name two favorite INDIE books that you’ve read…

Peggy:  Hollywood Pharaohs by Andrew Mayne and Castle Cape by C.L. Withers

NJ:  ONE good INDIE book you read that was so good you wished the entire world would read it…

Peggy:  Hollywood Pharaohs. I’m going to read another Andrew Mayne book titled Angel Killer – a Jessica Blackwood Novel.

NJ:  OK, what was so great about the first one you mentioned?

Peggy:  It was well written with an intriguing plot, well defined characters and a fast-paced action driven storyline.

NJ:  After you read books, do you post reviews?

Peggy:  Honestly, I try to most of the time.

NJ:  What do you think readers should base their reviews on?

Peggy:  I think readers should base reviews on the following: Was the book enjoyable – entertaining – interesting? How did it flow – did it hang together well? Were the characters well developed? Did it have an interesting plot? In addition, mention any negative issues – such as typos – grammar mistakes – things you found confusing etc. AND – would you recommend the book?

NJ:  Great points you made.  So, tell us, Peggy, are you one of those who are afraid to be honest in their reviews lest the author gets upset with you, or is honesty your best policy, especially in reviews?

Peggy:  No, I try to deliver honest and constructive opinions.

NJ:  I simply adore honesty in reviews and the people who have no problem giving it. Have you read any poorly written books lately?

Peggy:  Thankfully, no.

NJ:  Are you an author?

Peggy:  Yes

NJ:  How long have you been writing?

Peggy:  I have decades of experience writing technical/operational works and various types of travel articles. Currently, I am the Travel Editor for hers Magazine where I write feature travel articles and Hotel Review Blog Posts. I commenced writing fiction about nine years ago but put the project on hold for a very long time. I resumed writing about seven years ago and finished the first book and am currently working on the second one.

NJ:  Interesting career, Peggy!   What books have you written?

Peggy:  Son of My Father – A Family Dynasty,  on B&N and direct distribution links from my website – www.peggyhattendorf.com

NJ:  Which one do you think is the best?

Peggy:  The one I’m currently writing.

NJ:  Do you have a blog or website?

Peggy:  I have both – http://www.peggyhattendorf.com

NJ:  Name three great online resources or organizations that every author should belong to…

Peggy: The Write Life, Writer’s Relief and BookBaby.

NJ:  Really?  Rave Reviews Book Club isn’t in that number?  WOW!

Dog researching on the computer{Just give me one quick second, I’m researching these sites because I want to see the awesome profiles they did of you!…Hold on, just one more second…still searching…and searching…and, oh, well…I give up}

NJ:  So, Peggy, which online resource or organization has helped you as an author the most?

Peggy:  BookBaby

NJ:  -______________-  How were you helped by them?

Peggy:  I contracted with BookBaby through their BookShop program for additional e-book distribution channels.

NJ:  Peggy, since you’re sitting on the SHELF, you’re obviously a Rave Reviews Book Club member, so what do you think of the club?

Peggy:  It has proven to have a “sense of community” yet broad enough to have international appeal. Well done.

NJ:  Have you come across any other online entities like it?

Peggy:  No

NJ:  Would you recommend it to your friends and family?

Peggy:  Yes

NJ:  This shelf is getting hard on my hiney, so we’re going to wrap this interview up. Any final words?

Peggy:  As I mentioned at the start, some cushions or pillows would be good for the long stretches of sitting on the hard shelf. To end on a more serious note, from one who has founded and built organizations, I know the hard work and effort needed to make an entity successful and you are definitely accomplishing this with Rave Reviews Book Club. So Nonnie – you may be Wonderwoman after all.

NJ:  Thank you so much for joining me on the shelf, Peggy!  To my guests, please support Peggy by picking up a copy of her book, SON OF MY FATHER.   You can also support Peggy by visiting her blog stops on her tour which ends on Saturday.  You can find the tour line up here.  

Son of my Father by Peggy HattendorfHave you joined Rave Reviews Book Club yet?  Well, here’s your chance!  And since Peggy was on the “SHELF” today, tell them she sent you.  Make it a great day, my friends.  We’ll see you next time, right here on the SHELF!!”

40 responses

    1. Thanks, Jenny – I’m glad you found it helpful. I appreciate you taking the time to stop by and read the interview.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Thanks to you both for another fine shelf visit! Nonnie, I love your doggies! Peggy, nice to meet you!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Rea for stopping by the shelf. Well, I hope Nonnie’s doggies found my favorite mentioned resources. I do like BookBaby, The Write Life and Writer’s Relief.

      Like

  2. Sorry, I’m so late to check out “Who’s on the Shelf with Nonnie” – there have been so many great blog tours going on this week I’ve had a hard time keeping up. It was great getting to know Peggy a little better and I have to say she hit on one of my pet peeves, talking on cell phones in public places. While I don’t mind most, why do people talk on their cell phones in a public restroom stall? I have thought they were talking to me because that is something I can’t fathom. Anyway, great interview Nonnie and Peggy. I look forward to reading “Son of My Father” and have it on my to-be-bought list.

    Like

    1. Kim – you are so right about talking on cell phones – especially in public restrooms. Hard to believe the conversation is just that important at that time!

      I appreciate you for stopping by to read my interview with Nonnie. I hope you find my book an enjoyable read. Thank you.

      Like

  3. Hi Peggy, it was a delight meeting you and learning about your life as a writer. I have 10 grandchildren so I know how you feel. I loved your blunt honesty on all matters and will check out what seems to be a great book.

    Nonnie, take deep breaths. It ‘s all over now and you will survive. Those dogs made me laugh out loud.

    Like

    1. Hi Micki – thanks for stopping by the shelf to read my interview with Nonnie. Congratulations to you on 10 grandchildren.

      I hope you consider buying my book and that you find it an enjoyable read.

      Thank you.

      Like

  4. Nicholas, thanks for taking the time to stop by and read the interview. I’m pleased you found it interesting.

    Like

  5. Wow! What a fun interview with lots of questions and answers. Peggy, I too have 4 grandchildren, three grandsons – 16, 13, 12 1/2, and one granddaughter – 22 months. Son of My Father sounds like an interesting story.

    Like

    1. I’m pleased you enjoyed the interview. Grandchildren certainly are a wonderful part of our lives. Hope you will consider reading Son of My Father – A Family Dynasty. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Always a fun time on the shelf! Congratulations on the honor, Peggy!

    Like

    1. Yes Beem, it was a wonderful honor – and fun – to be on the shelf with Nonnie.

      Like

  7. Nice interview Peggy, NJ leaves no stone un-turned…. I enjoyed getting to know something about you and your works.

    ML

    Like

    1. Thanks for your kind words, Michael. It was fun to sit on the hot seat or shelf. Yes, our President, Nonnie definitely gets to the heart of the matter with her questions.

      Like

  8. Some interesting answers there. Thank you very much for bringing yourself so much more into focus for me. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Robin. It’s always nice to learn more about people especially in our”cyber” world.

      Like

  9. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    Congratulations Peggy on a very informative and interesting tour. Your interview with Nonnie was very entertaining as well.

    Like

  10. Peggy Hattendorf has written a novel that sounds like a must-read. And NonnieJ sure knows how to get an author to open up. Be sure to like her site.

    Like

    1. Thank you for stopping by to read my “Who’s on the Shelf” interview with Nonnie. It was a neat experience. Appreciate your kind words about my book, “Son of My Father – A Family Dynasty” and hope you will consider purchasing a copy.

      Like

  11. Great interview. Reblogging and sharing on my social media including my author website on google+. This is a well-designed site and I’m definitely going to have to check out “Son of My Father.” Good job, Nonnie.

    Like

  12. With my thanks and appreciation to you Nonnie for inviting me to join you on “Who’s on the Shelf” this week. What fun!

    Like

  13. Nicholas – appreciate your kind words. A “good interviewer” brings out our best – thanks, Nonnie.

    Like

  14. I don’t know about pillows or cushions on the shelf – a parachute might be more practical if you get ‘that’ look! 😛 Seriously though, great banter ladies 😀

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comments, Jan. I agree with your idea of a parachute . . . but what if it doesn’t open? Not into crash landings.

      Like

  15. Fun interview. I love to hear about Nonnie’s eyebrows heading North at great speed. Well done Peggy and best to you on the rest of your tour.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your kind words, John. This is such a “fun” group.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes it’s true. (till daddy take the T-Bird away)

        Like

  16. I am still holding my breath… Now I let it out. Peggy, you are a very lucky woman indeed. There were a couple of pitfalls you scaled without falling off the shelf. I believe Nonnie simply let you off easy. 🙂 Good interview.

    Like

  17. I saw what you did there, Nonnie Jules! LOL! Another great interview. Thanks Peggy for great book reco’s and online resources. RRBC members are so informative!

    Like

    1. Linda – yes this is a very knowledgeable and informative group. Maybe we should “collectively” write “How to books” on a number of topics.

      Like

  18. Once again, an interview worth reading, Nonnie. Thanks, Peggy and Nonnie.

    Like

    1. I’m pleased you found it worthwhile reading. Thank you, Jonna.

      Like

  19. Nice save at the end, Peggy. I saw Nonnie inching closer to you for a while there. 😉

    Like

    1. Ah . .yes, Nonnie was inching closer and if I had those darn pillows or cushions they could have cushioned a fall.

      Like

  20. Another great interview, Nonnie and Peggy! I absolutely love the dogs!! I enjoyed learning more about you and your experience, Peggy!!

    Like

    1. Thanks for the kind words, John. I get back in the hot seat with you tomorrow on your Blog/Talk Radio Show – looking forward to it.

      Like

  21. harmonykentonline | Reply

    Great interview Peggy and Nonnie! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Harmony – it was fun. Hmm . . . wonder if Nonnie is an investigative journalist on the side?

      Like

  22. Great finding out more about Peggy and her vast writing experience! Thanks for another great interview 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

