#RRBC, DO YOU FEEL SUPPORTED HERE?


Well, are you being SUPPORTIVE?

English bulldog funny face

Some of you might not like what I’m about to say in this blog, but you know what I say to that?  Too bad, get over it and if the shoe fits, then you wear it. (If the shoe doesn’t fit, then sit back, prop your feet up and enjoy the refreshments).

During our  BACK TO SCHOOL BOOK & BLOG BLOCK PARTY last September, and THE HOLIDAY TRAIN “BOOK TRAILER” BLOCK PARTY which was last December, every day tons of prizes were given away and all you had to do for a chance at winning, was to stop by a blog and leave a comment.  During that time, you all showed up in droves.  Many of you, every day, I might add!

Now, our BACK TO SCHOOL BOOK & BLOG BLOCK PARTY and THE HOLIDAY TRAIN “BOOK TRAILER” BLOCK PARTY have ended (until the next time), and although we still have  blog tours going on for our members, such as the bi-monthly blog tours for “SPOTLIGHT” Authors, we already know before the tours begin, who’s going to show up to support.  It’s always the same people, the core of RRBC, the uber-supportive, the few, super-awesome members of the RRBC family.  Why have I labeled “these” members so highly?  Well, they show up and leave comments when there are prizes to be won and they also show up and leave comments, when there aren’t. 

We work hard supporting each other here and we also work hard putting these awesome programs into place for ALL members to enjoy, yet, it’s almost like pulling teeth when we go looking for those members deserving of the seats in the RRBC house.  Sadly, they’re very hard t0 find.

For those of you who are wondering HOW members are selected to fill these seats, well, let me make it crystal clear for all.  We look at each member’s support level.  We look to see how they’re supporting on social media, we look at how they are doing in the reviews department, and we even take notice of how often they are supporting the blog tours and events of their fellow members.

Now, before some of you jump on your high-horse with, “Well, I work every day!” and “I’m too busy with life to just…”  Notice I didn’t finish that sentence because I didn’t want to take that away from those of you who want us to know what you’re too busy with, to drop a little support every now and again around here.  Once you get down, then watch me climb on my high, high horse.  Now that I’m seated here comfortably,  guess what?  I’m pretty sure we all work every day.  I know I do, and although I never leave my home for work, I spend probably 15-18 hours PER day, working here to make this place great for all of you!  Any member of my board can tell you that on a good day, my days begin around 5:30 a.m. and they don’t end typically sometimes, until the next morning, between 1 a.m and 2:30 a.m…sometimes even later.  I’m not asking any of you to work or even function on a schedule like mine because it’s crazy,  but, if you sit in that knowledge for just a moment, then you can appreciate how much time I don’t have, yet, I still find the time to support my fellow members.  I’m just one example.

We have members in our midst who have serious disabilities, but you know what, they are among our elite and our most supportive.  Members who are blind, who are losing their eyesight, who have missing limbs, in wheel chairs, with brain injuries, those who suffer with debilitating diseases such as Multiple Sclerosis, Parkinsons, Lupus, etc., and yet, they are among our core of usual supporters.  And if they can do it, then there shouldn’t be a hint of excuse in the rest of us.  You know, the rest of us who are extra blessed to have our eyesight, to have all our limbs, to be in total control of our faculties…if they can do it, what excuse could we possibly have, for not?

Some members are even honored with RRBC seats and after they’ve taken all they can, they leave!  After we have pushed them, supported them, BOUGHT THEIR BOOKS, they don’t even stick around to return the support!  That’s infuriating but, we’ll save that for another blog.

Just because we’re not advertising that prizes could be won when you support a “SPOTLIGHT” Author blog tour, doesn’t mean that you won’t be a winner.  You see, when you support a “SPOTLIGHT” Author blog tour, by simply stopping along the tour a couple of days during that week (you don’t have to show up every day), when you support our Member of the Month by dropping by their page and congratulating them and then joining in their #MemberOfTheMonth Monday support day on social media;  when you support our Books of the Month by joining in a monthly discussion, when you tune in to our RAVE WAVES BlogTalkRadio shows and join in the conversation on Twitter during the shows, even when you drop by to show your support of a “SPOTLIGHT” Author’s “WHO’S ON THE SHELF” interview,  then you are positioning yourself to hold your own  fabulous RRBC seat, such as: BOOK OF THE MONTH, “SPOTLIGHT” AUTHOR, MEMBER OF THE MONTH, MEMBER OF THE WEEK, RAVE WAVES BLOGTALK RADIO GUEST, and so many more wonderful opportunities to be supported, that I wish I had the time to list here.

I’m getting off my soapbox now, because I’m getting dizzy being up so high (I really don’t know how some of you do it every day) but, let me leave you with this:  RRBC is an international organization of support.  You couldn’t be in the company of a more loving and giving community.  Why not jump right in, get to know these people who can “push” you, “propel” you and who can be your greatest support system, already in place, when and for whatever you need.   You are the only one standing in your way.  We say this over and over and over again, but I guess it’s just not clicking with some of you…so, we’ll say it again and again and again…to be supported here, you HAVE TO be a supporter here.  Let me put it another way:  those that are most supportive here are the ones who are MOST SUPPORTED here.   I really hope you got it that time, but in the event you didn’t, check out these tutorials on how to become more supportive here at RRBC:

*SUPPORT TIPS by John Fioravanti

*Writing the Almost Perfect Book Review by Beem Weeks

Take care, RRBC, and we’ll be looking for you to help us close out the month by showing your support at the following events, as well:

*BUY THE BOOK BlogTalkRadio show on Saturday, 3/19/16,  12 N Central Time

*BRING ON THE SPOTLIGHT BlogTalkRadio show on Thursday, 3/24/16, 11 AM Central Time

*TAG TEAM 2*4*5 BlogTalkRadio show on Saturday, 3/26/16, 12 N Central Time

*ASPIRE TO INSPIRE BlogTalkRadio show on Monday, 3/28/16, 11 AM Central Time

*BOOK OF THE MONTH CLUB DISCUSSION on Wednesday, 3/30/16, 11 AM Central Time (see sidebar widget for location)

If you can’t or won’t help your fellow man, then please remember, it is within your power to not hurt him, either.

75 responses

  1. I had a wonderful conversation with Kathryn Chasten Treat probably three to four years ago. She talked to me about RRBC and from her high regards for this group, I decided to join. I have gradually become more active as my health (cancer) has allowed. The more involved, the more people I meet, and the more I learn about writing, authors, publishing, and promoting. I appreciate all I have learned.
    In all honesty, I have yet to read a book from RRBC that I thought was poorly written. The quality is there and some great writers are amongst us.
    I hope to do more than I have been. Remembering to stop what I am doing and participate in the various radio shows has been my biggest challenge! I have decided to set up a separate calendar just for RRBC and hopefully I will become a better participant.
    Thank you one and all for everything you do, and thank you Nonnie for your leadership.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The radio shows are my biggest problem too. I keep forgetting to log on and listen, and I don’t think I do it right because sometimes I get no volume and I can’t figure out how to make it work. But I will start setting the alarm on my phone so that I can hopefully start to make more of them once I have moved and I’m settled. People have been so supportive of me, I want to be sure to return the favor.

      Like

  2. Thanks for the nudge, Nonnie. I’ll try to get on Twitter more often so that I can do the tweetng/retweetting thing with a bit more regularity. Hopefully I will finish moving in the next week or so and then I will have more time to do what I would much rather be doing. Lol

    Like

  3. Thank you for the gentle reminder. I will certainly step up my game. This is a great book club, but like all things in life, we reap what we sow. It doesn’t take an enormous amount of time to tweet or leave a comment. Will endeavor to do better.

    Like

  4. What a great article! It reminds each of us of our fundamental Club role of service. One book and/or interaction could potentially change a life. Thank you Nonnie…for the inspiration and the where-with-all to create RRBC!

    Like

  5. When authors support others I then become familiar with their brand and when I see them crop up on twitter or FB I can easily RT, or Share, or Download, or Buy their books. Be seen, be helpful, be friendly.
    Cheers,
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks Jules for the reminder. I hear you loud and clear! Well said!!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Reblogged this on Room With Books and commented:
    I never dreamed when I joined how quickly I would be embraced by members of Rave Reviews Book Club!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We just love welcoming new members – it’s not a rule, it’s a pleasure! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Support someone else in order to be supported by others. Hmmm … What a concept! I love it! I’ve always felt authors should support one another, especially those who are in a club together or in a close relationship like co-authors of an anthology or in a critique group. It’s sad, but many times they don’t, and I could never understand why. They’re not losing anything by supporting others rather than just themselves. They’re actually gaining closer friendships and more support for themselves. I do my best to support every author I know and those who are supportive of their fellow author, I try to support them a little extra. That is when I don’t fall asleep after dinner as I did just last night. Sorry guys. 😦

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Well said Kim! 😀 And you’re allowed to fall asleep after a good dinner – you must have needed the rest! 😉

      Like

  9. I only joined RRBC in September (I think) and to be honest I didnt really see how I would be able to be noticed amongst the 300-odd other members but I just got on with it – tweeted and retweeted and just joined in where and when I could and once you start supporting your fellow members you do quickly see it coming back to you. I dont really see the point of joining a fab place like this one if you dont plan on joining in – you just miss out on the fun that way 🙂

    Liked by 5 people

    1. You’re absolutely right, Dawn, interacting with fellow members is a lot of fun! Thanks for chiming in here.

      Liked by 2 people

    2. Absolutely Dawn 😀 If you’re not having fun here, then you’re not joining in enough – LET’S PARTAY! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  10. The captain of every ship needs to remind the crew, from time to time, of the core goals, aspirations and levels of participation, otherwise the ship will veer off course. Thanks to NJ’s course correction, the luxury cruise ship RRBC will continue to sail along on calm, sunny waters.

    Liked by 5 people

    1. Well said, Sea-man Gordon! We all need these reminders…

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    I was reading this last night in the comfort of my living room from beginning to end because it captured my attention. Every now and then reminders do need to go out because there are folks still running around wondering why they are not ever selected for anything. I bet some of the new ones didn’t bother to read their welcome package. You miss out on a lot if you don’t read and get involved. Standing by and watching does not cut it. Even in other aspects of your life this principle still applies. You only get out of life what you put into it. Most of the complaints come from folks who do nothing. Nice post Nonnie!

    Liked by 5 people

    1. Thanks for chiming in with your support, Shirley. We all appreciate your involvement in the club!!

      Liked by 2 people

  12. Great post Nonnie! #RRBC is such a supportive place to be. It really doesn’t take much to pop by this site and click on a few books you haven’t read and send a tweet or Facebook post to your followers. It’s fun! The #RRBC community is a friendly and talented one. My kindle is rammed full of books I have discovered here, by some amazing authors. If you subscribe to members blogs, you will find a wealth of free books and some really useful tips on book promotion and an insight into social media and blogging.
    The same faces do keep popping up on social media and that is because they promote other members, so they in turn are promoted back. Take a deep breath and jump in!

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Great comments, Lizzie. This club truly is a fun place to be where we support our fellow authors instead of competing against them.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Reblogged this on Lizzie Chantree and commented:
    Support and be supported! Great blog post by #RRBC founder Nonnie Jules.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. harmonykentonline | Reply

    As ever, Nons, you tell it like it is … Bravo 🙂 Whenever I host somebody, I always know who the core people are gonna be for leaving comments. Likewise on Twitter, which is where I really shine (I’m still what I call a lazy blogger, lol), it’s always the same set of folks who retweet and tweet out. Like Robin says, I didn’t join to get lots of stuff, but was looking for a way to offer support. The club spoke to my ethos of generosity of spirit. Of course, I’ve seen that support come back so much–so a HUGE thank you to all those of you who make the difference! I love initiatives like PIF week, because they are a way to pay it back even more.
    Thanks for RRBC, Nonnie. Without you and your team, it wouldn’t be here 🙂

    Liked by 6 people

    1. Oh, you’re so very welcome, Harmz! Thanks for dropping by some Harmz-kinda-support!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Very well put. If we expect to gain recognition for our writing on this site, we as authors should put in an effort to help grow this organisation. I think that Nonnie and all at RRBC are doing a great job, and deserve all the support we can give them. Without publicity an author will get nowhere, so don’t just sit back and do nothing, get the word out about RRBC.

    Liked by 5 people

  16. Honestly, I was amazed when shortly after joining RRBC I was given one of the “seats in the house”. I ‘ve had others since and was flabbergasted recently to be awarded a $100 prize just for reading and reviewing other members’ books. So let me say here what I really feel. I don’t need RRBC to ‘reward’ me . I am very happy to go on supporting as many members as I can in whatever ways I can for as long as I am able. I don’t need to be ‘spotlighted’ or ‘member-of-the-monthed’ or ‘push-Tuesdayed’ or ‘paid forward’. It’s the fellow-writer friendships and the mutually supportive network that I am in the RRBC family for. So please – you’ve done more than enough for me in the ‘seats in the house’ and ‘prizes’ department. Let others have them, and be certain that it is more than enough for me just to do what I’m able to do to earn the reciprocal appreciation of my fellow members on Twitter and in the emails we send one another along the way. That’s where the real value is for me. Does it lead to more than a handful of extra sales per month? I’ve no idea. For me, that’s not what it’s about.

    Liked by 7 people

    1. Robin, I had the honour of chatting with you on “Buy The Book” not so long ago. It was a memorable experience because I caught a glimpse of a wonderful human being who spent his whole life serving others. The only thing that saddens me about our wonderful community is that the distances between us make it almost impossible to do something as simple as have a warm chat over a cup of coffee or tea. Thanks for your heartfelt comments above, sir.

      Liked by 4 people

      1. We were, and will always be, teachers, John. xx

        Liked by 1 person

    2. This is one of THE very best things about RRBC – the people you meet and find they’re instant friends not least because you have tons in common with them, but also because they’re such interesting and inspiring human beings 😀 RRBC ROCKS!!! 😉

      Liked by 2 people

  17. Love this post!! So much that I just had to re-blog it!! 🙂

    I can only hope that your words are heard, listened to, and followed. It seems only fair, only right… SUPPORT TO BE SUPPORTED. That’s something we have always shared with our Members. And also one of my favorite sayings. So simple, so true.

    Liked by 4 people

  18. Reblogged this on Life As I Know It and commented:
    Love this post!! Very well said. I agree with everyone here. This is something that needed to be said and deserves to be heard.

    We are FAMILY here at RRBC and we’re here to truly support one another. The hot seats are just a start! If you’re not already doing so, do your part!! It is so well worth it.

    We are changing the Indie Author World… one day at a time. Who wouldn’t want to be a part of that?!? RRBC is one-of-a-kind and if you CHOOSE to be a part of this organization, then you have taken the right first step. It’s just a matter of what you do after that.

    ~ SUPPORT… It’s what we do!!!! 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

  19. No sugarcoatin. You go, Nonnie!

    Liked by 4 people

    1. No, Robin, Sugarcoatin’ is for candy and I know I can’t be talking to candy here, right? Candy can’t hear! (Although, when I say to chocolate “come to me,” it does magicly appear in my mouth!)

      -_____________-

      LOL

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  20. I am into my second year here and feeling more like part of the ‘family’ every day. I’m not good with the technical parts and still get lost but I can state that when my health allows me to work—work which I really enjoy, my amazon rank goes up and books are sold. I have been top seller of my publisher for two royalty periods due entirely to this amazing group. When I am unable to do much, I make sure I promote RRBC before my own work which slows my productivity with my own writing but when I commit to something I feel obligated to fulfill it. I am struggling to regain my life and Nonnie’s post has helped me push harder each day for both RRBC and myself. I am also thrilled to find deep friendships here in such a short time. Please apologize to the dog for me as well . 🙂

    Liked by 5 people

    1. Micki, without fail, you show up to each and every ON THE SHELF interview. If no one is there, we can always expect that you will be…even in spite of your health, so thank you, my friend!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you Nonnie but that is a pleasure. I retweet everyone I know and learned to reblog the blogs I visit and I was well enough to join my RRBC friend, Bette Stevens on my blog radio interview with John Howel, oh and I was ‘President’s Pick’ one time so I am learning. I commented on a few radio shows but I can’t get sound. I really want to visit the book club but lyme turns my nights and days mixed up so I am sleeping through them but trying for this next one. There is so much I want to do that it’s frustrating but God willing, I am doing the best I can when I can and I appreciate your patience.
        Micki

        Liked by 1 person

  21. I’m honored to be a part of the RRBC! Over the last two years, I’ve really enjoyed reading and reviewing amazing books by several of the talented authors belonging to this supportive group. I must say, at times I feel like I can do more but often get overwhelmed with all facets of my life, but know that I can and will make every effort to definitely do more! I’ll continue to blog about how impressed I am with the RRBC, read/share & promote RRBC authors and events and express how supportive and dedicated everyone is. I will work harder to be a member that others can genuinely rely on! Thanks for all you do!

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Thanks, Thomas, as a former teacher, I know the kind of workload you carry during the workday, and again at night with the marking and planning. We appreciate your positive attitude and anything that you can do to support our fellow members!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Hi Thomas – we see you ‘around’ a lot so we know you’re doing your bit and more besides :-D. One of the things I like about our promotional drives is that you can dip in and out – like with the PIF weeks where you can choose to blog once, twice or three times for the charm, or opt out the next time if you need to spend your time elsewhere. All the board members know what it’s like to have play catch -up with busy lives away from the writing desk, fitting in a job, family, pets and other ‘spare time’ activities like taxi-ing the kids to sport or creative activities, or travelling/vacations. We’re writers – we have well-rounded and interesting life experiences so we know sometimes is hard to find enough hours in the day! 😉

      This is why there’s so many ways you can choose to support our RRBC community – there should be something for everyone to find a little time for, try their hand at and, let’s face it, most of it’s quite fun to do anyway!

      Liked by 2 people

  22. michaelbillington9 | Reply

    Well said Nonnie but here’s something to think about: Many of us rely on reviews as a major part of our marketing strategy and, as we know, Amazon takes a dim view of blog tours and prizes… I know several authors who have had their reviews taken down because they took part in blog tours or won prizes from them… I don’t know how Amazon determines this (heck, I still write letters on paper using a fountain pen so algorithms are beyond my ken) but somehow it does… I would hate to see my reviews taken down and I would hate to see those written about my books deleted… I guess what I’m saying is that taking part in some of these events is a little scary for some of us. I do Tweet and share on other social media in support of RRBC and I’m pleased to say that a number of members do the same for me so I’d say that, yes, I do feel supported as a member and I’ll keep Tweeting, etc. and reviewing books as honestly as I can… just wanted to share this…

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Hello, Mike! You know, I’ve been doing blog tours since 2012 and NOT ONCE have I ever heard of or even felt that Amazon was policing my tours. I know that they hover, well, let me be honest, I know that other people have said that they do, but I find it hard to believe that supporting a blog tour by dropping by and commenting would have any bearing on what Amazon does. I also don’t see how winning prizes along the way could be deemed a crime. That would mean, they would have to have the time and resources to police every blog out there. Authors support authors and even without it being tagged as a tour, guest appearances on others blogs is extremely common and truly, a daily occurence. So, I’ll have to say that you’re worrying about the wrong thing here.

      Prizes and door prizes are only given away on the personal blog tours that go on. This is not at all apart of our “SPOTLIGHT” Author tours. So, there you have it! We thank you for the support you give and we’ll look for you along our next SA tour which begins April 3rd!

      Thanks for stopping by, Mike!

      Liked by 2 people

  23. When I ask myself if I am doing enough I tell myself that I am doing what I can! But after reading this I realise that I could be doing more! Note to self try harder!

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Hi, Christian, we think you’re doing just fine! Keep up the good work! Anytime you feel that you’d like to jump into even more of the fun, feel welcome!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 2 people

  24. I think it is very important that this is said often to remind us about what #RRBC is all about. The truth is why some of us joined this group. I for one was looking for support when I joined, but I learned quickly that it is by supporting that one is supported. How very true that is. So, dear members. please heed this call. Come out in droves to support your colleagues, and you will be surprised how that will push you too. :). Push indeed, I mean, profile you.

    Liked by 8 people

    1. Kudos, 2015 MEMBER OF THE YEAR! That title alone should tell everyone what kind of member you are! Great job!

      Thanks for dropping by!

      Liked by 3 people

  25. janellejalbert | Reply

    It can be overwhelming for newbies to find a footing because RRBC does do so much to help and support members. I remember that feeling when I first joined. The truth is that you don’t have to do everything…just start by doing one thing “extra” to show your support. If it works out like it did for me, you’ll find that instead of feeling overwhelmed, you actually find “your place” in the RRBC matrix and start doing even more because it is truly fun to help others, rather than focusing solely on “what’s in it for me” and promoting yourself all the time. By helping others, there is a magic of multiplying efforts as your support is multiplied by those returning the favor.

    Liked by 7 people

    1. Janelle, you put it just perfectly! You don’t have to do it all, but you do have to start somewhere. We offer so much so that members will have choices and a variety of projects and programs to participate in. Maybe you’re not great at social media but we notice your support when you’re following the blog tours or you’re tuning in to RAVE WAVES and engaging on Twitter. You can’t simply join and then disappear, yet expect to be supported in grand fashion the way others are. That’s not the way it works. That’s not real life.

      Janelle, we’re so glad you found your “footing” here in the club and we think you’re amazing!

      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  26. Nonnie, I hope to do everything I can to support my fellow RRBC authors. I have been in love with the club from day one ( just bought two more books to read and review today). I’ve made great friends already and don’t want to be bummed about it. Personally, you probably won’t see me much on weekends or even on BOM discussions because Saturday’s, Sunday’s and evenings are times I reserve for my family and writing ( I do the day job).

    I am overwhelmed by all you do and am so grateful to have found RRBC and for the welcome I have received from members. I’m still finding my way around and learning all the ways I can support my fellow authors. It may take me a while with the learning curve but I’ll get there eventually. My blog is open to RRBC members and I am happy to connect on Twitter and elsewhere. I think RRBC rocks. Guys, as a newbie, please listen up when I say you have something special I haven’t encountered anywhere in my 4 years of publishing. Don’t take it for granted. I’m honored and humbled by the support I’ve received in my few short months of membership and hope I returning it in kind. Hoping to get to know you all!

    Liked by 6 people

    1. Mae Clair, we love having you part of the group.

      Liked by 3 people

      1. I’m with John H…we do so love having you as one of us, Mae Clair!!!

        Liked by 4 people

      2. Hi Guys, I just popped in for a quick look-see what’s going on as a take a break between chapters. I’m working against a 3/31 deadline on my WIP so weekends are cram time, LOL. Thank you both. LOVING every minute of RRBC. As I’ve said before, I am soooo glad I found you! 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

        1. Nice. Now get back to work. 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

      3. 2222 words today. What are the odds of that. I’ve only got to finish the epilogue and then it’s done. *Snoopy dance* Of course I’ve still got a bunch of edits to do before the 31st. Crunch time!

        Liked by 2 people

    2. *looks up at John’s last comment & ‘tuts’!* LOL!
      Mae – you’ve just taken to RRBC like a duck to water! We lubsya already 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aww, thanks! 😀

        Like

    3. It’s great getting to know you too Mae:)

      Like

  27. Great post, Nonnie. If anyone feels a little uncomfortable about this post maybe that person ought to get themselves in gear. The support a member gives another comes back in the form of support. It is a simple process that all can receive benefit through mutual support. There is no other club like Rave Reviews Book Club on the planet and the members need to help make it work.

    Liked by 7 people

    1. John, I knew that some would be uncomfortable about this post, but let’s face it, it’s what I do. I don’t think I’ve ever penned a post or a book that didn’t make people think, or feel, or sit in a little hot seat for a minute. But, you’re right about some folks so, un-quoting Carly Simon, “if you think this song is about you, then it probably is!” LOL.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Ha ha ha. You’re the best at hot seat formation.

        Liked by 1 person

  28. This needed saying for sure! And gentle member – if you take heed of what Nonnie’s outlined here, you may not always win prizes or get lots of giveaways, but what you WILL get is a great feeling of really connecting with other people, making new friends and contacts and actually having FUN with getting you feet wet in the support pool.
    When I first joined I was all about the reviews, but was scared of doing stuff on TWITTER & FB. Once I realised how much more was going on around me outside of the review I bit the bullet and joined the TWEET SUPPORT TEAM and found out that actually TWITTER’s quite a fun place. I started blogging more seriously and had more fun with Pay it Forward and helping host the SPOTLIGHT AUTHORS – THAT WAS EVEN MORE FUN!
    So, as my 2nd RRBC anniversary’s coming up I’m still having fun on TWITTER and with my blog, made some amazing friends all over the world, and got to sit in some of the best seats in the RRBC – THE PROGRAM WORKS and what you NEED to do to make that happen, after a while DOESN’T SEEM LIKE WORK AT ALL! 😀

    Liked by 5 people

    1. I’m so happy you told your story here, Jan, because I admire your caring and giving ways – and I admire your courage! You are truly one-of-a-kind, and we are so fortunate to have you!

      Liked by 3 people

    2. I love the connecting aspect, Jan. The reviews are great, and heck I devour books, so I will be posting a lot of those, but what I’ve loved the most since joining, is the sense of community and everyone rallying around everyone else. That’s something I haven’t experienced anywhere else.

      Liked by 2 people

    3. Jan you are the example we all should follow. Nicely said.

      Liked by 1 person

  29. By the way, this is a fun PLACE! Nothing we do here feels like work! But, you really have to have a giving spirit to get into it!

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Hey Nonnie – we were almost in tandem there! Wbo says we’re ocean’s apart! lol 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  30. I’m still trying to get up to speed around here. I bought a member’s book and will review it as soon as I finish it. What else do we need to do to show support?

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Hi Scott!! I hope you don’t think this post was directed at you… no way! You’re brand new to the club and you’ve already bought a member’s book. Bravo! Since you asked – check out the two YouTube tutorials that Nonnie listed above: “Support Tips” and “Writing The Almost Perfect Book Review”. If you’d like more suggestions (and I have plenty) just contact me at RaveReviewsMembership@gmail.com.

      Liked by 2 people

  31. Thanks for writing this post, Nonnie. You expressed, so beautifully, an issue that bothers me each and every day. Every month, I watch members renew their memberships for another year and for some, that’s the last I’ll see of them until next year! I think RRBC is the most awesome literary community in the world, but it could be totally fabulous if our entire membership became active. It is so sad that for some, there has to be a prize before they’ll bother to support. Okay, that’s my rant. I love RRBC and I want to see this international organization keep growing and supporting in the years to come.

    Liked by 8 people

    1. Liked your rant Hoser.

      Liked by 3 people

      1. Happy to reside with you in “Hoserville”!

        Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

