REBECCA REILLY in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?”


Hello, and welcome to “WHO’S ON THE SHELF?” with yours truly, Nonnie Jules!  Since we are a book club, we had to offer something that included a book shelf.  A lot of interviews merely cover an author’s work or an individual’s career stories.  Here on this “SHELF,”  we get down and dirty and ask the questions no other interviewer dare ask.  We ask the questions that you want to open up a book and find the answers to on your favorite authors and fellow book club members, but no one has dared to cover them.  WE get personal!  Because when you sit on the RRBC “SHELF,” YOU are an open book!

Today, I have with me on the “SHELF” our very own “SPOTLIGHT” AUTHOR CO-ORDINATOR and Current “SPOTLIGHT” Author, Rebecca Reilly!  (Yes, she deserves to be in the spotlight, too!)

16_Hawaii2.JPG

NJ:  Before we get started, how does the “shelf” feel to you, Rebecca?  Is it comfy?

Rebecca:  I’m never comfortable talking about myself!  No matter how soft the shelf, I feel itchy!

NJ:  (Another one of those who insists they don’t like talking about themselves.  Why won’t people just come out and admit that they love chatting about themselves…like I do!)  OK, Little-Ms-Uncomfortable-Talking-About-Myself…oh, I’m sorry, I mean, Rebecca…let’s start by confirming whether or not your author name is your birth name or a pen name?

Rebecca:  Technically, Rebecca Reilly is my pen name. My parents chose the less formal, Becky, to put on my birth certificate.

NJ:  Hmmm, that’s odd, or shall I say…different.  I’ve always found it to be the other way around, Rebecca being the given, and Becky being the nick-name.  OK, “Becky, tell us where you were born?  Do you still live there now?  If not, what city and state are you calling home these days?

Rebecca:  I was born in the Apricot Capital of the World, Patterson, California. I now live in El Dorado Hills, California.

NJ:  Well, those of us on the board know that you live in sunny Cal because when we’re all in the throes of horrible weather, you’re throwing your awesome sunshine in our faces.  So are you married or single?

Rebecca:  I will celebrate my 32nd wedding anniversary this summer. I am blessed! My husband is not only gorgeous, he’s a very good man and, for some reason, he loves me a lot!

shutterstock_367737266

NJ:  Yes, Rebecca, I would tell people that, too, but… how would you explain the fact that he’s the one claiming “I have a headache (again) tonight?”  It’s OK, you don’t have to answer, I’ve been there.  I know… it IS a little embarrassing.  Anyway, moving on from that…kids or no?  If yes, how many?  Sons or Daughters?

Rebecca:  I have a twenty-six-year-old son and a twenty-nine-year-old daughter (who added a son-in-law to the family). I also have a twenty-two-month-old granddaughter and another granddaughter due to make an appearance mid-July.

NJ:  WOW!  Sounds fabulous in the kid department!  So, which would be your favorite child (and be honest…I’m sure they’re not reading this interview)…

Rebecca:  The one who calls, visits, or invites me over for dinner.

NJ:  Any pets to go along with those kids?  If so, what kind?

Rebecca:  Sorry, Nonnie, I am a CAT PERSON! Schroeder is a seven-year-old tabby we inherited from my daughter when my granddaughter was born.

shutterstock_261847178

NJ:  OK, Rebecca, that’s fine, but in my world, Schroeder is going to look like this.  Now, this next series of question, we’re going to run thru them really fast.  One word responses would be great!  Favorite food?

Rebecca:  Chocolate

NJ:  Favorite color?

Rebecca:  Red

NJ:  Favorite sport?

Rebecca:  To watch—Giants Baseball. To play–Volleyball

NJ:  (Guess she forgot what a one word response looked like when we got to that question).  Rebecca, how about your favorite TV Show?

Rebecca:  I only watch sports: Baseball, Golf, Football, Basketball

NJ:  Favorite Actress/Actor?

Rebecca:  I don’t have one. I’m not into movies or TV.

NJ:  (Oh, now she doesn’t have a response).  Couch potato or workout nut? Be honest.  And by the way, this is how I imagine you:

shutterstock_188945981.jpg

Rebecca:  Work-out nut—Absolutely! I run 4-7 miles a day, do Zumba 5-6 days a week, bike 30-50 miles every weekend, and throw in yoga and weights when I can.

NJ:  (I was right).  Biggest pet peeve that makes you want to stomach-punch somebody?: (For the record, NJ does not condone violence but she does believe in being honest so she has to admit that there are times when she feels like some friendly stomach-punching is a little necessary).

Rebecca:  Mean people…

shutterstock_91175882

NJ:  Did you tell your husband to point at me while you were saying “mean people?”  *Sigh*  Anyway, are you neat or messy?

Rebecca:  When I am most creative, I am extremely messy. When I am neat, it is a sign I need to break free.

What confused dog

NJ:  Facebook or Twitter?

Rebecca:  Both. I’m learning Twitter through RRBC.

NJ:  Rebecca, I’m glad you said that because the thing that makes me happiest when I hear it, is that because of RRBC, so many people have been introduced to, have learned how to, have created …all because of RRBC!  You would be surprised at the number of people who didn’t know how to use Twitter before the club, or didn’t have a blog before the club, some didn’t even know HOW to blog before the club, didn’t know about blog tours and most special of all, is I know that we have given new meaning to what support actually is, and have shown many, what real support looks like.  That’s RRBC and what it has done for the literary community.  That and so much more!!!  Rebecca, name two of the most supportive people you’ve met on either Facebook or Twitter? Hurry and tell us so we can become their friend.

Rebecca:  Carol Marrs Phips ‏‪@Car01am  and Kim Cox ‪@KimCoxAuthor

NJ:  Nonnie Jules or Wonderwoman? Be honest now…my feelings are made of pure steel! (Nonnie’s not too sure what this one will say, so she scoots a little closer, delicately pushing Rebecca close to the edge,  in case she needs to enact an accident).

Rebecca:  Nonnie taught Wonder Woman how to be wonderful!

NJ:  Oh, Rebecca, that’s so sweet of you to say! (as she pulls Rebecca a little closer to the middle of the shelf, out of accidental harms way). Everyone knows the names Mark Twain and Stephen King but how about you give us two names of some INDIE authors that you favor?

Rebecca:  Beem Weeks and Mark Aberdeen.

NJ:  Great choices!  Now tell us what it is about them that you’ve come to like?

Rebecca:  I loved Beem’s “SLIVERS OF LIFE!” He is an exceptional writer, and that book made me laugh, shiver, and moan!

I am in the middle of Mark Aberdeen’s “DEX TERRITORY.” Mark is witty, creative, and fun!

NJ:  Name two favorite INDIE books that you’ve read…

Rebecca:  “MILELE SAFARI” by Jan Hawke and “I, HERO” by Jason Zandri

NJ:  Two more of our supportive members!  Rebecca, now give us ONE good INDIE book you read that was so good you wished the entire world would read it:

Rebecca:  “RAVE SOUP FOR THE WRITER’S SOUL” Anthology!

NJ:  OK, nice choice.  What was so great about it to you?

Rebecca:  The reader gets a taste of many indie-authors’ writing styles and voices.

NJ:  After you read books, do you post reviews?

Rebecca:  Yes, I do.

NJ:  What do you think readers should base their reviews on?

Rebecca:  How the story speaks to them. If the writer has difficulty mastering the language or communicating clearly, that should be mentioned.

NJ:  Are you one of those who are afraid to be honest in their reviews lest the author gets upset with you, or is honesty your best policy, especially in reviews?

Rebecca:  I am honest, but gentle. I do not finish books I do not like, so I rarely give a low rating. I know the mood I am in, or the place I am in life, has a great deal to do with whether or not I like a book. That being the case, I temper criticism. On the other hand, I have re-edited each of my books because of reviews. For “HAUNTING MEGAN,” many people mentioned formatting issues of which I was unaware. I am grateful for their comments and made the corrections.

NJ:  Read any poorly written books lately?

Rebecca:  Not the entire book, but yes! Unfortunately, Amazon does not have any restrictions on quality for Indie Authors!

NJ:  Very well said and completely true!!!  One of my all-time pet-peeves!  Rebecca, we know you’re an author so tell us, how long have you been writing?

Rebecca:  I have been writing my entire life! I was first published in 1991 by Standard Publishing.

NJ:  What books have you written?

“INTO DARK WATERS”

Into Dark Waters  by Rebecca Reilly

“HAUNTING MEGAN”

Haunting Megan by Rebecca Reilly

Diary of a Christian Woman: How I Used 50 Shades of Grey to Spice Up My Marriage http://bit.ly/amazondiary

Christian Sex and Marriage-It’s Complicated http://bit.ly/SexMarriagePB

 The Geek Club http://bit.ly/RRgeekclub

Heart of a Kitty  http://bit.ly/RRkitty

Jammers and His Flying Bed Adventure  http://bit.ly/RRjammers

Hide and Seek With the Moon  http://bit.ly/RRhidemoon

 NJ:  Seems you’ve got quite a variety there.  Which one do you think is the best?

Rebecca:  I think Christian Sex and Marriage-It’s Complicated has the power to help build communication and intimacy in all marriages/relationships. I did a great deal of research, including hundreds of interviews, to get the down low on what is really happening behind closed doors. Each chapter has self-evaluation questions and exercises to deepen intimacy. It is frank, how-to, funny, and poignant. It is the best thing I’ve written, and I don’t want to write anything else like it! It drained me!

As for my fiction work, I like and hate them all!

NJ:  Do you have a blog or website?

Rebecca:  I do at www.RebeccaReilly.net

NJ:  Now, please name three great online resources or organizations that every author should belong to:

Rebecca:  RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB is the only one I belong to.

NJ:  Which online resource or organization has helped you as an author the most?

Rebecca:  RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB!

NJ:  And how were you helped by that amazing club?

Rebecca:  RRBC has many, many resources! First, there are hundreds of authors willing to support you on Twitter and other social media forums. There are numerous people who will answer questions ranging from self-publishing quandaries to plot advice. HAUNTING MEGAN was chosen as the 2015 RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB, Book of the Year and received a 1st Place RAVE AWARD!  I’ve been promoted all over Twitter as a #PUSHTUESDAY winner and as a MEMBER OF THE MONTH!

NJ:  Since you’re sitting on the SHELF, you’re obviously a RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB member, so what do you think of the club?

Rebecca:  I just raved about it in the previous answer but, here is part of a blog I posted about my experiences with RRBC:

What did I gain from joining RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB?

  • My Twitter following has grown from 1800 to 5149 (as of this moment). These are real followers, not bought.
  • I average 20+ tweets and re-tweets about my books, posted by others, each day.
  • I have been given two blog radio interviews-one from RRBC and another from a host who saw all of my support on Twitter.
  • My work has been featured on multiple writers’ blogs.
  • My book, Haunting Megan, has been chosen to be Book of the Month and 2015 Rave Awards Book of the Year. It has received a great deal of extra support, a chat room discussion, and many more sales and reviews

More importantly…

  • I have learned how to support other authors.
  • I’ve read books I would not have read and explored genres I would have ignored.
  • I have developed relationships with writers and readers all over the world.
  • I have a peer group who is always available to answer questions, give feedback, and encourage me on my writing journey.
  • I belong to a team.
  • My life has been enriched because of RRBC.

If you are an author, I strongly encourage you to look into RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB! If you are a reader, explore the catalog. You will find some amazing work!

NJ:  Have you come across any other online entities like it?

Rebecca:  No!

NJ:  Would you recommend it to your friends and family?

Rebecca:  I do!

NJ:  This shelf is getting hard on my hiney, so we’re going to wrap this interview up.  Any final words?

Rebecca:  Thank you, Nonnie, for your tireless energy and creativity! You have blessed me, and countless other authors and readers!

NJ:  Rebecca, thank you for joining me ON THE SHELF today and for being one of the most fun-nest guests ever!  And thank you for those very kind words.  They truly mean a lot to me.  This was one of my best interviews, ever, if I must say so myself!  Or maybe I should say that my guest was one of the best!  I’d also like to personally THANK YOU for your time and dedication to our “SPOTLIGHT” AUTHOR program.  Rebecca fights like no other to ensure that each SA has the best week ever when they sit under this particular spotlight, so let’s all thank her for that!

To my guests, please support Rebecca by picking up a copy of one of her books above.   You can also support her by visiting the blog stops along her tour which ends on Saturday.  You can find the tour line up here.

Have you joined RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB yet?  Well, here’s your chance!  And since Rebecca  was on the “SHELF” today, tell them she sent you. Take care and we’ll see you next time, right here on the shelf, with another AMAZING RRBC member!

65 responses

  1. I’m a little late to the party, at least in commenting! Just wanted to chime in and say I thoroughly enjoyed the interview, Nonnie & Rebecca!! Entertaining, as always!!

    Like

  2. Well done you two! Great to learn more about you Rebecca!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Very relaxed conversation indeed. Well done to both of you. I enjoyed your show. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, Yay, another cat person (don’t think less of me Nonnie, LOL). I adore felines! Another great interview that goes a long way in helping me to learn about my sister (and fellow) club members. Rebecca, I love yoga but I was exhausted just reading all the other activity you do. Thanks for the fun, ladies!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Hi Rebecca, so nice to finally meet you and learn more about your life and fine assortment of books. Nonnie was a real ‘sit-down’ comic in this interview–the funniest and one of the best ever. She never even had to ”let the dogs out’ lol!! You’ll never know h0w close you were to ‘sliding’ off the shelf lol.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Micki! Nonnie is awesome, but I was a bit nervous!

      Like

  6. Rebecca, great to hear from you on the shelf!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Michael! Great to be here!

      Like

  7. Fantastic interview, Nonnie and Rebecca! Rebecca, I’m just loving your tour. Thanks so much for sharing your work with us.
    Nonnie, a huge thank you for all that you do. Your enthusiasm, dedication, and creativity are truly inspiring! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Natalie, for visiting and commenting on every stop! It means a lot!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. What an entertaining interview. Nice job, ladies. Rebecca, I really enjoyed your book, Haunting Megan.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Peggy! I’m thrilled you enjoyed the book!

      Like

  9. I so enjoyed the interview, Rebecca. You and Nonnie captured the Spotlight for sure! Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Interesting that you don’t like movies and TV, Rebecca, but you still enjoy reading and writing fiction. And what a range of books!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have to admit I’ve watched Frozen and Tangled about a million times since my granddaughter discovered them. But that’s an act of love! Thanks for stopping by and commenting, A.M.!

      Like

  11. Great interview, Nonnie and Rebecca! I love that Rebecca isn’t into movies and TV. Also, I do reviews the same way she does: if the book doesn’t engage me, I put it down, and do not review it. Congratulations on all of your literary accomplishments, Rebecca!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Busy day yesterday so only just got here! 😉 Great interview ladies and thanks for the seal of approval and for all your grand support for Milele Safari Rebecca! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I love that you love it! 😀

        Like

  13. Great interview! I enjoyed learning more about you, Rebecca.

    Like

  14. Fantastic interview Nonnie. What a talented and extremely athletic lady Rebecca is! I really enjoyed reading Into Dark Waters and have Haunting Megan on my kindle.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you7, Lizzie! I’m glad you liked Into Dark Waters!

      Like

  15. A work-out nut author – there goes my theory that writers and exercise don’t mix 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If I had to exercise indoors, they wouldn’t mix! I live in a gorgeous area with fabulous weather. For me, being outdoors fuels creativity!

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Fascinating interview… and I loved ‘Haunting Megan’

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Wonderful interview. Well done Nonnie and Rebecca. Echo all the things that can be gained from being an active and supportive member of RRBC

    Like

    1. RRBC is THE place to be for writers and readers!

      Like

  18. Great interview. Very impressed with your exercise regime. Your comment, you did a great deal of research for your book, made me smile! As you haven’t been married lots of times, I guess you must have been referring to the sex!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL! Yes….there was that type of research, but I meant the interviews and research studies.

      Like

  19. That was a very fun chat to peek in on! Thanks for sharing ladies!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    Nonnie I was responding to Rebecca’s like/hate conflict with her fiction.

    Like

    1. ohhhhh, OK! I thought you knew a secret that I didn’t….LOL!

      Like

  21. Another amazing interview on Nonnie’s Shelf – great job Nonnie and Rebecca! So happy there was no accident this week… we need both of you happy and healthy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. John F., you are so right…because, no one could man our depts. the way we do, right, Rebecca? LOL

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Ah, thank you, John! This was a blast!

      Like

  22. Love your picture w/bike. I love this sport too, although 30 miles is probably beyond me these days. You certainly stay fit and active, too! best wishes and tnx Nonnie for a fun interview.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you enjoyed it, Juliet!

      Like

    2. There is something soul satisfying about riding through our beautiful world! Nice to meet you, Juliet!

      Like

  23. […] Source: REBECCA REILLY in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?” […]

    Like

  24. Nice interview. I’m glad you gave the right answers so you stayed on the shelf. 😉

    Like

  25. What a great interview! I know I’ve said this before, but I do love hearing this and that about my fellow club members. Rebecca, we have some things in common. I am also a devout cat lover. I am staff to nine rescues, & they do keep my life interesting. I have a couple of your books on my TBR list, & I’m looking forward to reading them. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, in that case…I do all these interviews for only you, Rhani! LOL!

      Like

      1. And I appreciate it so much, Nonnie! 😀

        Like

    2. 9 rescues? Wow! That is a houseful of fur! It is great that you take so many that need love, Rhani!

      Like

      1. It is a lot of whiskers & fur. Lol But they definitely enriched my life, and are entertaining to say the least. Two of them are on Twitter, and between them I think they have more followers than I do. 😅

        Like

  26. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    I laughed a lot on this interview, especially your love/hate conflict Rebecca. I have my own love/hate issues with Bill Gates. How about that? I was cursing him all day today. Lol Wonderful interview Nonnie.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What are you talking about, Ms. Shirley? Rebecca and I don’t have a love/hate conflict…never! I hope Rebecca hasn’t been cussing me, though! I was having fun!

      Like

    2. It is a great advantage for writers to have broad emotional swings! Thanks for all of your support, Shirley! You have been a faithful cheerleader for all of our “Spotlight” Authors!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you enjoyed it, Tyler! (I think -_____________-) LOL

      Like

  27. Excellent interview Rebecca and Nonnie. It is amazing how many different kinds of books you have written Rebecca . Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, John H., she’s a Jackie of all written trades, isn’t she? Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 2 people

  28. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    Ok. We’re waiting. Lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

