KIM COX in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?”


Hello, and welcome to “WHO’S ON THE SHELF?” with yours truly, Nonnie Jules!  Since we are a book club, we had to offer something that included a book shelf.  A lot of interviews merely cover an author’s work or an individual’s career stories.  Here on this “SHELF,”  we get down and dirty and ask the questions no other interviewer dare ask.  We ask the questions that you want to open up a book and find the answers to on your favorite authors and fellow book club members, but no one has dared to cover them.  WE get personal!  Because when you sit on the RRBC “SHELF,” YOU are an open book!

Today, I have with me on the “SHELF” Current “SPOTLIGHT” Author, Kim Cox! 

Kim'sLife.png

NJ:  Before we get started, how does the “shelf” feel to you?  Is it comfy?

Kim:  I think it’s okay. <She shifts around nervously.>

NJ:  Let’s start by confirming whether or not your author name is your birth name or a pen name?

Kim:  My author’s name is my married name, and by the way, before you even ask, I’ve been married for 30 years.

shocked dog

NJ:  Before I ask?  Well, I never!  Moving along…do tell us where you were born?  Do you still live there now?  If not, what city and state are you calling home these days? (I bet she didn’t know I was going to ask those questions, hmmmm!)

Kim:  I was born in Rockingham, North Carolina. I moved to Asheville, North Carolina in 1989 and have lived here since.

NJ:  Kids or no?  If yes, how many?  Sons or Daughters?

Kim:  Yes, two sons.

NJ:  Favorite child (if you have any, and be honest…I’m sure they’re not reading this interview):

Kim:  I doubt they are reading this but I’d have to say the one who visits and calls most.

NJ:  Kim, you’d be surprised at WHO’S tuning in to Nonnie’s interviews.  Any pets?  What kind?

Kim:  We have three dogs – two West Highland White Terriers (Scooter & Harley) and one Yorkie/Maltese mix that we inherited from my mother-in-law (Candi).

NJ:  OK, time for our Q&A quick round…Favorite food…

Kim:  Rib-eye Steak

NJ:  Favorite color…

Kim:  Green

NJ:  Favorite sport…

Kim:  Baseball, although, I don’t really watch sports much anymore. I used to play softball and my kids played baseball when they were small. We usually spent summers going from one baseball field to another.

NJ:  Favorite TV Show…

Kim:  I have so many so it’s hard to choose. My favorite new (to me) show is Downton Abbey. I just switched to Amazon Primetime and Hulu. I couldn’t get it on satellite and will be canceling it soon.

NJ:  Favorite Actress/Actor:

Kim:  I’ve always loved Richard Gere, Andy Garcia, Al Pacino, and Patrick Swayze. Sorry, it’s too hard to choose between those four.

NJ:  Biggest pet peeve that makes you want to stomach-punch somebody?: (For the record, NJ does not condone violence but she does believe in being honest so she has to admit that there are times when she feels like some friendly stomach-punching is a little necessary).

Kim:  I don’t really get that angry about anything, but things that upset me most normally happens while I’m driving. Things that irritate me are people who drive 25-30 mph in a 45 or 55. Also someone who runs a stop sign to get in front of me and then pokes along. Non-driving pet-peeve is when someone gets up from the table and doesn’t push in their chair. Television related pet-peeve is when the news people cut into a television show I’m watching to put on a special news report that isn’t an emergency or very special.

NJ:  Are you neat or messy?

Kim:  A little of both. I’m not a neat freak but I’m not really messy either. If I was a neat freak, I would drive myself crazy because my husband is somewhat of a packrat. Every time he leaves the house he comes back with something. He helps his brother with a car wash and the customers leave so much stuff behind when they vacuum out their cars. Lately and thankfully, he’s been cleaning up and getting rid of a lot of stuff.

NJ:  Facebook or Twitter?

Kim:  It used to be Facebook but more Twitter since I joined RRBC.

NJ:  Name two of the most supportive people you’ve met on either Facebook or Twitter? Hurry and tell us so we can become their friend.

Kim:  You already know them.  Carol Marrs Phipps and Gordon Bickerstaff.  And there are many others but those two really stick out to me.

NJ:  Nonnie Jules or Wonderwoman? Be honest

Kim:  So, you’re telling me they’re not one in the same! I thought Nonnie Jules was a nickname for Wonderwoman.

NJ:  Well, that was so sweet of you to say, but actually, WonderWoman is the nickname for NJ!  Everyone knows the names Mark Twain and Stephen King but how about you give us two names of some INDIE authors that you favor:

Kim:  Gordon Bickerstaff, and Yvette Callerio

NJ:  What is it about them that you’ve come to like?

Kim:  I love their writing styles.  Both Gordon and Yvette write different genres but the first books of their series made me want to jump right into the next one. I couldn’t because I had other reading obligations on my TBR first.

NJ:  Name two favorite INDIE books that you’ve read…

Kim:  The One Discovered by Yvette Callerio and Deadly Secrets by Gordon Bickerstaff

NJ:  ONE good INDIE book you read that was so good you wished the entire world would read it:

Kim:  “Into Dark Waters” by Rebecca Reilly

NJ:  What was so great about it?

Kim:  I felt like I was there on the ship. The descriptions were so vivid while being sparsely added the way I like them. You could tell Rebecca wrote the location from experience rather than research.

NJ:  After you read books, do you post reviews?

Kim:  Yes.

NJ:  What do you think readers should base their reviews on?

Kim:  The value of the book. Was it entertaining and not boring? Was it well-written and did it make sense?

NJ:  Are you one of those who are afraid to be honest in their reviews lest the author gets upset with you, or is honesty your best policy, especially in reviews?

Kim:  No, I’m not afraid to be honest. Honesty is the best policy. It helps an author improve but I feel that problems should be done privately and not publicly. I normally don’t finish a book if I don’t like it, if it’s riddled with errors or the storyline doesn’t suit me or if it’s boring. I will give it three chapters (sometimes more) before tossing it aside.

NJ:  So, can we call you the 3 Chapter Girl?  I’m forever giving people nicknames?  LOL.  Read any poorly written books lately?

Kim:  No, not lately.

NJ:  Are you an author?

Kim:  Yes.

NJ:  How long have you been writing?

Kim:  About 18 years off and on.

NJ:  What books have you written?

Kim:  Two Romantic Suspense Novels:

ALL THIS TIME

All This Time by Kim Cox

 

and SUSPICIOUS MINDS

Suspicious Minds by Kim Cox

Four Lana Malloy Paranormal Mystery Novellas: Haunted Hearts (http://smarturl.it/HauntedHearts), Get Out or Die (http://smarturl.it/GetOut-Die), The Wedding Crasher (http://smarturl.it/TheWeddingCrasher), Christmas Cruise (http://smarturl.it/ChristmasCruise), and Four Romantic Short Stories.

Of the above categories, I have one of each in process now.

NJ:  Which one do you think is the best?

Kim:  The Wedding Crasher – I seemed to really get into it more than the others and the writing flowed smoothly. Suspicious Minds is my very first published book and will always be special to me.

NJ:  Do you have a blog or website?

Kim:  Yes, I do.  Website: http://www.kimcoxauthor.com/

NJ:  Name three great online resources or organizations that every author should belong to:

Kim:  Oh wow, I get a chance to name three but I only belong to one organization and that’s RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB. I don’t have the time right now to pursue or devote time to other organizations or to find resources.

NJ:  I’m with you, Kim.  I wish I had the time to devote to others, but my workload says NO!  Anyway, how has RRBC helped you the most?

Kim:  RRBC and I have the same core beliefs about authors promoting authors. I’ve received insurmountable support for my writing—much more than I remember from past organizations. The members are great and very supportive. The club rewards authors for providing support to other members with spotlights, member of the month, books of the month, member of the week, etc.

However, I have to say that the club could be so much more if everyone jumped in and supported the other members. It’s really heartbreaking to tweet your book or someone else’s and get 5 retweets or less when the club is almost 400 members strong. I understand not all are on Twitter and then there are the different time zones. So I’m very happy to get 20, but every tweet should have at least 20 retweets if not more. I will also admit that 5 is probably more than I would have if I weren’t a member of RRBC. And I’m not putting it down by saying this. I just see the possibilities of greatness. I could also be more supportive than I am.

NJ:  Kim, it is very sad and dis-heartening at times to see some of the supportive members give so much, and then there are those who don’t bother to give at all.  But, my belief is that if you do what you know you should be doing, and not worry about those that aren’t doing what they should be doing, then you will get what you deserve…and maybe it will eventually click with some, when they aren’t getting what they feel they should be getting, that to get, you have to give.  With some people, sadly, all they understand is “taking” and there’s not much we can do about that.  Here in RRBC, we seek out and recognize the “givers,” and that’s what’s important.   But, it is so nice when members DO recognize all that RRBC does for its members, so thank you for stating the obvious, which, clearly, some “seem” to miss.

Kim, since you’re sitting on the SHELF, you’re obviously an RRBC member and you’ve shared some wonderful things about the club.  Anything else you’d like to share?

Kim:  As I said, RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB is wonderful and the most supportive organization that I’ve found anywhere. The members make you feel welcome right from the start. I’ve had a #PUSHTUESDAY spot, Member of the Week, and Book of the Month. I’ve won prizes during special events. I love it!

NJ:  Well, that’s all awesome to know!  People may say:  “WOW! She’s sat in a lot of seats here!”  But, they have to understand, that is what happens when you really get involved in RRBC, and you give.  You end up getting so much more.  Kim,  have you come across any other online entities like our fabulous club?

Kim:  None can touch it.

NJ:  I agree.  Many have tried and are still trying, but we have a secret weapon.  So, would you recommend RRBC to your friends and family?

Kim:  I will and I have.

NJ:  Great!  Now, this shelf is getting hard on my hiney, so we’re going to wrap this interview up.  Any final words, Ms. Kim?

Kim:  I just want to encourage all RRBC members to support one another as best they can. Just take a few minutes a day to get online, sign in to twitter, put #RRBC in the search bar, click on “Live”, and re-tweet all the RRBC authors and the club’s tweets you can. You don’t have to spend hours to be supportive. Just few minutes a day will help. If you see other members being a bit more supportive, just do a little extra for them to show your appreciation.

And by the way, the best way to show your appreciation to another member is to tweet the book(s), website, or blog of the author who tweeted and re-tweeted you, and of course, purchase, read, and review their books. My kindle has over 100 books of just RRBC authors. Some were free or 99 cents, so keep your eyes open for deals because you don’t even have to spend a lot to support.

NJ:  Very well said, Kim!  You made great points, some I wouldn’t have even thought of suggesting myself!  I’d like to thank you for joining me ON THE SHELF today, and my apologies for my tardy!  I’m not sure how much our guests are going to love this interview as I only had to pull out one of my funny-faced dog friends.  These members come here looking for some serious drama, and Kim, you didn’t bring much.  By the way, I love that, but some of these folks (like Micki Peluso and Joy Nwosu Lo-Bamijoko), come here looking for some “mess!”  LOL!   Anyway, I apologize again but sometimes, my workload is just so overwhelming…but that’s about to change!!!   I’d also like to thank you for those very kind words about RRBC.  We always like hearing that our members are happy!

To my guests, please support Kim by picking up a copy of one of her books above.   You can also support her by visiting the blog stops along her tour which ends on Saturday.  You can find the tour line up here.

Have you joined RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB yet?  Well, here’s your chance!  And since Kim was on the “SHELF” today, tell them she sent you. Take care and we’ll see you next time, right here on the shelf, with another AMAZING RRBC member!


60 responses

  1. […] via KIM COX in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?” — RAVE REVIEWS BY NONNIE JULES […]

    Like

  2. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    The secret weapon is NONIE JULES!! I’m sorry for being so late getting over here, but it kind of got by me. What an interesting interview and we get to learn so much more about you Kim. Congratulations on being in the spotlight and on the shelf.

    Like

    1. Better late than never is a motto of mine. Thank you, Shirley.

      Like

  3. It’s wonderful finding out more about Kim. Thank you 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Nicholas! Happy to see your here.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I didn’t see this comment and so I’m trying to replicate it. That you so much, Nonnie! You’re an inspiration to me and I appreciate your support.

    Like

    1. Thanks for spending time with me on the shelf, Kim! You were simply awesome! I didn’t have to work too hard, and only had to bring one of my vi-ci-ous dogs out this time!

      Like

  5. Great interview Kim even though Nonnie didn’t “let the dogs out’ lol—a good sign actually. I was born in NC too and then moved North. Ashville is a lovely place . Speaking of support, I appreciate all the help and support I get from you. The more I learn at RRBC the more I can give back. Checking out both your books.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Micki! I appreciate your kind words and I hope you enjoy the books.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Micki, I absolutely did not let the dogs out! https://youtu.be/9sLR0vgpeWI

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Reblogged this on mallie1025 and commented:
    Another great interview with Nonnie

    Like

    1. Thank you for the reblog, Micki!

      Like

  7. Great job Ladies! 😀 With people like both of you involved, RRBC will go from strength to strength 😉

    Like

    1. Thank you, Jan! That so nice of you to say.

      Like

  8. Reblogged, twittered and posted to Facebook:)

    Like

    1. Thank you for sharing, Lizzie!

      Like

  9. Love this interview ladies! The photos are great fun and I agree with Kim that this club is all about what you put into it. If you don’t join in with the tweets, blog tours and radio interviews, then it’s such a shame. Not only because other club members don’t find out more about you when they see you face pop up in tweets or replies to blogs, but there is so much enjoyment to be had by chatting and supporting other members of RRBC. It’s like one big party and there is always someone to talk to. It’s an opportunity….grab it with both hands!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Lizzie! So nicely said and I agree whole-heartedly. 😀

      Like

  10. Reblogged this on Lizzie Chantree and commented:
    A great interview with talented author Kim Cox.

    Like

  11. harmonykentonline | Reply

    A great interview, ladies! I love the picture gallery at the top! Best of luck with everything, Kim 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Harmony! So happy you like the photos.

      Like

  12. Another fine interview. These are always so much fun to read!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Beem! This tour has been such a delight.

      Like

  13. This was one of my favorite On the Shelf interviews. Kim, it was so fun to learn a little bit more about you, and Nonnie, I really love the humor you bring. 😅

    Like

    1. Thank you, Rhani! Glad you enjoyed it. 😀

      Like

  14. beckyreilly2013 | Reply

    Reblogged this on Rebecca Reilly – Author.

    Like

    1. Thank you for another reblog, Rebecca!

      Like

  15. Great interview, Nonnie and Kim! Thank you for the Into Dark Waters shout out! You made my day! And you, Kim, are one of those fabulous supportive RRBC members that supports others! I’m loving your “SPOTLIGHT” TOUR!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Rebecca for the kind words. They mean a lot to me. I know I can be more supportive. 😀

      Like

  16. Fantastic interview, Nonnie and Kim!
    Kim, I’m really enjoying your tour. Thanks for sharing with us. 🙂

    Like

    1. You’re welcome, Natalie, and thank you for following.

      Like

  17. […] Source: KIM COX in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?” […]

    Like

  18. Great pictures of you through the ages, Kim. Different hair styles and fashion sense. 🙂

    Like

  19. Nice job, per usual. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Anna!

      Like

  20. Great interview, Kim! I love your pictures!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Michelle! I’m so happy you enjoyed it.

      Like

    2. Btw, I had planned to have a picture of me from a Halloween many years ago in my twenties but it didn’t scan very well and the colors didn’t come out. But I was decked out in green and black camouflage gear, a bandanna around my head, face camouflage paint, my husband’s military boots, etc. with the caption Kimbo rather than Rambo. I wore the outfit to school.I have such small feet that I could put my shoes on and then put those inside his boots. I even took a shotgun with me – a real one. You can’t do that these days and for good reason. Funny how times have changed.

      Like

  21. An excellent interview Kim and Nonnie. Kim is such a supportive member and author that it was super getting to know he a little better. I hope your Spotlight Author experience has been good for you. I have enjoyed each stop and look forward to more.

    Like

    1. Thank you, John! You are an inspiration to me. I have enjoyed the spotlight and look forward to the rest of the week.

      Liked by 1 person

  22. I loved everything about this interview. Kim Cox is one of my very TOP supporters on Twitter and I always return the love. The pictures are priceless and her insight into the Rave Reviews Book Club should inspire anyone who is on the fence about joining. 🙂

    Like

  23. Reblogged this on Writing and Music and commented:
    The Rave Reviews Book Club is a supportive organization like no other. If you are an Indie Author struggling to find a niche to fit in, you might want to read this interview with Indie Author, Kim Cox. You have to participate in the club to get anything out of it. Wow! Really? You mean I am not immediately entitled to all of the amenities? Nope! You have to participate. 🙂 Thank you Nonnie Jules for having the vision to begin the Rave Reviews Book Club!

    Like

  24. That was a great interview, both of you. Kim, you totally nailed it, especially with the extra suggestions of things everyone of us would like to say. Thank you for saying them. I hope our member are reading, listening, and taking note. Above all, I liked how, after that early “You don’t say!”and the look from that dog, you were able to redeem yourself. 😀 Brava!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Joy! Most of all, it’s just my opinion and how I see supporting members and author friends. Like I said, I know there’s also more I could do. I know my short comings come in commenting on blogs. I know it means a lot to the blogger to get comments.

      Like

  25. Aw! I am so honored that you mentioned me. 🙂 *heart swelling and happy tears in my eyes* 🙂 I have Into Dark Waters on my TBR along with a ton of other RRBC books, but it just jumped up on my list so that it’s right after your book (which is what I’ll be reading next). Your support of RRBC authors shows how much you love this club. If every member emulated you, then the whole world would be inundated with tweets about great authors! (A girl can dream, right?) 😉 Keep doing what you do because you are fabulous!!!

    Like

  26. Great interview, Kim. Many thanks for the mentions. Wonderful to find out more about you. I used to teach for the Open University so I met many who graduated later in their lives. I admired their determination to graduate. Keep writing those lovely books!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Gordon! I enjoyed it so much that could’ve been a professional student but it didn’t pay the bills. 🙂 I have been asked to teach but I’m not much of a speaker. When I had to do a presentation in front of the class, I would do mine first as to get it over with before I became too nervous to walk to the front.

      Like

  27. Where’s the interview. That ‘s a long hangover lol. Loved your pics!

    Like

    1. Don’t know. The funny thing is, I haven’t had anything to drink stronger than coffee in many years.

      Like

  28. beautiful pics…& a college grad at 50?!…you go girl! I agree with Robert Browning…the best is yet to be!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Tia! After that I received a diploma and another degree. I love learning.

      Like

  29. Enjoyed the pictures, Kim.

    Like

  30. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    Yes, the pictures are amazing. Its fun to go back in time and see ourselves.

    Like

    1. It is. I used to love having my picture taken but no more.

      Like

  31. I love the pictures–amazing how time flies. Thanks for sharing your younger days and all your triumphs–especially the super cool late graduation. Smart lady!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Juliet. I found college easier at 50 than I did at 20. Life experiences helped a lot for some courses.

      Like

Leave a Reply

