Micki Peluso in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?”


Hello and welcome to “WHO’S ON THE SHELF?” with yours truly, Nonnie Jules!  Since we are a book club, we had to offer something that included a book shelf.  A lot of interviews merely cover an author’s work or an individual’s career stories.  Here on this “SHELF,”  we get down and dirty and ask the questions no other interviewer dare ask.  We ask the questions that you want to open up a book and find the answers to on your favorite authors and fellow book club members, but no one has dared to cover them.  WE get personal!  Because when you sit on the RRBC “SHELF”, YOU are an open book!

Today I have with me on the “SHELF” our Current “SPOTLIGHT” Author & #1 Fan of WHO’S ON THE SHELF Interviews, Mrs. Micki Peluso!

micki's pix 3

NJ:  Before we get started, how does the “shelf” feel to you?  Is it comfy?

Micki:  Pretty good. I brought a pillow.  In case I mysteriously fall off, I’ll have a soft landing.

NJ:  Let’s start by confirming whether or not your author name is your birth name or a pen name?

Micki:  My author name is my married name. I’ve used a pen name, which is on one of my two birth certificates, when writing humor for newspapers.

NJ:  Tell us where you were born?  Do you still live there now?  If not, what city and state are you calling home these days?

Micki:  I was born in Fayetteville, North Carolina, then moved to Texas, Pennsylvania, Nevada, and for the past 30 years, the place I dislike the most, Staten Island, New York.

NJ:  Married or single?

Micki:  Married since I eloped to Elkton, Maryland at seventeen with both my boyfriend and my mother and her new boyfriend.  Whatever was I thinking?

3 Shocked dogs

NJ:  That’s what we are thinking?  Kids or no?  If yes, how many?  Sons or Daughters?

Micki:  Two sons and four daughters which includes the one we lost to a DWI vehicular homicide.

NJ:  I’m very sorry for your loss, Micki.  I can’t even imagine.  So, tell us, which is your favorite child? (And be honest…I’m sure they’re not reading this interview.  We’re not that interesting of a publication…yet).

Micki:  I tell each one they are my favorite and since they always believed that anyway, they rub it into each other.

NJ:  That’s always the safest answer (just in case they are reading and we’re not as small as we might believe).  Any pets?

Micki:  My beloved dogs have passed on but I have several grand dogs. My cat, Toby, at age 21, recently died just as the book he was writing, ‘The Cat Who Wanted a Dog’ went to press. I do have a few house centipedes big enough to put a leash on.

NJ:  Micki, share with us your favorite food, please…

Micki:  Pasta

NJ:  I hate pasta.  OK, Micki, how about your favorite color…

Micki:  Turquoise

NJ:  Great!  Now, how about your favorite sport…

Micki:  I don’t watch sports unless my grandkids are playing and I prefer baseball and basketball which I helped teach them.

NJ:  So, you don’t watch sports.  Do you watch the tele?  A favorite TV Show, perhaps?

Micki:  NCIS

NJ:  Oh!  Then you should definitely connect with John Fioravanti’s wife, Anne.  That’s her favorite show, too!  Favorite Actress/Actor…

Micki:  Sam Elliot, at 70 years old, can still curl my toes with that sexy voice of his . . . and those eyes!! I love Sandra Bullock’s comedic movies.

NJ:  I love Sandra, too!  She’s awesome! Couch potato or workout nut? Be honest with us here, Micki…LOL.

Micki:  I always worked out until the Lyme took me down. Now getting to and from the couch is exercise.

NJ:  Bless your heart.  But as long as you’re able to move, I’d say that was a great thing.  Now, Micki, you’re so sweet, I just can’t imagine you with any pet peeves, so you might shock me if you have any.  Go on, shock me…what’s your biggest pet peeve that makes you want to stomach-punch somebody? (For the record, NJ does not condone violence but she does believe in being honest so she has to admit that there are times when she feels like some friendly stomach-punching is a little necessary).

Micki:  People who talk over you and don’t listen when you speak, plus insist on things always being their way. Their opinions are the right ones, they pick the places to visit, the movies to see, etc. I call them toxic friends and eventually have to break away from them since I am an empath and picking up on their emotions is upsetting to me.

NJ:  Well, I’ll be!  Micki, then you will love my blog post today, Kelly vs Hughley…Rudeness Rules Our World.  And, you’ll also love my poem, TOXIC PEOPLE!  I’ll have to send you a copy if it’s not listed on my site, BOOKS BY NONNIE.  So, are you neat or messy?

Micki:  I was neat, especially fanatical over clean rugs and curtains. That is curtailed but I try without success to keep my writing area neat.  I’m a list maker who tends to forget where I put the lists.”

NJ:  Facebook or Twitter?

Micki:  I don’t particularly like either but can maneuver Facebook easier than Twitter for promo work, both mine and other writers.

NJ:  Name two of the most supportive people you’ve met on either Facebook or Twitter? Hurry and tell us so we can become their friend!

Micki:  Bette Stevens and Jan Hawke, but there are so many who don’t hesitate to support me.

NJ:  Here’s my favorite question, Micki…Nonnie Jules or Wonderwoman? Be honest.

Micki:  Wonderwoman is a make believe icon. Nonnie Jules is a modern day woman who doesn’t need physical super powers to accomplish her goals.

NJ:  Why, thank you, Micki.  I guess I don’t need super powers to complete my tasks, because I surely don’t have any.  Wish I did, though!  Micki, everyone knows the names Mark Twain and Stephen King but how about you give us two names of some INDIE authors that you favor.

Micki:  Bette Stevens and Jan Hawke.

NJ:  What is it about them that you’ve come to like?

Micki:  I love the way they help me behind the scenes without even being asked. And they never mention my pathetic lack of computer skills.

NJ:  Really, I could have sworn I heard Jan whisper in my ear…never mind.  I don’t think I’m supposed to repeat that.  LOL!  I’m teasing.  Jan would never!  Micki, name two favorite INDIE books that you’ve read.

Micki:  DOG BONE SOUP by Bette Stevens and WATERLILIES OVER MY GRAVE, by Patricia Guthrie.

NJ:  ONE good INDIE book you’ve read that was so good you wished the entire world would read it…

Micki:  SOUL SERIES by Juliette Barrett.  It was the first book I read as a member of RRBC.

NJ:  What was so great about it?

Micki:  The writing was excellent and the story involved falling in love with an angel. It just doesn’t get better than that. I hated for it to end.

NJ:  After you read books, do you post reviews?

Micki:  Yes, unless I really didn’t like them, or they are so poorly written that I would have to give a really low rating.

NJ:  What do you think readers should base their reviews on?

Micki:  A book review needs to be based on whether the book is well written with good grammar and formatting. The rating system for reviews causes trouble. Most newspapers, magazines and well known review sites don’t use them. Our club, RRBC, might suggest that our reviews will be raves which according to the Amazon system would be 4 or 5 stars. It’s more complicated than it should be. One reviewer may have a low opinion of a book that I might love. Nothing to do with the book but rather the reviewer’s personal tastes. I don’t think that’s fair to the author”

NJ:  Micki, I’m not sure if I’m understanding your concern properly, but if I am, I must stress that everyone here is encouraged to give a book that they have read, a rating of 1 thru 5, with 1 being the lowest rating and a 5 being the highest.  We don’t encourage RAVE reviews, unless the reader feels the book is deserving.  Reviews are the reader’s opinion of what they have read and I am highly disturbed at those people who give ALL the books that they have read a 4 or 5 star rating, when it is clear that some of the books aren’t deserving;  clear even to someone with extremely poor eyesight.  I am even more disturbed by those members/authors who admittedly give dishonest reviews for a multitude of reasons.  There is never an excuse for this dishonesty.  It helps no one.  

Every author’s book doesn’t deserve a 4 or 5 star review and I personally am happy to know that those books are being given the honest ratings they deserve.  I hope that this clarifies this matter for you.  OK, moving right along, Micki, are you one of those who are afraid to be honest in their reviews lest the author gets upset with you, or is honesty your best policy, especially in reviews?

Micki:  No, but I won’t slam a fellow writer, either. I give constructive criticism so gently that it sounds like a compliment. Now I only review genres that I like, in order to give a fair review. It’s not the writer’s fault if I hate the genre, when the book itself is well done.

NJ:  Read any poorly written books lately?

Micki:  Sadly, yes.

NJ:  Where’s your review so I can go and check it out?  LOL,  No, seriously.

Micki:  If you find my 145 book reviews, let me know as I can’t find them.

NJ:  Are you an author?

Micki:  Yes, as well as journalist and poet.

NJ:  How long have you been writing?

Micki:  Since I was a child, but serious writing came after a great tragedy and it was the only coping method I had.  Writing saved my life.

NJ:  What books have you written?

Micki:  ‘. . . And the Whippoorwill Sang,’ is published in its second edition.” ‘The Cat Who Wanted a Dog,’ is due out in July. It’s a nice cat who fell in love with the dog in my picture—the one who loved my book so much that he ate the whole thing. Poor Toby died right before the book he helped write was finished. I also have a nearly ready collection of slice of life, short fiction and essays, called ‘Don’t Pluck the Duck.’

NJ:  Which one do you think is the best?

And The Whippoorwill Sang by Micki Peluso

Micki:  ‘. . . And the Whippoorwill Sang’ is my heart, a deathbed promise to the child I lost. It has the humor of ‘Cheaper By The Dozen’ with the heart of ‘To Kill a Mockingbird.’  No future book can ever top it.

NJ:  Do you have a blog or website?

Micki:  Yes, I do:  http://www.mallie1025.blogspot.com/

NJ:  Name three great online resources or organizations that every author should belong to:

Micki:  RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB,  Facebook and Twitter for necessary promotions.

NJ:  Which online resource or organization has helped you as an author the most?

Micki:  All three do different types of marketing, but RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB, hands down, has the most opportunities all under on roof.

NJ:  How were you helped by them?

Micki:  Actually RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB  helps greatly in promotions on the other two.

NJ:  Micki, since you’re sitting on the SHELF, you’re obviously an RRBC member, so what do you think of the club?

Micki:  Since I joined the club, each day I learn something new, find another member who’s always happy to meet me and be of help. I get lost in here still but no one laughs—just guides me along (well, maybe they sigh a little). I’ve never felt as welcome in any organization as I do here. My family and friends get tired of me bragging about it. I’ve met new friends, some who will probably be lifelong friends and in the lonely world of writing and even lonelier rat race of marketing, I feel that Rave Review Book Club is a safe haven where I can always rely on the kindness of others.”  

NJ:  And Micki, you are so right.  The kindness of others permeates the environment here.  So, have you come across any other online entities like it?

Micki:  I had high hopes for another writers group for Indie writers but everything they do they charge for. I recently checked it out again and now they charge hundreds of dollars for the membership promo they provide.

NJ:  Would you recommend RRBC to your friends and family?

Micki:  I already do!

*This shelf is getting hard on my hiney, so we’re going to wrap this interview up.  Any final words?

NJ:  I know it sounds as corny as Kansas, but now in my second year as a member, I really cannot imagine not being here, not belonging. And I can depend upon understanding when the Lyme takes me down or the afib, by members who know I do as much as I physically can and push myself to do more. This is a good thing since with chronic illness one needs to be prodded out of slumps and propelled forward.  RRBC does that for me, and I am deeply grateful.

NJ:  Very well said!  Micki, thank you for joining me ON THE SHELF today!  And, thank you for those very kind words of the club and the members.  Members like you make our job so much more pleasant and easier.

To my guests, please support Micki by picking up a copy of her book above.   You can also support her by visiting the blog stops along her tour which ends on Saturday.  You can find the tour line up here.

29 responses

  1. Great interview! I can related to many of Micki’s answers. Thanks for sharing so much with us! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Yvette, so nice to meet you on RRBC!! I survived the Shelf!!

      Like

  2. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    Congrats Micki on a well done interview with NJ. Very enjoyable.

    Like

    1. Thanks Shirley, so glad you got to be here. I loved being ‘On the Shelf.” A glutton for punishment lol, but Nonnie was so sweet.

      Like

  3. Great Interview, Micki and Nonnie! I’m loving your “SPOTLIGHT” Author Tour!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Rebecca, me too. I’m going to miss it now that it’s the last day!! Glad you liked the interview–no blood shed in this one lol.

      Like

  4. Hi Micki,
    An excellent interview and as always I learned something new about you. I’m looking forward to your new book that is coming out.
    Shalom aleichem,
    Patricia

    Hi Nonnie,
    Great interview. I enjoyed it. I am a new member here because Micki recommended RRBC. She is truly a wonderfully caring person.
    Shalom aleichem,
    Patricia

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pat, I’m so glad you joined during my spotlight and got a nice tour of some of the great things RRBC does. I know you are going to love it here. I am especially fond of the ‘On the Shelf’ interviews.

      Nonnie, this was fun but you didn’t have to go so easy on me lol.

      Like

  5. Wonderful interview, Micki and Nonnie. Thanks so much for sharing. I’m really enjoying your tour, Micki. It’s lovely to learn more about you. Blessings sent your way.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Natalie, I love seeing you at each tour stop. Thanks for the support and encouragement-I need both.

      Like

  6. Aww shucks, Micki! 😉 Take no notice of Nonnie’s teasing – I get sticky tech issues ALL the time and put it down to knowing just enough to get me into SERIOUS trouble, so you have my full empathy at ALL times! 😉
    I’m so glad you’re on your Spotlight tour and having a ball – you truly deserve it! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh, thanks, Jan. I am having so much fun. Nonnie was very easy on me on the shelf so I’ll be looking over my shoulder for a while lol.

      Like

  7. Lovely interview, Nonnie and Micki. And Micki, I’m so sad to hear you lost Toby, but at 21 years it sounds like he had a long (and no doubt pampered) life. Wishing you the best with Whippoorwill and The Cat Who Wanted a Dog!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Mae. His book is out in a few days and I’ve drawn a blank on how to promote a new book since it’s been a while–just been publishing short stories. If it sells, I may do a series on him.

      Like

  8. A wonderful interview and I feel like I KNOW Mickie as a friend and colleague. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karen, that is so kind of you. I feel the same way after seeing so many wonderful RRBC members come out and support the blog tour, including you. It is amazing!!

      Like

  9. Great interview, Micki and Nonnie. I enjoyed getting to know you better, Micki.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Michelle, it did go very well, I think. I got so nervous waiting for the ax to fall that I almost unseated myself lol. I’ve enjoyed getting to know you on each blog site.

      Like

  10. What a beautiful conversation Micki. I was surprised too, as much as those dogs at that answer you gave, but that is where the surprise ended. Everything else went very calmly. You know when a conversation is good, by watching Nonnie’s reaction as it proceeds. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot. Getting married at 17 while in High School was not the smartest thing I ever did but I don’t regret it. Nonnie was a perfect, gentle host with me . . .and that was a bit scary :).

      Like

  11. harmonykentonline | Reply

    What a lovely interview, Micki and Nonnie. It’s great to get to know more about you Micki, and you are inspiring. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Harmony. I am enjoying getting to know you and all the RRBC members and the SPOTLIGHT was a great opportunity to do just that. I don’t think that I am inspiring at all but am glad that you do. :).

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Since I live within driving distance [I don’t live in Staten Island and am glad I don’t- $$$ bridge tolls if me an my dear OH want to really go anyway place] I had the pleasure of meeting her at a book signing she did on Staten Island a few years ago.

    CONGRATS on being selected on be on the shelf with Nonnie Jules, you deserve it.

    Like

  13. Thanks for the reblog Jennifer.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Very entertaining interview, Mickie and Nonnie! Micki, I’m so glad you’ve found a warm home here at RRBC – we are all richer for knowing you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks John, that is such a nice thing to say. I feel more at home here every day. And I managed to stay on the shelf with no snarl dogs glaring at me. Lol

      Like

    1. Thanks so much, Jenny for the reblog.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

