Yvette M. Calleiro in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF WITH NONNIE JULES?”


Hello and welcome to “WHO’S ON THE SHELF?” with yours truly, Nonnie Jules!  Since we are a book club, we had to offer something that included a book shelf.  A lot of interviews merely cover an author’s work or an individual’s career stories.  Here on this “SHELF,”  we get down and dirty and ask the questions no other interviewer dare ask.  We ask the questions that you want to open up a book and find the answers to on your favorite authors and fellow book club members, but no one has dared to cover them.  WE get personal!  Because when you sit on the RRBC “SHELF,” YOU are an open book!

Today I have with me on the “SHELF,” our Current “SPOTLIGHT” Author and final SA until September, Yvette M. Calleiro!

Yvette M. Calleiro

NJ:  Before we get started, how does the “shelf” feel to you?  Is it comfy?

Yvette:  It feels pretty comfy to me.  Cozy is more like it, especially since I’m sharing the shelf with such great authors.

NJ:  Uh, actually you’re only sharing the shelf with one great author at the moment, Yvette…

Blushing dog

(I’m just so darned cute, I could bite myself!)

Now that we’ve clarified that, let’s start by confirming whether or not your author name is your birth name or a pen name?

Yvette:  It’s my real name, but not really my birth name.  It’s my divorced-and-I-kept-his-last-name, name.  LOL

NJ:  Oh, my!  A little too much TMI, Yvette…TMI.  So, tell us where you were born?  Do you still live there now?  If not, what city and state are you calling home these days?

Yvette:  I was born in Frankfurt, Germany.  My dad was in the US Army for 24 years.  I only lived in Germany for the first four months of my life.  My permanent home is beautiful Miami, Florida. 🙂

NJ:  Married again or single?

Yvette:  Still happily divorced 🙂

NJ:  Kids or no?  If yes, how many?  Sons or Daughters?

Yvette:  I have an amazing little man who is 9 years old.  He is my life. 🙂

NJ:  He sounds awesome!  Any Pets?

Yvette:  I have a 300 gallon salt water fish tank with different kinds of fish.  I gave up trying to remember what type or how many were in there.

NJ:  I love fish…

Fried fish

So, what’s your favorite food?

Yvette:  I love sushi, but I also love dark chocolate. Yum!

NJ:  What’s your favorite color?

Yvette:  Yellow and green are my favorite colors.

NJ:  Well, I only asked for one,but OK.  So, do you have a favorite sport?

Yvette:  My favorite sport is spectator. lol! I love watching NFL, and I enjoy watching basketball and baseball sometimes as well, but I can’t play them at all.  My son is very athletic, so I get to enjoy the sports through him.

NJ:  Favorite TV Show?

Yvette:  Hands down, my favorite TV show is Game of Thrones.  Actually, I don’t watch TV, unless you want to count listening to Girl Meets World, Bunked, KC Undercover, and a few other kid shows playing in the background while I cook dinner.  I just don’t have time for TV.  A friend of mine got me hooked on GoT, and I make sure to make time for that.

NJ:  Favorite Actress/Actor…

Yvette:  Ian Somerhaulder…sigh!  He’s a hottie!

NJ:  Couch potato or workout nut? Be honest, now…

Yvette:  I’m definitely NOT a couch potato.  I enjoy working out and try to go at least three times a week, but sometimes that is hard for my schedule.

NJ:  Biggest pet peeve that makes you want to stomach-punch somebody?: (For the record, NJ does not condone violence but she does believe in being honest so she has to admit that there are times when she feels like some friendly stomach-punching is a little necessary).

Yvette:  My biggest pet peeves are when people are judgmental, negative, and close-minded.

3 Shocked dogs.jpg

(Say hello to Judgmental, Negative and Close-Minded.  Hey, Yvette, what’d they ever do to you?  They’re just dogs!)

NJ:  Are you neat or messy?

Yvette:  Neat, for the most part.  I can’t handle clutter.

NJ:  Facebook or Twitter?

Yvette:  I prefer Facebook, but I do see a purpose for Twitter.  Facebook is just more personal to me.  I have a lot of friends who live all over the world, and I enjoy seeing the pictures of them with their families.

NJ:  Name two of the most supportive people you’ve met on either Facebook or Twitter? Hurry and tell us so we can become their friend.

Yvette:  Kim Cox is hands down number one.  She is always promoting my books, and I’m so grateful to her for that.  And then it’s hard to pick because all of them are RRBC members! How awesome is that! 🙂

NJ:  Nonnie Jules or Wonderwoman? Be honest…this is a really important election year.  #MakeTheRightChoice

Yvette:  Sorry, Nonnie. I love you, girl, but Wonder Woman and I have this thing from way back when. 😉

What confused dog

NJ:  Everyone knows the names Mark Twain and Stephen King but how about you give us two names of some INDIE authors that you favor:

Yvette:  I’m not sure if they are Indie.  Would Cassandra Claire count? I think she started Indie, then went to dark side (jk), and I think she is going back to Indie.  I love her work!  I also loved Janelle Jalbert’s Triangulating Bliss.

NJ:  What is it about them that you’ve come to like?

Yvette:  Well, they are all fantasy/paranormal, and that is where my mind likes to go to escape reality.  All of them are very different, but they draw me in and make me feel as if I am right there with the characters for the whole journey.

NJ:  Name two favorite INDIE books that you’ve read:

Yvette:  I already mentioned Triangulating Bliss by Janelle Jalbert.  I also read Haunted Hearts by Kim Cox.

NJ:  ONE good INDIE book you read that was so good you wished the entire world would read it:

Yvette:  I would have to say Jessica: The autobiography of an Infant by Jeffrey Von Glahn.  It is just one of those books that everyone needs to read, especially if you are a parent or will become a parent in the future.

NJ:  What was so great about it?

Yvette:  I’m fascinated with how the mind works, and this is a true story of a woman who can remember all the way back to when she was in her mother’s womb.  It’s amazing to think of how much of our psyche and personality were formed from memories we don’t even recall.  It made me stop and wonder about my words and actions from the time of my pregnancy until now and what kind of effect they’ve had on my son.  Fortunately, I am not an angry, lashing out kind of person, so I think we’re good.  But knowing that it’s possible for infants to pick up on words and actions and behaviors really makes you think twice about what you say and do in front of them.

NJ:  After you read books, do you post reviews?

Yvette:  Always!  I will be honest… Before I became an author, I didn’t realize how important reviews were.  I would give a book stars, but I never wrote anything.  Now, I understand how precious the reviews are.  So, I take the time to review every book I read in as much detail as I can.

NJ:  What do you think readers should base their reviews on?

Yvette:  Well, I base my review on enjoyment.  Did I enjoy reading the book?  Did I lose myself within the pages?  That’s what a book is all about for me.  I come across typos, but I don’t destroy a book for it.  It happens.  Even when you have professional editors checking books, it still happens.  If I am able to lose myself in the story, then I know it was a good book.

NJ:  Are you one of those who are afraid to be honest in their reviews lest the author gets upset with you, or is honesty your best policy, especially in reviews?

Yvette:  I’m a horrible liar.  At the same time, I hate destroying people.  So, I tend to make sure that if I have to negatively critique a book, I find something positive to also say.  I’ve been lucky enough to pick great books to read.  Sometimes, I’ll lower the star count but focus on what I liked in the book.  Then, I’ll send an email or direct message on Facebook or Twitter to the author to share what I didn’t like (usually, typos and grammar issues).

NJ:  Read any poorly written books lately?

Yvette:  Lately, everything I’ve read has been great, but I have read some books that don’t do much for me.  One of them was The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.

NJ:  Yvette, how long have you been writing?

Yvette:  I’ve been writing seriously as an author for six years.  Before then, it was just casual writing here and there.

NJ:  What books have you written?

Yvette:  They are all part of the Chronicles of the Diasodz series:

THE ONE DISCOVERED

The One Discovered by Yvette M. Calleiro

THE ONE ENLIGHTENED

The One Enlightened by Yvette M. Calleiro

…plus a third title (which Nonnie is too lazy to type).  I am now working on the fourth book.  I haven’t revealed the title yet.

NJ:  Which one do you think is the best?

Yvette:  That’s harder than picking my favorite child! I would have to say that, so far, The One Enlightened is my best (or at least, my favorite).  That’s where the history of the Diasodz is revealed and where Ar’ch and Sofia give in to their feelings.

NJ:  Do you have a blog or website?

Yvette:  I sure do! http://yvettemcalleiro.blogspot.com

NJ:  Name two great online resources or organizations that every author should belong to:

Yvette:  Rave Reviews Book Club (of course) and Books Go Social.

NJ:  Which online resource or organization has helped you as an author the most?

Yvette:  Without a doubt, RRBC has been the most helpful and the most supportive! I feel a part of a true community of writers and readers.  I love the encouragement that everyone gives each other.

NJ:  How were you helped by us?  Do tell!

Yvette:  Well, I learned how to use Twitter more effectively because of RRBC.  I learned how to make a book trailer because of their Holiday Train Book Trailer Block Party contest.  And I’ve found great books from new authors to add to my own shelves.

NJ:  Since you’re sitting on the SHELF, you’re obviously a Rave Reviews Book Club member, so what do you think of the club?

Yvette:  It’s fantabulous! I’m a big believer in energy, and RRBC gives off great energy.  There is so much encouragement and assistance in propelling everyone forward.  It’s a place where people understand that lifting someone else up shines light on both the lifter and the lifted.

NJ:  Have you come across any other online entities like it?

Yvette:  I haven’t found anything in the same league as RRBC. Nope.

NJ:  Would you recommend it to your friends and family?

Yvette:  I have and continue to share it with everything that I can.

NJ:  This shelf is getting hard on my hiney, so we’re going to wrap this interview up.  Any final words?

Yvette:  Thank you for honoring me with the opportunity to share your space on the shelf.  I am grateful for all that you do to help readers and writers bask in their love of the written word.

NJ:  Awww, that was very sweet, Yvette.  Thank you for joining me ON THE SHELF today!  .

To my guests, please support Yvette by picking up a copy of her book above.   You can also support her by visiting the blog stops along her tour which ends on Saturday.  You can find the tour line up here.

Have you joined Rave Reviews Book Club yet?  Well, here’s your chance!  And since Yvette was on the “SHELF” today, tell them she sent you.  Make it a great day, my friends.  We’ll see you in September, right here on the SHELF” with another VERY INTERESTING GUEST!!

29 responses

  1. I’m a GoT addict as well Yvette! Daenerys and Tirion are my faves 😀 How about a photo of your brilliant fish tank for our Gallery page? 😉

    Like

  2. Such a great interview, Yvette! I loved the photo of “judgmental, negative, and close-minded.” LOL !! I’ve just begun The Enlightened One, and I’m intrigued. ♥

    Like

  3. This was a great interview and I also enjoyed Yvette’s interview on Blog Talk Radio as well.

    Like

  4. Another entertaining interview with another inspired Indie Author! Congrats to Yvette Calleiro!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Juliet! I’m so happy that you enjoyed it. 🙂 Thanks for your support. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome. Nothing like a lot of moving around to teach a child to be open-minded and tolerant–I’d lived in 21 places — some years overseas — by the time I was 21… It brings a lot to the writing table. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Loved the interview, ladies. Yvette, how interesting that you were born in Germany (even if you were only there a short time). BTW, I’m a Cassandra Claire fan, too and my husband and I spent years as aquarium hobbyists…back in the day, LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cassandra Claire’s books are just amazing! I could not put them down! The funny thing is that it was a student who brought them to my attention. She kept harping on how I absolutely HAD to read the books, and she was right. They were fantastic! I just wish they would have done a better job with the movie.

      I visited Germany as an adult and fell in love with it. I’ve lived in many different places and am blessed to have picked up a healthy cultural acceptance of the differences in the people of our world. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I definitely agree with you about the movie. Ugh! (Plus I actually liked the Infernal Devices series better than the Mortal Instruments).

        How wonderful you got to experience Germany as an adult, and have had the opportunity to live abroad in various cultures. That has to be enriching!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. It was. Moving every three years wasn’t easy, but I’m grateful for the experiences that I got because of it.

          I enjoyed the Infernal Devices as well, but I think my heart was still stuck on Jace and Clary. lol!

          Liked by 1 person

  6. Great interview! I enjoyed learning more about you, Yvette.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for stopping by, Michelle. I appreciate your support. 🙂

      Like

  7. Great Interviews today, Yvette: first on “Bring On The Spotlight” with Bill Ward and then here on Nonnie’s Shelf! Super job on the pictures, Nonnie!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, John. I survived! Lol! I drank my tea while I was speaking with Bill, and I drank wine later that night with Nonnie. 😉 “Bring on the Spotlight” had my nerves at attention (I have anxiety issues so verbal interviews are hard for me), but you were right – Bill was wonderful to speak with. I’m glad I didn’t fumble too much. 😉

      Like

      1. There was no fumble at any time, Yvette!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Nice meeting Yvette! Intriguing choice of a favorite book. ” Jessica: The autobiography of an Infant by Jeffrey Von Glahn” is one of the most jaw-dropping books I’ve read through the club; I still can’t believe it’s a true story.

    Like

  9. Looking forward to this. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    Very good interview by Nonnie Jules. Congratulations Yvette! I know you are on cloud 9 this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are SO right, Shirley! This has been a whirlwind of a week for me, and I am ever so grateful to receive so much support and acceptance from all of you! 🙂

      Like

  11. Congrats on the spotlight Yvette! It’s always fun to find out more about all the authors in the spotlight. The questions and answers were entertaining! Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for stopping by! It was fun to be on the shelf with Nonnie. 🙂

      Like

  12. Nice interview. Hope you’ve been enjoying your time in the spotlight. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s been wonderful, Rebecca! Thank you for supporting me. 🙂

      Like

  13. I loved your interview, Yvette. I feel like I’ve learned so much about you this Spotlight week. I know you had fun and so did I while following you.Good luck on your final blog stops.

    Nonnie, you would fry her fish? Tsk tsk. Loved the golden retriever. You just can’t n ake one of them scowl.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nonnie would definitely NOT fry my fish. They are skinny and bony (nemos, tangs of all sorts of colors, and other small fish whose names I’ve forgotten). They aren’t even big enough for an appetizer. lol! 😀

      Like

  14. My, my, Nonnie, giving those cute dogs such bad names? No wonder they are so surprised! This was a really funny conversation Yvette. You made it safely through. Very interesting! :).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! The humor is all Nonnie’s. She’s got a great personality! 😉

      Like

  15. Thank you, Nonnie, for allowing me to sit where so many incredibly talented people have sat. I’ve enjoyed my time with you. And I love the dog pictures! They’re hilarious. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

