#RRBC #BlockParty, Why We Keep Her Alive…


Blog Party 1

There will be 3 winners at this stop:

(1) $5 Amazon Gift Card (courtesy of Bruce A. Borders)

(1) 2 FREE books from the Kathryn C. Treat Treasure Chest

(1) Entry into the Kathryn C. Treat VIP Lounge (it’s very private, you know)

Leave your comments below for a chance at these prizes!!!

***

WELCOME TO THIS VERY SPECIAL STOP ALONG THE BLOCK PARTY TOUR!

Well, we’re not really keeping her alive, but we are keeping her memory alive, and if you really think about it, you’ll come to realize that they are both the very same thing.

When I started RRBC, there were a handful of people that I wanted by my side as I took this journey…Kathryn C. Treat was one of those people. She served in the capacity of our first Membership Director but what she did, went far above and beyond the duties of that department.

Kathryn loved RRBC with a fierceness I’m not sure any of us could ever have. She and I often spoke over the phone and she would share with me that this club, RRBC, was a life-line for her. At a time when she could no longer work outside the home, this was her job that she came to every single day, up until the day she left us.  She loved and was truly dedicated to this club.

I remember, after Kathryn had been gone for several months, we received two membership applications from people who listed Kathryn as their referring source. I smiled and said to my board, “Kathryn is still recruiting for RRBC from heaven.” And, I truly believe that she is.

Many of you have noticed that there is a page on the site in her honor and that we have several programs, etc. named in her honor, as well. Kathryn deserves every accolade that we can give her, and that is why I will forever keep her, and her memory alive.

Kathryn passed away on 12/21/14 and so that is why we celebrate her on the 21st of each month here at RRBC. Please, if you haven’t already, pick up a copy of her book today! It’s a well-written and truly amazing read.

In Kathryn’s own words…below…(taken from her website)

 

About

After exposure to severe mold in the workplace, I found myself unable to continue the life I once led.  I was forced to quit work and give up many things that I cherished.  At the time I became ill, I was a 45-year-old mother of two.  The mold exposure sent me on a path of immune system dysfunction, severe depression and near financial ruin.  I struggled with the loss of identity, loss of my independence and severe depression.  In 2003 I began to write my book.  I

Me among the daffodils.

felt others needed to know how devastating mold can really be.  It has taken me nearly nine years to complete the book.  Allergic to Life:  My Battle for Survival, Courage, and Hope is now available through Amazon & Barnes and Noble.

It is my hope that my words will help others struggling with mold exposure or chemical sensitivity realize that they can still make a life for themselves, albeit a different life.  It is also my hope that family members, friends, and those in the medical field will come to understand what life is like after mold exposure.

Allergic To Life by Kathryn C. Treat

 August 22, 2013 is the day Kathryn published her first and only book.  Let’s celebrate her book’s 3rd anniversary in grand style!

ALLERGIC TO LIFE Book Trailer (A 4WillsPub production)

78 responses

  1. This is a wonderful tribute to an amazing lady. Thank you for including her in the Block Party. This definitely makes it that much more special.

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for honoring my mother’s memory in such a beautiful way. I truly believe that she is smiling down from Heaven on all of you amazing people who continue to think about her. She was so very passionate about this club and treasured all of the friendships she made through this avenue. We miss her more than words can convey. It brings me great joy knowing that she lives on through all of you!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Sarah, thanks for popping in. Kathryn truly touched a lot of lives in the most positive of ways. I often think of her and hope that you and your sister are growing into beautiful ladies, just as she was. I can’t imagine you not. Constant prayers for you all. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Reblogged this on Archer's Aim and commented:
    Reblogging this special stop on the #RRBC Book and Blog Party stop! Why we remember a special member who’s no longer with us…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A really special post for a wonderful lady.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kathryn was a major force behind RRBC when the club was first started. She was such a giving person, always ready to do whatever needed to be done. We all still miss her.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wonderful post and fantastic memoir by our gifted and giving #RRBC friend. ! Missing Kathryn.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a wonderful remembrance! I’m sure she’s smiling down from heaven!

    Like

  8. How tragic that such a simple decision made such a negative impact on her life. How wonderful that she wanted to use that to help others.

    Like

  9. What a touching post. Thanks so much for sharing, Nonnie.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I am still missing Kathryn so much. I remember chatting with her in the chat room during the Christmas party when she said she wasn’t feeling well. She said she was going to lie down. We lost her shortly thereafter. Kathryn was such a supportive member. She loved reading, and she took the time to write meaningful reviews. She was one of a kind. She is worthy of the celebration!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Kathryn was one of a kind, wasn’t she, Beem? If only more people “tried” to be more like her, kind…considerate, instead of being known for nothing but trouble.

      Liked by 2 people

  11. She sounds like she was a very special person.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That she was, Sandra. Thanks for dropping in!

      Like

  12. Such a beautiful tribute, Nonnie. I never had the opportunity to meet Kathryn, but I’m so grateful for her spirit that continues to shine bright in RRBC. Thank you for carrying on her legacy with these beautiful tributes. I think as members we have the honour and privilege of paying it forward, in her memory.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So true, Natalie. Thanks!

      Like

  13. What a lovely, touching tribute to someone I wish I could have known in real life. Thank you so much for sharing this and keeping her memory alive.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Whenever there is something here that discusses Kathryn you can just feel how much she meant to the people who knew and loved her and it’s wonderful how this club keeps her memory alive 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, D. E…it’s the same that would be done for any of our members who had given so much to this club, the way Kathryn did. Our supportive members who truly love RRBC, no worries, as long as there is breath in my body, I’m keeping them, and their work… alive!

      Liked by 2 people

  15. I never knew or heard of Kathryn until now. She sounds like an incredible woman. At least now, some of us that didn’t know her before, gets a chance to know her now. A wonderful tribute here. RIP, Kathryn!
    Cheers! S.J. Francis

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Really, S. J.? How long have you been a member? We celebrate her on the 21st of each month, and other chances we get, as well. I’m glad you’re getting a “feel” of the legacy she left behind. It’s a huge one!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I just joined a couple of months ago. I’m still a newbie. I still haven’t met everyone else here. Cheers! S.J. Francis

        Like

      2. Well, OK! And we’re glad to have you!

        Like

Leave a Reply

