Jenny Hinsman in “WHO’S ON THE SHELF” w/NonnieJules – #RRBC @JennyHinsman1


Hello, and welcome to “WHO’S ON THE SHELF?” with yours truly, Nonnie Jules!  Since we are a book club, you know we had to offer something that included a book shelf.  A lot of interviews merely cover an author’s work or an individual’s career stories.  Here on this “SHELF,”  we get down and dirty and ask the questions no other interviewer dare ask.  We ask the questions that you want to open up a book and find the answers to on your favorite authors and fellow book club members, but, no one has dared to cover them.  WE get personal!  Because when you sit on this “SHELF,” YOU are an open book! Even if I have to pry you open!

Today, we have a very special guest on the SHELF with us,  member, JENNY HINSMAN Jenny is our “SPOTLIGHT” Author for the month of October and we have been celebrating her all month long.  This week, she gets to sit on the shelf with me!

DC45jRRU0AEXW4S

***

NJ:  Before we get started, how do you like the design and feel of my new shelf?  We’ve made it more comfortable in 2017, in that we want all of our guests to feel at home…that’s if they’re coming from a nice and neat one, and we also wanted the lay out to be a bit safer….you know, we’ve had a few accidents up here on this shelf?  So, comfy?

Jenny:  Oh yes, very comfortable, thanks for being a great hostess.

NJ:  Let’s start by confirming whether or not your author name is your birth name or a pen name?

Jenny:  Birth Name, most people call me Jenny.  Only my parents call me Jennifer.

NJ:  Tell us where you were born?  Do you still live there now?  If not, what city and state are you calling home these days?

Jenny:  I was born in Colorado Springs, Colorado and I wish I still lived there.  I live in Michigan now, and it’s a great place too!

NJ:  OK!  We have a few famous other Michigan folks here in RRBC, as well.  You’re probably familiar with ole’ Shirley & country boy, Beem!  (No last names needed).  Jenny, are you married or single?

Jenny:  Married

NJ:  Married is a great state to be in!  Do you two lovebirds have any kids?  If so, what kind?

Jenny:  Yes, I have two boys.

Jenny Hinsman and sons

NJ:  If you’re not there already, when you’re old and cranky, which one will keep you at home to care for you themselves, and which one will immediately throw you into a nursing home and only visit you at Christmas?

Jenny:  That’s a tough question because they are both mamma’s boys, but my youngest would probably be more likely to put me in a home.

NJ:  I don’t know why that made me chuckle so hard, but, I must ask, what did you do to him?  Ya had to have done something, Jenny, to push the baby to such limits.   Me, I’m mean, so I know why my youngest is going to put me away.  She has had it up to here with my shenanigans.  OK, enough about me…aside from the two darling sons, how about pets?  Do you all have any?  And, if so, what kind?

Jenny:  Yes!  We only have one dog now as we recently lost our cat.  Skeeter is an eighty pound Coon Hound…he’s a mamma’s boy, too.

NJ:  What’s the food that’s so good to you, you go to bed dreaming about it, and you forego breakfast just to get to it?

Jenny:  Pizza, just plain old cheese and/or pepperoni.

NJ:  Hahaha!  We own pizza restaurants so I love pizza, but I have it in moderation.  What’s your favorite color?

Jenny:  Pink

NJ:  I love pink, too!  Especially since I’m a mom of girls.  I also tend to wear loads of it in October due to Breast Cancer Awareness Month.  So, do you have a favorite sport?

Jenny:  Football

NJ:  You’re an all American girl, aren’t you?  Jenny, you know I’m asking all these important questions because they are THE questions that our fans want the answers to.  How about a favorite TV Show?

Jenny:  I’m ashamed to say, Keeping up with the Kardashians.   I get sucked in every time!

NJ:  And I’m ashamed to hear you say it out loud.  I like it, too, but I wouldn’t tell anybody.  Ooops!  I guess I just did!

Many dogs

Favorite Actress or Actor…

Jenny:  Emily Blunt

NJ:  OK.  Do you like to exercise to stay fit OR do you not mind just letting it all go?

Jenny:  I do like to exercise, I enjoy fitting into my clothes.  I mostly walk, run and do weights.

NJ:  Now, we’re talking!  A girl after my own heart!  Jenny, what is your biggest pet peeve that makes you want to spit nails?  (For the record, NJ does not condone violence, but she does believe in being honest so she admits that there are those times and there are those people, who do cause her to want to spit a few nails in the direction of their foreheads.  Hey, just being honest.  It’s the only way I roll).

Jenny:  When you text someone and they never respond, especially after you see they read it.

NJ:  I am on the floor laughing at that!  Never thought about it, but that one definitely makes me want to explode! So, are you neat or messy?

Jenny:  My closet says MESSY, but my desk says neat.  I guess a little of both.

NJ:  Hmmm, not sure where to put you with that one.  A combination of neat and messy?  Gotta give that some thought after the conference.   So, Facebook or Twitter?

Jenny:  Twitter

NJ:  Way to go!  Jenny, we’ve come to realize that the internet is giving way to tons of budding friendships.  Who would you say is the one person you’ve connected with the most…your internet BFF or buddy?

Jenny:  Lesley Peck

NJ:  OK, don’t know Lesley.  You should invite her over!  Now, Jenny, this next two-part question is a hard one.  All I ask is that you speak from your gut (and we all know, that’s deep down).  Who do you favor most:  Nonnie Jules or WonderWoman? Be honest.

Jenny:  Aren’t they one and the same?

NJ:  Uh, kinda-sorta, except that Nonnie dresses a whole lot better and her butt’s a whole lot bigger (thanks to french fries).  Now, here’s the second part of that question:  We all know that WonderWoman has her truth lasso and Nonnie has…well, just her truths, in the no-nonsense way she forces us to be honest and tell it like it is, whether it makes others uncomfortable or not.  In your opinion, which one does a better job of making the world a better place?  You can be honest here, too.

Jenny:  This will sound wishy-washy but I think it depends.  I think kindness is very important and I always try to err on the side of kindness, so sometimes being reasonably untruthful can spare feelings if it’s not a make or break situation.

English bulldog funny face

(The look says it all)

NJ:  Jenny, name two favorite INDIE books that you’ve read.

Jenny:  Chronicles of the Diasodz (book series), and Soul Keepers Book Series

NJ:  Now, how about ONE good INDIE book you’ve read that was so good you wished the entire world would read it…

Jenny:  The Heart of the Staff

Heart of the Staff Complete Series by Carol Marrs Phipps

NJ:  What was so great about it?

Jenny:  The imagination and magic.

NJ:  OK!  After you read books, do you post reviews?

Jenny:  Yes!

NJ:  And what do you think readers should base their reviews on?

Jenny:  Whether or not they enjoyed the story.

NJ:  Are you one of those who are afraid to be honest in their reviews lest the author gets upset with you, or is honesty your best policy, especially in reviews?

Jenny:  I feel like I’m pretty honest, I know what I like to read, so most of the time I do like the stories.  On a few rare occasions that I haven’t enjoyed something and think it’s less that 3 stars, I usually don’t post a review.  If it’s an indie author that I’m familiar with I’d reach out and let them know what I didn’t like, though.

NJ:  Jenny, have you read any poorly written books lately?

Jenny:  Not lately, but I have in the past.

NJ:  How many poorly written books have you read that you gave a high mark to in your review, when you knew they were horrible?  Be honest, I won’t ask you to name the books here in public.

Jenny:  I really don’t think I have, I’ve given several 3 star reviews, which to me says ‘not bad, but not great’.

NJ:  Are you an author?  Are you a good one?  C’mon, we love honesty here.

Jenny:  Yes and I think I’m a decent author.

NJ:  How long have you been writing?

Jenny:  About 5 years.

NJ:  Are you able to take constructive criticism of your written work?

Jenny:  I think so, I really try to not take anything like that personally.  It still hurts sometimes, though.

NJ:  Please share with us, two books that you’ve written?

Jenny:

ANGEL OF DEATH

Angel of Death by Jenny Hinsman

NJ:  Oh, Jenny, I simply loooooooooooovvvvvvvvvveeeeee that book cover!  Who created that for you?

Jenny:  4WillsPublishing!

NJ:  WOW!  Impressive!  How about the title of your second book?

Jenny: 

SOULS

 Souls by Jenny Hinsman

 

NJ:  Which of the two do you think is best?

Jenny:  The story in SOULS, I think.  However, the structure and cover are better on ANGEL OF DEATH.

NJ:  Well, we all know I love the cover on ANGEL OF DEATH!  Moving on, do you have a blog or website?  I love GREAT blogs, so would you say that yours is written well enough for harsh critics like me to enjoy?

Jenny:  I do!  And no, I don’t write a lot of things on my blog, I mainly use it to support tours of other authors and just do fun things on it.

NJ:  Which online resource or organization has helped you as an author the most?

Jenny:  RRBC of course!

NJ:  How were you helped by them?

Jenny:  I didn’t have a lot of experience with social media, book promotions, where to go for covers, editing, help, etc…  RRBC opened so much up for me, I’ve learned so much since I joined.  The authors are very supportive and forthcoming with their experiences.  It’s been such a fabulous experience and I’ve made friends along the way.

NJ:  Jenny, hearing all that, just made my day!  Everything that you have gotten out of the club, is what I wanted and want for every member of the club who is as supportive and engaged as you are, so let me THANK YOU for your testimony of RRBC!

Since you’re sitting on the SHELF, you’re obviously a RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB member, so is there anything else you’d like to share about the club?

Jenny:  I really can’t say enough about RRBC, it’s been a Godsend in the very busy and murky world of indie book publishing.  The club has so much to offer!

NJ:  Have you come across any other online entities like us?

Jenny:  Maybe a few with similarities, but not too many that I’ve seriously explored.

NJ:  Jenny, they do say that imitation is the highest form of flattery, so thanks for sharing that my flattery meter should be buzzing!  Would you recommend RRBC to your friends and family?

Jenny:  Absolutely!

NJ:  What’s your most favorite program or place here within RRBC?  (#PUSHTUESDAY, RAVE WAVES shows, Block Parties, Writers’ Conference & Book Expo, BOOKS OF THE MONTH discussions, “ON THE SHELF” interviews, etc.)

Jenny:  I like the ‘Books of the Month’ and the interviews here ‘On the Shelf’ are always highly entertaining.

NJ:  These SHELF interviews are a ton of work, but loads of fun, so I wouldn’t give them up for anything!  Well, this shelf is getting hard on my hiney, so we’re going to wrap this interview up.  Any final words for our guests today?

Jenny:  Have fun, enjoy life and be kind!  I’ve been spending lots of time in bleachers lately watching my boys… so, I too have a sore hiney!  Thank you for having me.

Dog jumping fron bleacher

NJ:  Yes, I actually saw that someone tweeted a pic of you jumping off those bleachers!  WOW!  You were moving!  Jenny, thank you so much for hanging out on THE SHELF with us today!  And, thanks for being an awesome member! You have definitely given us a “great” interview, especially because you not once came close to having an accident!  Because of that, we’d love to have you come back again some time.  We mean that!

To my guests, please  pick up a copy of one of Jenny’s books or both of them.

Have you joined RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB yet?  Well, here’s your chance!  And, since Jenny was on the “SHELF” today, tell them she sent you.  Make it a great day, my friends…or not.  The choice is all yours!   We’ll see you next month, right here on the SHELF” with another INTERESTING GUEST!!

37 responses

  1. How nice to meet you and I loved your interview and the pictures. I made a copy of one of your pictures. (the dog on the car seat) He is so adorable.

    Like

  2. Great interview, Jenny and Nonnie. And, the photos are priceless! Thank you both. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Interesting interview Jenny. I see someone likes to use dogs in their illustrations. Smart person (smile).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 🙂 Animals can say a lot with just a look! Thanks for commenting Gracie.

      Like

  4. When I saw that (great) first photo, I was worried Jennifer would turn out to be a cat person–and get discreetly shoved over the shelf. Then I read about Skeeter (sorry to hear about the cat’s loss; we lost our dog in May and are still missing her) and realized it was probably a dog makeover, not a cat one. Silly me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lol! I’m an animal person, love them all! Losing them is so difficult, I always say their only fault is that they don’t live long enough. Thanks for the support!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Another great interview! Thanks for the shout out, Jenny! I’m so happy you are enjoying my series. 🙂 For those of you who haven’t read Souls, it’s a great read. I really enjoyed it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Jennie, this was such an enjoyable interview. I like the way you are a gentle person but stand by your views! You know I love the cover of Angel of Death and hope to read it as soon as my tbr pile gets low enough for me to reach!! So many books so little time.

    Nonnie, another great interview– my favorite part of RRBC!! Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is my favorite on the site too, I love learning more about other members. Thank you for the kind words Micki!

      Like

  7. This was a fun and entertaining interview with Jenny. But, seriously, The Kardashians?? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lol… I know! Terrible isn’t it. Thanks Jan.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. That was a fun interview. I loved all the cute pictures that went with it. And…I just sent out for pizza. Lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gotta love pizza! Thanks Rhani.

      Like

  9. Shirley Harris-Slaughter | Reply

    We seem to have a few Michigan authors here. Must be something in the water. We are surrounded by beautiful lakes aren’t we? Jenny this interview is very entertaining. Its neat getting to know more about you. And Nonnie, you too. You really own some pizza restaurants? That is awesome! Jenny, I use one of my blogs just for authors too. I learned how to blog just being a member.

    Jenny, congratulations on your interview with NJ! You deserve it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Shirley!

      Like

  10. Hi ladies! It’s lovely getting to know Jenny better. I enjoyed the questions and answers. Pizza and the Kardashians—now that’s a fun night in! Ha, ha! By the way, that Snapchat picture is adorable! Happy to learn more about you, Jenny!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you , I really appreciate the support. These interviews are so fun to read.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Lovely photos alongside delightful answers. Thanks, Jenny and Nonnie, for putting a smile in my day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are so sweet Wendy! Thanks.

      Like

  12. Good evening, Jenny! I loved reading your interview and getting to know more about you! Enjoy your boys! Mine became a man too soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They grow so fast! Time really does fly. Thanks Patricia.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. It’s so lovely learning more about you and your work, Jenny. Great interview!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the kind words Soooz!

      Like

  14. Hi, Jenny, you were exceptionally very careful with your responses. ..a good way to go when you are on the Shelf. I hope you enjoyed the conversation. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Joy! I appreciate your support.

      Like

  15. Hi Jennie . Loved the interview and the photos. Adorable. Looking forward to reading “Souls.”
    Patricia A. Guthrie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I hope you enjoy it.

      Like

  16. Such a fantastic interview. I love your first picture, Jenny. Too cute!! Thanks for the entertainment, ladies!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Mar! These interviews are always so fun to read. Thanks for taking time to read mine.

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Great interview! I enjoyed getting to know you better, Jenny!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Michelle! Lovely to see you stopped by.

      Like

  18. Fantastic interview, ladies!
    Jenny, I hope you’re enjoying a fabulous month in the Spotlight!
    Cheers to all. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Natalie! Cheers to you as well. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Ok, you guys, now I want pizza 🙂 Thanks for a great interview, Jenny and Nonnie! I love the picture.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There’s never a wrong time for pizza! 🙂 Thanks for the comments Laura.

      Like

Leave a Reply

